The Eight Dollar Loaf of Bread

9 Nov

I’ve been out of bread for weeks now. I just never buy it! I’ll usually buy a loaf at the local health food store, keep it in the freezer and maybe finish it off in a month or two.

I usually buy the Food For Life Ezekiel bread or any other type of sprouted grain bread. Yesterday I decided to purchase a new brand just to spice things up.

Source

I didn’t bother to look at the price (mainly because it was hidden) I just figured it cost the same as the other spouted grain bread; $4.00 -$5.00, so I grabbed it.  As I walked around the store I managed to grab a small quinoa black bean salad and then waited in line for check out.

As the cashier was scanning my two items I realized that the hemp bread was priced at $8.49.

That is nearly $9.00 for a freaking loaf of bread.

I thought about telling him that I changed my mind and that I did not need the bread anymore but I just couldn’t. This is one of those times where it sucks being the nice guy girl. It sounds really stupid, but I just couldn’t do it.

The whole drive home I kept thinking…

“I seriously just paid over $8 for a loaf of bread. That is more than I make an hour! Who on Earth would charge this much for bread?!?! …Probably because idiots like me buy it, I bet that’s it. Maybe I’ll return it? No, that’s stupid. I should have looked at the price first. This better be the most amazing bread I have ever eaten.”

Needless to say, the first thing I did when I got home was try a piece of this over-priced bread.

It was good I guess….

Still not worth almost $9.

I will never buy it again, that’s for sure!

Have you ever accidentally bought something expensive without looking at the price tag (please tell me this is a common mistake)?

9 Responses to “The Eight Dollar Loaf of Bread”

  1. Jess from Midwest Vegan November 9, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    Ugh. Yes. My HyVee likes to switch things around a LOT and they often switch around price tags. I once bought a little four pack of them field roast sausages because it listed a price like $4.59 or something (which is kinda average for fake meat and I don’t usually buy it but I wanted to try it out in a specific recipe). It rang up around $7. I didn’t say anything either, cause I felt dumb for not double checking the price but now I’m much more careful though. It’s happened before with something more expensive, but I can’t remember (though I do remember my eyes almost popping out of my head!). $9 for bread though… that’s pretty intense!

    • vegansunshine November 9, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

      Yes, I felt so dumb too! It sounds stupid but whatever.

  2. Tara November 9, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    That’s crazy!! I’ve definitely been in that situation before. It’s happened to me at restaurants after the food has been made and prepared for you… and you can’t do anything about it!

  3. lactosefreelizzie November 9, 2011 at 10:30 pm #

    that is absolutely INSANE!
    $9 for bread? one loaf? that wasnt even that good?
    thats horrible! i cud buy a cute thirftstore outfit for $9!

  4. Rachel (tea and chocolate) November 10, 2011 at 9:20 am #

    Yikes, that’s crazy! I misread labels and paid $8 for a kabocha squash before. I didn’t realize it until I got home. Though I doubt it would have made a big difference since I’m like you and wouldn’t have said anything. No wonder the cashier was giving me a weird look. Who pays $8 for a squash?

  5. A Tablespoon of Liz November 10, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    whoa, that’s a lot of money for a loaf of bread! At least it was good!

  6. Christin@purplebirdblog November 10, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    That has totally happened to me before… healthy shopping can be so damn tricky sometimes!! Sorry you paid a ton for a mediocre loaf of bread!! 😦

  7. IHeartVegetables November 11, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

    Aw that’s SUPER annoying! And I’m bad at speaking up in those situations too!! ARGH! Well at leasti t tastes good!

  8. Alicia@ eco friendly homemaking November 13, 2011 at 7:12 pm #

    Oh I have had that happen and it is no fun!

Leave a Reply

