Birthday Recap!

3 Sep

Thank you for all of the birthday wishes on the blog, twitter, and facebook. You are all so sweet!

I had a wonderful birthday for the most part and I am glad you are here to read about my special day.

I spent the first half of the day getting my relaxation on. I spent wayyyy too much time on the computer and in the kitchen! But hey, it was my birthday!

We made:

A vegan cheesecake

Mocha cheesecake to be exact!

& The best cupcakes ever!

Recipe for The Best Cupcakes and Chocolate Frosting Ever:

Cakes

  • 2/3 cup soy milk
  • 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
  • 2/3 cup agave nectar
  • 1/3 cup safflower
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • Pinch sea salt

Fudge frosting

1/2 cup vegan butter

1/2 cup agave nectar

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1/2 cup soy milk powder

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Prepare muffin tin with 6-8 liners.
  2. Combine the milk and vinegar in a medium bowl, and set aside for 5 minutes or until it starts to bubble. Add the agave, oil, and vanilla.
  3. In a separate bowl, combine the flours, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Add the wet ingredients to the dry, mix until no lumps remain.
  4. Pour the batter into the prepared muffin tin. Bake for 18-22 minutes. Cool the cupcakes in the pan for 10 minutes then cool completely before frosting.
  5. To make the frosting, use a mixer to cream the butter and agave until very smooth. Add the vanilla and half of the cocoa powder, mix on low-speed while adding the remaining cocoa powder. Add the soy milk powder and beat at high-speed until fluffy.
  6. Store frosting in fridge until ready to serve, this hardens it up a bit.

I should rename these cupcakes, “Whitney’s Birthday Tradition” because that is exactly what they are!

 

Do you have a certain recipe you make every year for a special occasion?

12 Responses to “Birthday Recap!”

  1. Molly September 3, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

    I’m so glad you had such a wonderful AND delicious birthday! Thank you for sharing the recipe. The pictures look good enough to eat themselves! šŸ™‚ ~ Molly

  2. Allison @ Food for Healing September 3, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    yum! My mom usually makes a saskatoon berry pie for my birthday, except for this past year šŸ˜¦

  3. Tara September 3, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    Oh my heavens, both desserts sound like awesome birthday treats!! I’ve never thought of making MOCHA cheesecake, but I love the idea! Those cupcakes look and sound absolutely amazing and I can see why they would be a new tradition!

  4. Katie @ Nutrition in a peanut shell September 4, 2011 at 12:47 am #

    Hi, please transport them over this way? That looks way too good to be true.
    I’m so glad you had an awesome birthday! You so deserve it šŸ™‚

    And uh, I don’t mean to brag, but my dad invented an alfredo dish for my birthday.. šŸ˜‰

  5. A Tablespoon of Liz September 4, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    That cheesecake looks so good. And I love how the frosting is just dripping off the cupcakes! I don’t really have a recipe I make every year for special occasions, I find so many recipes that I want to try out I never get around to making anything twice it seems.

  6. Rachel (tea and chocolate) September 4, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    Oh man mocha cheesecake? And cupcakes? You sure know how to have a good birthday! šŸ™‚

    Every Christmas my family makes butterscotch pecan rolls. SO good!

  7. Alexis - PumpedforPumpkin September 4, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    Mocha and cheesecake?! Holy heavens that sounds delicious! I make my pumpkin pie every year for thanksgiving šŸ™‚ I have to make 3 because each family wants one haha!

  8. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) September 4, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

    I usually make chocolate chip bundt cake for my birthday, but I switched it up this year and I must say that I’m glad I did šŸ™‚

  9. KatsHealthCorner September 4, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY GIRL! Those cupcakes look INCREDIBLE! And I love how healthy they are! šŸ˜€ We always have Pumpkin Pie for Thanksgiving (I know, lots of people do, but it’s something I really look forward to — the time I get to spend with my family).

  10. IHeartVegetables September 4, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

    YUM!!! Happy birthday, darling! My mom used to always make cookie cakes for our birthday! šŸ™‚ We don’t really do it much anymore though. I think I need to start a new tradition! šŸ™‚

  11. lucie September 5, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

    Ah, im in love with that vegan cheesecake!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Life Is Full Of Butterflies! « KatsHealthCorner - September 5, 2011

    […] Vegan Sunshine […]

Leave a Reply

