Holy SALAD

9 Jun

Confession: I HATE typical salads. You know, the house salads with ice burg lettuce, cold tomatoes, cucumber, and carrots. Seriously, just thinking about it makes me want to barf! How boring!

I always tell people…  “if I’m going to eat a salad, it has to be really interesting”, like this one:

Holy SALAD!

Ice burg lettuce, red cabbage, quinoa, flax seeds, sesame seeds, and chopped raw almonds.

This salad beast was amaze. It was everything I was craving and then some, I was really impressed with myself.

The dressing:

  • 1 T tahini
  • 1 1/2 T apple cider vinegar
  • 1 T agave
  • 1 squeeze of fresh lemon juice

Ever since I bought this red cabbage on sale, I have been craving a sweet & nutty salad like this one.

Lately, I have been incorporating a lot more raw foods in my diet. In the colder months I do a really bad job at this so I am so ready for this challenge! I feel like drinking my green smoothies every morning leaves me craving more raw veggies throughout the day. I am NOT getting sick of drinking these yet, I don’t think it’s possible! I thought it would be good for me to drink a green smoothie for breakfast everyday for a while. I’m not sure how long yet, I want to do 30 days but I might only do 21, we’ll see how this goes!

Today, after school, Scott and I are taking a PAID trip to Whole Foods (yes, we live 45 minutes away from the nearest WFs). Basically, a (quite popular) vendor at our FM sells ridiculously good salsa but apparently isn’t a good sales rep. So, Scott told him that he knows how to get his salsa into big businesses like Whole Foods and he was totally up for it. Hopefully Whole Food is interested so my boy can make a nice chunk of the salsa profit! But more importantly, it’s all about helping each other out. One of my favorite things about working at the FM is the vendors we work with. We all look out for each other and help each other when possible, it’s cute. Boy, I wish I could say that about my day job, huh? 😉

So yes, all you southern Michiganders better buy up this salsa if it starts selling at Whole Foods!

Remind me of anything I need to pick up at Whole Foods/ Trader Joe’s!

What is your favorite homemade salad dressing?

13 Responses to “Holy SALAD”

  1. pumpedforpumpkin June 9, 2011 at 10:42 am #

    I don’t like boring salads either! I’ve recently started making a strawberry balsamic ish dressing for my salads and it’s DELICIOUS. I love making my own salad dressings 🙂

  2. indyink June 9, 2011 at 10:44 am #

    My favorite bottled dressing is Annie’s Goddess, but I rarely eat it because I’m always whipping up lemony dijon vinaigrettes at home. SO with you on not liking standard, boring salads… which has led me to try watermelon salad, various types of warm salads, and even a vegetarian bread salad or two.

    Definitely stoked to try your dressing recipe. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Tiff June 9, 2011 at 10:52 am #

    That salad looks great. I love cabbage! I haven’t made my own salad dressing, but I have taken a liking to salsa on my southwest salads.

  4. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! June 9, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    I wish I could go to whole foods today….or ANY day for that matter! I have to wait until this summer when I visit my aunt in arizona! That’s so nice you two are helping out though! Awesome community spirit right there!

  5. movesnmunchies June 9, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

    LOVE ur salad! paid trip? that is AWESOME!!

  6. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) June 9, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

    That salad does look delicious! I love any Annie’s dressings; haven’t made any of my own yet.

    I’d love to be paid to go to WF! haha. Hope everything works out well with the salsa. 🙂

  7. Stephanie June 9, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    I like mixing some mustard with ACV and tamari. It’s sooo good. I need to buy more tahini, though, so I can make some tahini-based salad dressing. Your salad beast looks delish! I can’t say I agree with you on not liking the boring salads. Sometimes I’ll just have some baby spinach plain and eat it with my fingers because I just don’t feel like eating anything on top, not even kidding.

  8. Jess June 9, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

    Enjoy your WF trip–hopefully they take your salsa 😀

  9. Allison @ Food For Healing June 9, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

    i have never made my own salad dressing before, i think that is something i will add onto my long list of things to make/do lol

  10. Tara June 9, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    I’m not a big fan of traditional dressings, but I love mashing up an avocado and adding sriracha and soy sauce for an asian salad or salsa for a mexican salad. It’s so good! I seriously hate boring salads and I find that I’m faced with them a lot when I go out to eat and it’s the only decent option…

  11. Rachel (tea and chocolate) June 10, 2011 at 4:13 am #

    That salad looks fantastic! I’m not a huge fan of salads unless it’s so hot outside I can’t imagine turning on the stove or oven. My favorite “dressing” is hummus and hot sauce. Sounds strange, but I like it.

  12. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) June 11, 2011 at 12:18 am #

    I hate typical salads too! I never eat them at restaurants- all that iceberg lettuce grosses me out. THIS is a salad I would love!

  13. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) June 12, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

    I’m completely with you on typical, boring salads! You’re salad on the other hand looks nothing other than incredible! 🙂
    My favorite dressing is olive oil + apple cider vinegar. Or plain yogurt + dried herbs… tastes kind of like ranch!

    Have a wonderful rest of the weekend! ❤

Leave a comment