Raw “Tuna” Salad

11 Oct

Something about early fall makes me

1.) crave hearty, raw comfort food 

2.) crave cold salads and warm roasted fall vegetables

As I’ve mentioned before, I rarely eat salads in the winter months, it just never sounds good! No fresh produce, limited affordable organic greens, no appetite for cold food.

Now that fall is here, and warm weather is almost over, I am eating salads like it’s going out of style season!

If you are not into giant leafy green salads or perhaps crave something more filling, I think you will enjoy this recipe as much as I do! It is easy to make, keeps well in the fridge, and makes a perfect October afternoon picnic sammy.

Raw “Tuna” Salad

Makes about 2 1/2 cups

  • 1 cup each almonds and sunflower seeds, soaked 10-12 hours
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons kelp flakes
  • Bragg’s Amino Acids, to taste
  • 2 tablespoons dried dill
  • 1 tablespoon dried basil
  • 2 stalks celery, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon agave
  • Sea salt, to taste
  • Enough water to keep your blender/food processor working correctly

Steps:

  1.  Blend the soaked almond and sunflower seeds in a high power blender or food processor (this is where you may need to add a few drops of water).
  2. Add the remaining ingredients in the blender on mix by hand in a large bowl.

The photograph of this creation is just a mess and does not do and justice for this awesome salad.

 But trust me, you’ll love it!

What are you doing on this Tuesday afternoon?

I’m getting ready for work (yuck) and then going out with a friend later. Had a long day at school and now I just want to relax for the next half hour!

Have a good Tuesday!

 

12 Responses to “Raw “Tuna” Salad”

  1. Dan McCullough October 11, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    That sounds super interesting. Does it taste like tuna? Also, did you take that picture of the changing leaves? I went out to shoot some shots like that yesterday, but didn’t get nearly the results you did.

    Anyway, thanks for writing your blog!

  2. jenandberries October 11, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    Sounds amazing! Can’t believe this would taste like tuna thats nuts! This afternoon i went for a walk around the uni with a frind and we scoffed a bunch ofpotato wedges in a pub haha

  3. jenandberries October 11, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

    *friend.

  4. Allison @ Food for Healing October 11, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

    very interesting…hmm
    rest of the day plans; head to the gym for a run, homework and Biggest Loser. Supper is in the slow cooker already, boo ya!

  5. Steph October 11, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

    Ooh, and you soaked your sunflower seeds too. Good job, girlie 🙂 I just watched a video last night about how tuna is endangered (and so high in mercury that the WHO recommends waiting 9 days between each serving of tuna for 150 pound adults, and three weeks for 70 pound children. If something’s that toxic, we sure as hell should not be eating it, especially if the health of our oceans are at stake) and our oceans are totally effed over thanks to our penchant for “health promoting wild-caught fish” so this would be a great alternative to anyone who is a fan of ye ole’ tuna sammich.

    • vegansunshine October 11, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

      Haha I think if its already dangerous for pregnant women it shouldn’t be safe for anyone! Good lord.

  6. Tara October 11, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    Fall makes me crave chili! Roasted vegetables definitely are up there as well. I love the idea of raw tuna salad! I never really like the real thing though, so I’d probably leave out the kelp and it would be more like chicken salad though.

  7. IHeartVegetables October 11, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    interesting! does it really taste like tuna?? What are kelp flakes?

    • vegansunshine October 12, 2011 at 9:52 am #

      It taste a little like tuna from what I can remember. Better though! 🙂 kelp flakes just give it a nice salty taste. I can’t remember where I got them, it was somewhere really random. I’ve seen them at local stores so they must be pretty common!

  8. lactosefreelizzie October 11, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

    YUM! this sounds super awesome!

  9. Rachel (tea and chocolate) October 12, 2011 at 7:12 am #

    Sounds delicious! I love raw nut salads/pates. I’ve been eating a lot more salad lately than I did during the summer. Weird right? I blame it on the 80* weather we’ve been having.

  10. A Tablespoon of Liz October 12, 2011 at 11:21 am #

    This looks so good! I love leafy green salads, but sometimes I just need something more too!

Leave a Reply

