Guest Post: Allison @ Food For Healing

4 Aug

Today’s post comes from one of my besties, Allison. I am so happy that she will be taking over the blog for the day with yummy recipes and ideas for good snacking on the go!

Hey! It’s Allison from Food for Healing. I write about a few things on my blog; food, some fitness and whatever life throws at me.

Whitney was looking for some guest posts to fill in some time while she was away camping, and of course since we are biggest loser besties, I had to write a guest post!

Since she is going on a camping trip, I figured what better post to do other than camping/backpacking/hiking snacks. I plan on doing some backpacking and some camping this summer myself.

These snacks are easy to make, stow away nicely in your bag and are delicious!

First up is Trail mix. Trail mix is one of the easiest things you can create yourself at home, you don’t need any special kitchen tools or gadgets.

Here’s the mix I made up:

-Almonds

-Dried Cranberries

-Raisins

-Sunflower Seeds

-Pepitas (pumpkin seeds)

-Chocolate covered sunflower seeds

Next up is another simple snack, but you do need a food processor.

Date Brownie Bar

-1 cup almonds

-10 pitted dates

-approximately 1 tbsp cocoa powder (or to taste)

-1/3 cup mini chocolate chips

Process almonds until finely chopped, don’t process too long or it will start turning into butter.

Add your pitted dates and cocoa and process until well combined.

Roll out and mix in chocolate chips.

Make any shape or size you wish!

Other great dehydrated snacks are dried apple rings

fruit leather, which can be made in soo many different flavours!

mango slices

And another great little treat, dark chocolate covered coffee beans (bought in bulk)

What type of snacks do you like to bring when you go camping or backpacking?

Thank you so much for reading, and thank you Whitney for having me be a guest poster on your amazing blog!

xoxo

Allison

10 Responses to “Guest Post: Allison @ Food For Healing”

  1. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) August 4, 2011 at 9:02 am #

    Great post, Allison! I really want to make the Date Bars. 🙂

  2. katshealthcorner August 4, 2011 at 9:03 am #

    oh my gosh. Brownies for a snack?! That is pure genius. 🙂 And raw too?! That is so cool! 😀 I also always love me some trail mix. YUM!

    • Allison @ Food For Healing August 4, 2011 at 10:00 am #

      the brownie date bars are chocolatey which is the best part; also raw AND good for you?! my bf just requested last night I make some more asap! haha

  3. Tara August 4, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    I have been obsessed with trail mix since I went to running camp. We had the best one ever: pretzels, chocolate chips, dried cranberries, raisins, hazelnuts, almonds, pistachios, and sunflower seeds. It was soooo good and I definitely need to make this to take on the go with me!

  4. Kelsey @ Snacking Squirrel August 4, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

    THOSE DATE BROWNIES BARS LOOK BETTER THAN THE ONES I BUY! ❤ wow what a fabulous guest post mmmm 🙂

    xoxo ❤

  5. Life of a Happy Blonde August 4, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

    I used to work at a coffee shop and would inhale chocolate covered espresso beans, i need to search some out stat 🙂
    Great guest post Allison!!!!

  6. Ma Ma Megan August 4, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

    Trail mix looks lovely 🙂
    Whenever I buy dried mango I just eat the entire thing the day I get it. It’s like candy!

  7. Kaila @ healthyhelperblog! August 4, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

    I NEED to get a dehydrator so I can make some of those yummy dried snacks!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. work it out. – Food For Healing - August 4, 2011

    […] if you haven’t already seen, yours truly has a guest post up on a good friend of mines blog, Vegansunshine. So make sure you check it out right […]

  2. Black Chocolate Covered Sunflower Seeds - August 5, 2011

    […] Guest Post: Allison @ Food For Healing « -Chocolate covered sunflower seeds Next up is another simple snack, but you do need a food processor. Date Brownie Bar. -1 cup almonds. -10 pitted dates. -approximately 1 tbsp cocoa powder (or to taste) […]

Leave a comment