Calorie Counting

2 Nov

I have two main goals for November.

The first goal is to work on my calorie counting.

Today marks the last day of my 6 week weight loss challenge. As I’ve mentioned before, the weight is coming off very slow. I did lose 3 pounds in the 6 weeks which is a lot less than I expected but I am still trying. My excuse? Life happened. I got busy, big deal. I know I could have done a lot better but I had to prioritize. Anyway, I am starting to count calories (yuck) and figure out what is going on in my body.

Yesterday I actually ate one serving of pasta.

whole wheat pasta, veggie smart sauce, nooch, and tofurkey Italian sausage

(who eats one proper serving of pasta anyway?)

Look at how sad that plate looks!

Such a small plate at 375 calories. Before, I would have ate twice this much and only thought it was only a 450 calorie meal. To my surprise, this was actually filling. I didn’t feel “full” but I did feel like I was satisfied.

With that said, my next goal is to lose 5 more pounds by Thanksgiving.

If I can lose the last 4-5 pounds, I will have officially lost the 10 pounds I’ve gain this year (I lost 2-3 pounds before the challenge started)! In these last couple months of getting back in shape, I have realised that I never want to get back off track ever again! It’s too easy to fall into bad habits. Cleaning up the habits takes a lot of hard work and dedication.

Did you set any goals for this month?

18 Responses to “Calorie Counting”

  1. Kaila @healthyhelperblog November 2, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    That plate is pretty sad LOL! I l know that wouldn’t fill me up….I am a volume eater for sure.

    • vegansunshine November 2, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

      Oh I know I love food! I am trying to break this habit soon. I am one of those people who eat until there is not more room in my belly at all! 😉 Nom.

      • Scott November 3, 2011 at 8:05 am #

        Your doing just fine with everything Whitney. I’m proud if you for everything you’ve achieved this far. I don’t eat anywhere as well as I should and I think sometimes that gets pushed on you. We will both try harder.

  2. IHeartVegetables November 2, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

    My eating was getting a little out of control, so I’ve been using livestrong to count my calories. It REALLY makes you realize how much portion sizes matter! And it makes me realize that I need to kind of like prioritize what I eat!

    • vegansunshine November 2, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

      Yes, I never knew how bad I was! The whole summer I went out to eat probably twice a week which usually meant stuffing my face with Mexican food. Lots and lots of calories hidden in there!

  3. Molly@hungryhungryrunner.com November 2, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

    I’m renewing my October goals, since I didn’t quite manage to achieve um, any of them. 😉 Congrats on already achieving one of your goals! That’s awesome!

  4. Allison November 2, 2011 at 11:20 pm #

    i have a weightloss goal as well, gotta get ready for mexico at the beginning of february!!
    a serving of pasta is very deceiving forsure hey!

  5. teabagginit November 3, 2011 at 12:23 am #

    i love pasta sauce but hate the calorie density of pasta noodles so i just put the pasta sauce over spaghetti squash, broccoli slaw, or shredded cabbage! lots of volume, lots of taste, lower in calories!

  6. Tara November 3, 2011 at 6:52 am #

    I think you’re attacking this goal in such a great way! Rather than just complaining and saying you’ll try, you have an action plan – I think you’re gonna do well! I definitely would have taken more pasta than that and called it one serving. The serving size is smaller than you would think!

  7. blossjoss November 3, 2011 at 7:38 am #

    Lol your plate does look sad! The meatballs look lonely. Veggies could keep them company. 🙂 I like volume too. I amped up the oatmeal I’m having now by soaking the oats before microwaving, adding chia seeds, a chopped up apple, and protein powder.

  8. Kelsey @ Snacking Squirrel November 3, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    thats why i always have to add so many greens/veggies/squashes to my meals..otherwise it looks so sad and lonely huh!!! 😦 poor pasta 😦 lol

    xoxo ❤

  9. KatsHealthCorner November 3, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    Haha, I totally get you with the seeming small. The world has really messed up with serving sizes (I mean, look at how GIGANTIC they pile on the stuff at restaurants). Next time you could try mixing in some veggies/spaghetti squash to give it some more nutrients and make your eyes more satified.

  10. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) November 4, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    One of my goals this month is calorie counting too! I’ve been measuring my food, which is definitely an eye-opener because I could easily put away three or four servings of any food if given the chance 🙂

    • vegansunshine November 5, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

      I loved your post by the way! As much as it sucks, im happy you expressed your thoughts.

  11. lactosefreelizzie November 5, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

    what i tiny plate!! i eat at least twice tht mayb 3 times! i didn’t kno it was tht many cals..

  12. linz November 22, 2011 at 7:49 am #

    what calorie counter do you use?

Leave a Reply

