Feature Friday: Appetite for Reduction

16 Sep

This week’s FEATURE FRIDAY is extra special:

Β 

Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s Appetite for Reduction

Source

Recipes I’ve Tried:

  • Tempeh Meat Balls

 

  • Cool Slaw

 

  • Baked Falafel

 

  • Cauliflower Pesto Soup

Why I Love This Book:

  • Quick and easy recipes that even I can make!

Most of the recipes I’ve made took 30 minutes or less to make, total time!

  • Healthy, unique dishes that spice up my packed lunches!

Soup is one of my favorite things to take to school or where ever I need to pack a lunch. She makes soup so simple yet so fancy! πŸ˜‰

  • Homemade salad dressings!

Once upon a time, I put Italian dressing on every salad I ate because I thought that was the only vegan option. Little did I know, dressing is the easy thing to make…ever.

  • Hearty meals for a vegan cook book!

Vegan meatballs! Enough said.

I would recommend this book for vegan flirts,Β people trying to eat healthier,Β or just lazy busy people like myself.

What is your favorite cook book?

22 Responses to “Feature Friday: Appetite for Reduction”

  1. IHeartVegetables September 16, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

    Your meals look so tasty!!! I think my favorite cookbook is Mama Pea’s cookbook! Most of my other recipes are just inspired by other bloggers! πŸ™‚

  2. Allison @ Food for Healing September 16, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

    good cook books are so hard to find! i’ll have to check this one out!

    • vegansunshine September 16, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

      You should! I can give you a good list if you want…

  3. Tessa @ Amazing Asset September 16, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

    oo thank you for the review and the recipe list! I wan to buy Mama Pea’s cookbook πŸ™‚

  4. Alicia September 16, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

    I can’t say that I have a favorite cook book, (lame I know) maybe I just haven’t found the right one, that’s all. hehe You’re food looks super yummy! πŸ™‚

  5. Debbie September 16, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    My favorite is Skinny Bitch, Ulitmate Everyday Cookbook. The Savory Gravy is the absolute best (vegan or not). Also, the sweet potatoe leek casserole is one of my favs. But I do have Appetite for Reduction and love some of the recipes in that book also.

  6. Tara September 16, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    I’ve heard so many good things about this book!! I definitely want to try out vegan meatballs. Baked Falafel sounds lovely as well! My favorite cookbook… well I really rely on blogs for recipes. But I love martha stewarts cookies. I adapt most of them, but I love her ideas!

  7. teabagginit September 17, 2011 at 8:30 am #

    “vegan flirts” – i love that! my fav baking books are cooks illustrated but i love the mark bittman cookbooks because he makes them so user friendly for the home cook!
    plus, he’s the ultimate “vegan flirt” – he’s vegan before 5pm!

    • vegansunshine September 17, 2011 at 8:35 am #

      Hahah, you crack me up! I’d like to meet him! πŸ™‚

  8. Rachel (tea and chocolate) September 17, 2011 at 9:36 am #

    I love AFR! Just made the red curry tofu last night, and I’ve made a few of the salad dressings. Now that it’s cold enough to eat soup, I’d like to try out the cauliflower pesto one.

  9. A Tablespoon of Liz September 17, 2011 at 9:54 am #

    I love this book too! So many good recipes!

  10. Ali @ Around the VeggieTable September 17, 2011 at 10:33 am #

    I have been wanting to check this one out too…those falafel look amazing! We love your header btw…adorable πŸ™‚

  11. lactosefreelizzie September 17, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

    i haven’t seen this book but i totally want it now! my fav veg cookbook is vegan cupcakes take over the world! i hav a huuuuge sweet tooth πŸ™‚

  12. Carla @ Will Run for Health September 17, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

    I watched Food, Inc. last night and I have been reading “vegan” blogs all day trying to figure out ways to get rid of some of the fake food out of my diet. Your blog has been super helpful! Glad I stumbled on it today!

    • vegansunshine September 17, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

      Hi carla,
      Thanks for stopping by! I am very flattered. Feel free to shoot me an email whenever if you have any questions about a vegan life style!

  13. Steph September 17, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

    Fave cookbook = no cookbook. I used to use them religiously but now I rarely use any one, though I love looking through them for inspiration-ish. You don’t need a cookbook to mono-meal on oranges, nanners, or mangoes. Mmm, or persimmons. Shit man, I can’t wait to get my hands on some persimmons! Fave fruit of all time! I love figs but persimmons are like, freaking awesome. So cute, so yummy and you get to eat them when they’re squishy.

  14. Kaila @ healthyhelperblog! September 18, 2011 at 7:20 am #

    Looks like a great book! Thanks for sharing!!!

  15. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign September 18, 2011 at 9:20 am #

    hi! Nice to meet you too! Thanks for visiting my site!

  16. paoang September 18, 2011 at 10:32 am #

    Hi there! First of all, love your header- it’s so cute!
    And that cookbook really does look good; I’d never seen it before. Now I’m intrigued. The falafels look insanely yummy!
    Looking forward to reading more!

  17. KatsHealthCorner October 1, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

    My favorite cookbook would be YOURS! Girl, you have got to put one together! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

