Feature Friday: OOAP.

5 Aug

That’s right, OOAP.

It’s the cool way to eat your oats!

(On a plate)

It all happened last week when I was going through my usually breakfast dilemma.

Tofu scramb again? Maybe I’ll have a  green smoothie? But, I want something sweet with chocolate. Do I want oats or do I want pancakes? WHAT TO DO?

Obviously, what to have for breakfast is the most difficult choice of my day. 😉

I came up with a favorite past-time dessert (more on that below) as a perfectly balanced breakfast…

First, I decided to make a chocolate-fudgey version for my favorite oats.

Brownie Batter Oatmeal

  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup non-dairy milk of choice
  • 1/2 cup 1 minute oats
  •  1 scoop chocolate hemp protein powder
  • 1 T chocolate PB
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 1 t maple syrup
  1. Bring milk and water to a boil
  2. Stir in the rest of the ingredients and reduce heat.
  3. Cook for about 4 minutes stirring occasionally

Breakfast didn’t stop there. It still needed something.

Then I made, banana soft serve!

banana soft serve with vanilla and cinnamon

& Ta-da! What a beautiful breakkie. 🙂

Applebee’s Triple Chocolate Meltdown= 810 calories.

Hot Fudge Brownie OOAP= less than 300 calories.

Have you ever had oats on a plate?

 

13 Responses to “Feature Friday: OOAP.”

  1. owlmazing August 5, 2011 at 7:41 am #

    YUM! What a fabulous idea. I love it. Banana soft serve on fudgey chocolate oats? Yes please!

  2. Allison @ Food For Healing August 5, 2011 at 9:58 am #

    holy yumm! that looks so gooood

  3. Stephanie August 5, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    Ooh, it is really pretty 🙂 I’m pretty sure banana soft serve goes well with anything. It would probably even be good on top of a bed of romaine. HAH I’ve gotta say, bananas and romaine are like, one of my fave combinations, especially if you throw in some thompson raisins and raw almond butter. To DIE for.
    I had oats on a plate once, topped with a peach compote that I made the night before and ate most of straight out of the jar, with a side of steamed spinach. It was sooo good, though I still think my fave part was the peach compote. I could have had it all by itself and been totally fine with it 🙂

  4. Tara August 5, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    I love making the fitnessista’s breakfast cookie (which is on a plate) and topping it with banana soft serve. It’s like having cookie dough and ice cream, except so much healthier and more filling!

  5. IHeartVegetables August 5, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

    Yummm! That looks so good! I love dessert-like breakfast! I’ve never had hemp protein powder, but I got a few samples from whole foods I’ve been wanting to try!

  6. Life of a Happy Blonde August 5, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    Yummm, i had a breakfast cookie this morning and it was delish but the best ones have banana in them 🙂

  7. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) August 5, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

    Yum! I have had oats on a plate before, but mine didn’t look nearly as delicious as this 🙂

  8. katshealthcorner August 6, 2011 at 1:23 am #

    Brownie Batter Oatmeal?! On a plate?! 🙂 How fun! YUMMY!

  9. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! August 6, 2011 at 7:40 am #

    I’ve never eaten oats on a plate but I have eaten them with banana softserve and they are delicious!!!!

  10. Rachel (tea and chocolate) August 6, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    A beautiful breakfast indeed! I sometimes eat oats on a plate during the summer to cool them off. Great idea to add banana soft serve!

  11. Tessa @ Amazing Asset August 6, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    Great idea!! I have never had oats on a plate, but how about trying it out with this sort of recipe!? 🙂

  12. buttonss - Cherie August 6, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

    I really need to try making banana soft serve.
    And I’ve never had oats on a plate, but my oats are always slightly running so I imagine that they would spread all over the plate and become hard to eat ahaha

  13. Courtney August 6, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    OOAP… haha love it 😛

    and BROWNIE OATS?!?! yumyumyum!!

Leave a Reply

