Feature Friday: Sweet Potatoes!

14 Oct

ย Oh my goodness. Is it Friday already? The weeks are flying by and I feel like I cannot catch up. School, homework, studying, gym, blogging, cooking, cleaning, … I am so behind! Thank God it’s Friday because that is my day of the week to catch up on all of those things. Oh yeah, and writeย a pretty awesome post about my favorite things. ๐Ÿ™‚

This week: Sweet Potatoes

Yum!

Sweet potatoes are loaded with nutrition:

  • Rich in Vitamin A and C with means this potato is loaded with antioxidants
  • Reduces inflammation
  • Known to strengthen the immune system
  • High in fiber

My favorite ways to eat sweet potatoes:

Roasted…

Under almond butter…

In soup…

And now, IN OATMEAL!

please ignore the hideous photo, I was in a hurry!

A new fall favorite: cooked oatmeal with half of a baked sweet potato, maple syrup and cinnamon.

ย 

What is your favorite way to eat a sweet potato?

12 Responses to “Feature Friday: Sweet Potatoes!”

  1. Rachel (tea and chocolate) October 14, 2011 at 9:50 am #

    Covered in peanut butter! Or in fry form. Or in oats. Too many choices!

  2. jenandberries October 14, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    mixed with yogurt, cinnamon and pb! Love the oats idea though girl!

  3. Tara October 14, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    I’m a sweet potato fries kinda girl. Baked or fried! I love how they one up regular french fries with the nutrition, but I think they taste way better too.

  4. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) October 14, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

    I’m eating a sweet potato right now! Haha, I love it dipped in hummus or mashed with butter ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Allison @ Food for Healing October 14, 2011 at 11:48 pm #

    sweet potato fries all the way! had some last night even. yummm

  6. Tessa @ Amazing Asset October 15, 2011 at 4:47 am #

    I am fairly certain I could live on sweet potatoes, they are so sooo tasty and versatile! But I do enjoy them baked smothered in almond/peanut butter and greek yogurt ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. Dana Gramprie October 15, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    Glad to meet another Michigan Vegan! Seva Restaurant in Ann Arbor makes the most amazing sweet potato fries with an amazing dipping sauce, but it’s not vegan. The ingredients I found out are just mayo and Clancy’s Fancy sauce! So now, I make the fries at home and accompany with the fabulous sauce made with vegenaise and CF. Yum!

  8. lactosefreelizzie October 16, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    i love them as baked fries or in a smoothie w/ cinnamon! theres so many choices!

  9. Molly@hungryhungryrunner.com October 16, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    I like my sweet potatoes in the form of fries or tater tots! ๐Ÿ˜‰ But a good old-fashioned baked sweet potato is always tasty, too! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Alicia@ eco friendly homemaking October 16, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

    Oh I love sweet potatoes and like them almost any way. I am looking forward to trying sweet potato chips,

  11. Sarah October 26, 2011 at 7:19 am #

    i have never actually had a sweet potatoe, but these recipes look yummy!

Leave a Reply

