WIAW & Weight Loss Talk

4 Oct

Woah, I guess it’s been a while.

Just a few days, not too bad I suppose.

Honestly I have just been kind of down. Lots of things I’d like to share but just not in the mood. This week’s WIAW is a little different. First, I want to talk about my weight loss challenge then, I want to show you how I have been eating the last two weeks to kind of wrap up the ideas and questions about my diet.

-  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -

Weight Loss Challenge Update

The weight loss challenge isn’t going as planned, at all. Like I said the first week I didn’t even lose an ounce and now I am writing this Tuesday night and still haven’t lost anything. In fact I did gain a few ounces, but technically weigh in isn’t until tomorrow morning.

Like everyone else, my plan for the weight loss challenge was obviously to lose weight. When I say that I want to “lose weight” I am only talking 10-15 pounds max, even thought I could afford to lose 20. I have put on an extra 10 pounds this year almost bringing me to my heaviest weight (still about 7 pounds away from my heaviest, not a big deal). I think that some of my reader don’t agree with me losing weight but I may have never mentioned that I am actually not just skin and bones! I do have a belly. Pretty much all of my excess fat is stored in my belly and it makes me look weird. Posting pictured would just be embarrassing.

All of the weight tracking is just really bringing me down. Not so much because I am not losing weight, but because it’s almost embarrassing. I am current in school pushing everything I got to get into the dietetics program. I thought I knew how to lose weight. I thought I knew how to eat a balanced diet. Now I am just doubting everything. I feel stupid. I feel weak. I feel humiliated. Like I said, not because I am not theat the weight I want to be act but because I am not getting anywhere. Every week contestants are pulling off these great numbers (so happy for them) and here I am, the supposedly healthy vegan girl not making any progress. It sounds stupid but it’s actually a lot of pressure.

“You’re not losing weight because a vegan diet it high in fat…”

“You just eat too much…”

“Vegans eat too many carbs and not enough proteins”

Okay, so maybe people are just saying these things in my head and not in real life but you get the point. This is why I am afraid to ask for help.

-  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -

Diet, WIAW style

The only “bad foods” (according to a diet I made up for myself) I ate all week were chips and salsa, a tiny bit of kettle corn, and some granola which isn’t even terrible! Anyway, perhaps my lovely readers could give me a little diet advice since mine isn’t working. I hate asking other people in my life for this kind of advice (mainly because it’s always, “you need to eat meat!”) but I totally trust you guys. As always, I will greatly appreciate every single comment I get for advice whether I want to hear it or not!

  

Breakfasts:

 

I haven’t been digging the whole eating breakfast after the gym thing, but I don’t have time for it any other way. My hunger is usually raging at this point. The first week of the WLC I ate a lot of tofu scrambles (not usually with bread) which really filled me up and gave me lots of protein. However, some morning I craved something more clean and simple like a green smoothie or a new breakfast smoothie I have been eating (oats, coconut milk, flax-seed, PB, protein powder, nanner, apple sauce) and will post more soon! 

Lunches:

 

This is where I either make or break the daily diet. I get some from school and all I want to do is eat everything in sight. On a good day I’ll have a bowl of soup or a veggie sandwich with baked tofu. Today was kinda weird., I had homemade sushi with tofu and celery and a bowl of butternut squash soup, weird.  

Dinners:

Dinner is always random. Usually some type of salad like lentil salad or black bean salad at work but a few night my dad got me falafel and I could not turn that down. I had a few peanut butter and granola sandwiches too with stuffed squash. I obviously don’t plan dinner that well. 

Snacks:

Lots and lots of apples. Maybe some dates and trail mix at school but that’s about it.

Q 0f the D: What advice could you give me about weight loss?

36 Responses to “WIAW & Weight Loss Talk”

  1. Allison @ Food for Healing October 4, 2011 at 11:13 pm #

    gah frustrating i know! i`m in the same boat.
    Best advice… keep with it! hard work will pay off, even if its not in time to win the weightloss challenge, keep doing it for yourself. <3

    • vegansunshine October 5, 2011 at 5:50 am #

      I just don’t want to get frustrated and give up. :/

  2. Nicole October 4, 2011 at 11:56 pm #

    I’m not generally a fan of calorie counting because peopel tend to get obsessed with it but sometimes it’s good to just count calories for a day or two to check in with how much you ARE eating.

    I will say that some peopel find protein more “filling” so sometimes getting more protein helps so you stay ful longer and don’t feel as snacky, but it totally depends. Ultimately, you’re eating pretty damn healthy food, the important thing will wind up being hte quantity. Also, if you try to make some relatively plain sauteed or roasted veggies ro something (with only a small amount of oil, etc) it can help you fill up on lower-calorie stuff. SOmetimes it does help to plan a bit so you’re not scrambling and super hungry at mealtimes, too!
    <3
    n

    • vegansunshine October 5, 2011 at 5:51 am #

      Im not a calorie counting fan either but I have been keeping track a little bit. I don’t want to end up obsessing over it but I will give it a try! Thanks

      • Nicole October 5, 2011 at 11:26 am #

        Honestly as someone who’s fallen into that trap before I think it’s better to NOT count much (or just count for a day or two once every couple of weeks) and just look to scale back on some of the more calorie-dense stuff. Good luck love. :) And remember being healthy & happy is always the most importatn part!

        sorry about my babbling!

      • vegansunshine October 5, 2011 at 11:35 am #

        Thank you Nicole, I really appreciate it! I might count for a few days or so just to see where im at. Im totally going to keep working out and eating healthy because I love it regardless! :)

  3. Steph October 5, 2011 at 12:58 am #

    You totally know what I’m going to say :D I’m writing a blog post on how to succeed on a fruitarian lifestyle tomorrow.

    • vegansunshine October 5, 2011 at 5:52 am #

      Im really interested Steph, I think I would starve. Or at least fill like I am because I love food! I give you credit.

      • Steph October 6, 2011 at 1:02 am #

        You most definitely will not starve. That is the total opposite of it. It’s about a life of abundance. You’ll have to count calories to make sure you’re getting enough, not to make sure you’re not getting too much. EasyToBeRaw has some awesome videos on YouTube.

      • vegansunshine October 6, 2011 at 10:57 am #

        I know. I completely understand where your coming from. Its about fueling and true hunger and not my “hunger” I get every few hours.

  4. Carrie (Moves 'N Munchies) October 5, 2011 at 3:42 am #

    so sorry to hear this girl!! hav u been counting cals!? i know its a pain, but i truly believe its most effective!

    • vegansunshine October 5, 2011 at 5:53 am #

      I think im going to try calorie counting for real even though im so against it!

  5. Shannon @ Healthiful Balance October 5, 2011 at 6:19 am #

    Have you tried counting calories? Maybe if you did that for a while and kept track of how many calories you eat and burn it would help? (Just dont get obsessed with counting them!) Are you drinking enough water?

    • vegansunshine October 5, 2011 at 9:39 am #

      I will try being more cautious with calories and such!

  6. buttonss - Cherie October 5, 2011 at 6:47 am #

    Oh wow your dinner looks reaaaallly good!!

  7. blossjoss October 5, 2011 at 7:00 am #

    I’m sorry this has got you down. :( Its a slippery slope (I know unfortunately). I think the best thing to do would be to take the pressure off somehow. If this plan is affecting your mood, its a problem. Maybe add in some fun exercise that you’ll enjoy, and you’ll feel good about afterwards. I personally feel better about myself when I workout, even if the number on the scale hasn’t changed. This week I tried bellydance. Fun! I recommend Jillian Michaels DVDs, too. She’s no nonsense, and will really kick your booty. Working out can be empowering. Daily workout will change your body. And boost happy-mood chemicals. :) Food wise, it looks like you eat super healthy. Wish I had the effort to make my eats that good. Maybe if you planned your weekly eats ahead of time you might feel like you’ve got a grip?

    • vegansunshine October 5, 2011 at 9:41 am #

      Thank you- I’ve been working out a lot and its making me feel better for sure!!

  8. Michelle {The Lively Kitchen} October 5, 2011 at 7:22 am #

    No advice besides making sure you’re getting enough calories. Good luck! I hope you find your happy place (in weight and life) soon.

    • vegansunshine October 5, 2011 at 9:42 am #

      That is good advice. Im going to keep track of this better for sure!

  9. Amy @ Turtle-speed runner October 5, 2011 at 7:38 am #

    The food you’re eating looks pretty good, but are you eating enough? Doesn’t look like much food, especially if you’re exercising :)

  10. consciousincollege October 5, 2011 at 10:38 am #

    i honestly think its the little things that matter most. try and eat something before you work out first thing in the morning even if its just a few almonds because it kick starts your metabolism. also a lot of people dont consider what they drink as part of a diet but sodas/juices/etc. all are high in calories and sugar. green tea is a much better alternative and helps your metabolism! i would switch some of your snacks to things like cheese..i know its high in fat but its good fat! and the calories are worth the protein whereas an apple wont fill you up as much. most importantly dont beat yourself up! if youre doing it a healthy way losing weight takes tiiime :)

  11. Tessa @ Amazing Asset October 5, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

    I would make sure you are getting enough calories… as backwards as they sounds! I am sure you already know this, but when you start under eating your metabolism slows to a crawl (eventually) and that is something you certainly do not want. I also think counting calories could be beneficial in this circumstance so you have an idea of how much you are having and making sure you don’t go under (or over!)

    Your dinner looks fab btw :)

  12. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! October 5, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    I have been loving apples too lately! They are so fresh and crisp!!!

  13. jenandberries October 5, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    I’d say try not to deprive yourself of anything, but focus on having a little of it and filling up on more veggies! The tofu scrambles sound like a great breakfast idea :) Hmmm…perhaps volumous oats would be good for meals as they’re largely water!

  14. lovemesomeoats October 5, 2011 at 6:14 pm #

    I don’t have much advice but maybe to try counting calories for a day to see where your at? Don’t give up!

  15. Tara October 5, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

    I’m sorry you’re struggling. It stinks because I know you’re trying so hard! I don’t really have any advice other than maybe tuck a way a dollar every time you have a good day and treat yourself to something you’ve wanted after so many good days. Also I don’t know if you have a food journal, but I’ve heard that helps some people a lot!

  16. Tt in nyc October 5, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

    It sounds like you may be letting yourself get too hungry. Maybe a late night snack apple and almonds/raisins will help thru the am workout. Also something between bfast and lunch so you dont eat your hand, veggies and hummus or edamame, a soy yogurt? Cutting out liquid calories and only eating calories will keep you more full, as well as staying well hydrated. Good luck but also listen to your body and where its healthy set point is-

    • vegansunshine October 6, 2011 at 10:55 am #

      Some nights I get home too late to eat dinner so the morning hunger does make sense. Thank you!

  17. Jen @ Light Enough to Travel October 6, 2011 at 3:55 am #

    Best advice I have is to eat balanced and healthy nutritious food, stay well hydrated, and get some exercise. Eat as much vegetables as you want and lose the sugar (also juice) and white flour. If you’re working out a lot you may actually end up gaining a little weight because muscle weighs more than fat, although it takes up less room. So don’t be too concerned about the numbers. Just focus on how you’re feeling and how your clothes are fitting. Maybe measure success in other ways like how flexible you’re getting or how far you can run; focus on gaining skill and strength and confidence instead of losing weight. :)

  18. Rachel (tea and chocolate) October 6, 2011 at 9:52 am #

    I’m sorry you’re having a hard time. You mentioned that you’re really hungry when you get back from class. Maybe try taking a snack (fruit, a bar) with you to school? I know I eat a lot when I get to the point that I’m starving, so maybe eating smaller meals more often would help. Good luck! You can do this, Whitney. :)

  19. survivingcandyland October 6, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    I’m sorry things haven’t been going well for you. Sometimes the body can be the most annoying thing when trying to lose weight. You just gotta stay positive and push through, even though that is the most annoying thing to hear.

  20. KatsHealthCorner October 7, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    That must be so frustrating. I know how healthy you eat and how balanced it all is. For me, it’s all about listening to my body.

    I took a look around the bloggies and found a couple good pages you might like.
    http://rdexposed.com/weight-loss/
    http://ohsheglows.com/2010/03/17/eat-volume-food/

    Love you! I hope this helps! :)

  21. Jess from Midwest Vegan October 7, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

    I’ve been counting my calories for almost ten years. Everyday. Even when I “go over” and eat more than my recommended allowance, I still count everything and look at tomorrow as a new day. I’ve never really been obsessive with calorie counting because after this long it’s just second nature. It’s a lifestyle habit that’s allowed me to lose 55 lbs. and keep it off for the last ten years. In fact, I only started working out two years ago. I focused on eating healthy for years before I decided to take the next (exercise) step. That’s my advice to people. Work on the food (PORTIONS!!) and warm up to that and then start adding in a little exercise here and there. Sometimes doing too much at once can be discouraging.

    Also, every BODY is different! 2000 calories is too much for some, and too little for others. Don’t worry about the numbers. If it’s too much or too little for your body, it will definitely let you know!

    You can do this!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Checking In… « - October 7, 2011

    [...] comments and support on my last post was incredible. I am so thankful for each and every one of [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

