Feature Friday: Weight Loss Recap

2 Dec

Hey guys!

I have officially lost 8 pounds! That is 2 pounds away from my goal! I’ve been wanted to write a post on my weight loss for a while now, but honestly haven’t had the time until now, whew! I am so excited to share more in-depth details on what I have been up to!

How I started:

It all started at the end of summer when I realized that I did not lose the weight I planned on losing that summer. In fact, I put on a few pounds! It was time to make small changes in my diet.

In the beginning:

I was not seeing results. I cut back on nearly all of my favorite “bad” foods (cookies, brownies, chips & salsa, deep-fried things…) and tried replacing them with “better” foods. This worked for a while but it just wasn’t enough. I began going to the gym daily for that extra push and still didn’t see the results I wanted. Slowly but surly I was losing about a half pound a week.

What I did at the gym:

  • Cardio pretty much everyday
  • Ab workouts twice a week
  • Zumba 🙂

How  I “count calories”:

From what I have learned, they key to counting calories is to keep it as general as possible meaning, DO NOT COUNT EVERY FREAKING CALORIE YOU EAT. That will just make you crazy. Instead, I keep a journal (or sometimes I just make a mental note) with a general guess on my meals. I will set a limit of how many calories I can consume and then I’ll try to follow it. Some meals I’ll go over the calorie limit but that’s okay. I think it’s more important to acknowledge the amount of calories that are in your diet.

What I’ve learned about weight loss:

  • Exercising everyday can actually be fun
  • Take exercise classes that you enjoy
  • Count calories (as mentioned above)
  • Be patient, it may take time but it is totally worth the weight wait! 😛

I have learned so much over the past few months that I am so thankful for. Obvisously, I thank you guys for always encouraging me to try harder and be my best or maybe even encouraging me to let go sometimes and be patient. Either way, I am thankful! 😀

Is there anything you could add to these lists??

14 Responses to “Feature Friday: Weight Loss Recap”

  1. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! December 2, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    You look great girl! Good for you for working so hard!!

  2. Tara December 3, 2011 at 7:44 am #

    Congrats!!! You are such an inspiration for so many people. Losing weight is not easy at all, but like you said it’s worth the “weight”

  3. Rachel (tea and chocolate) December 3, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    Great job, Whitney! Loosing weight is tough, so good for you for sticking with it. I’m impressed you’ve been exercising daily too. That’s amazing! You must be in great shape!

    • vegansunshine December 3, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

      Well, now im only going to the gym about 3 times a week but its not bad! 🙂 thank you

  4. Allison December 3, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    woohoo you are rockin it! so proud
    i got to the gym 6 days a week, cardio 6days, weights 2 days. and track all my calories, in 3 weeks i’ve lost 2lbs so far. It takes time but definitely worth it!
    great job

  5. IHeartVegetables December 3, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    Congrats!! That’s so exciting! I know it’s REALLY hard so fantastic job 🙂

  6. Jess from Midwest Vegan December 3, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

    Congrats on your weight loss!!

  7. Kate December 3, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    Congratulations! Sticking to a weight loss plan is one of the hardest things I’ve ever done. Glad to hear it’s going well- you’re an inspiration 🙂

  8. teabagginit December 4, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    great job! you chose a goal, made a (realistic) plan, and stuck to it. you sound like you did it the healthy way & made a lifestyle change & that’s the key to keeping it off! way to go!

  9. Christin@purplebirdblog December 5, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    You’re beautiful lady! Happy for you that you’re so close to your goal! 🙂

  10. Becky_R (@Becky_R) December 7, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    Hooray for the gym! I just recently started going back to my old gym too. I’m trying to get a jump on the New Year! Keep up the good work ^_^

Leave a Reply

