Feature Friday: Natural Energy

23 Sep

Hi guys! Interesting topic for today that I have been researching….

Natural Energy!

Some people think I’m weird because I don’t drink coffee every day like they do. Is that weird? I didn’t think so. But I’m not going to lie, I used to drink coffee everyday. I love the taste, I love the smell. However, I do not love the way it makes me feel. Sure, caffeine gives me energy for about 30 minutes. After that, I crash instantly. I’m not sure why my body doesn’t let me have caffeine, but it is obviously trying to tell me something! I am also blessed with natural energy that I am very thankful for. I’m sure most of it has to do with my diet because on those days where I don’t eat as well as I could have, I definitely can feel the difference!

Some foods that claimed to be high in natural energy:

  • Spirulina
  • Cayenne
  • Honey
  • Ginseng

What I’ve found from the web:

  • Most foods that were claimed as causing “natural energy” were raw foods
  • Almost all high-energy foods I found were high in B12
  • Sugar is the devil

“The Aztec people knew a good thing when they saw it. They discovered spirulina, a single-celled algae that they called tecuitlatl and soon made it a staple of their diet. It is high in usable protein, a great source of Vitamin B12 (often called the “energy vitamin”), 8 minerals and many vitamins, including 7 types of vitamin A precursors known as carotenoids. It is also packed with chlorophyll, the green pigment that gives spirulina its colour and its blood purification properties. And, of course, it boosts energy levels.”

Source

Spirulina in smoothie is a great way to feel that energy!

(Just don’t smell it and you’ll be alright)

One new product I have been using…

image

I got this Steaz energy shot for a dollar so I thought I would try it. Packed full of B12 and a blend of teas with a few grams of sugar (really, you could have left this one out!).

image

Tommy needs his B12 too!

 Another great source of natural energy is lots of fresh air and exercise! I have been expirencing a lot of energy from this too, I love it!

Any other tips for natural energy you’d like to add?

10 Responses to “Feature Friday: Natural Energy”

  1. Allison @ Food for Healing September 23, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    i dont drink caffeine, never really got into it. I will drink decaf on occasion, or if i get starbucks, its always decaf. I dont need to rely on that stuff. However i do need more energy some days, i’ll remember this post forsure!

  2. KatsHealthCorner September 23, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    Hehe, Tommy is such a cutie. 🙂 I don’t drink coffee or tea or anything. Some ways I stay full of energy are, like you said, eating lots of fresh fruits and vegetables, exercising, going to bed at a reasonable hour, drinking lots of water, etc! 🙂

  3. lactosefreelizzie September 24, 2011 at 12:03 am #

    aww tommy is so cute! i take a b12 vitamin–which gives me a lotta energy 🙂

  4. Tara September 24, 2011 at 7:14 am #

    I would say a consistent exercise regimen keeps the natural energy flowing! I feel so out of it when I don’t exercise. You’d think it would zap your energy, but it really keeps me going!

  5. owlmazing September 24, 2011 at 8:34 am #

    I love coffee TOO much…sigh…it just tastes so amazing. I love the idea of natural energy though, thats interesting about B12 i never knew that! I’ve tried steaz iced teas before and they are really yummy 🙂

  6. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! September 24, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    Such an informative post! Thanks Whit!

  7. survivingcandyland September 24, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    Does this really give you lots of energy? I have such a problem when I try to take things that increase your energy levels. Usually I tend to just remain tired or I even fall asleep sometimes. My body is sooo weird.

  8. IHeartVegetables September 24, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

    I’ve been wanting to try that Steaz stuff!

  9. Brittany September 24, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

    I love that picture of your cat!! WATER is my favorite source of natural energy.

  10. Shannon September 25, 2011 at 10:21 am #

    Enough sleep, enough water and good healthy food give me energy! 🙂
    Loving the picture of your cat! 😀

Leave a Reply

