Feature Friday: Almonds

26 Aug

Happy Friday!

How is everyone? Are you back in school? Back to work? Getting ready for Labor Day weekend? Glad that it is Friday?

I love FRIDAYS. I love writing up Feature Fridays each week, they are too fun! I get to relax after work, sip on my spinach blueberry smoothie and get some baking done!

This week’s FEATURE FRIDAY is….

 

A l m o n d s !

Why I love almonds:

  • Almonds are high in LDL-Cholesterol which can reduce your risk of heart disease
  • High in calories (energy)
  • Contains both B12 & protein
  • High in magnesium and potassium
  • Great source of healthy fat

Lately I have been putting almond butter in my green smoothies…

Favorite ALMOND combinations:

  • Almond + Date
  • Almond + Cherry
  • Almond + Chocolate

Post your favorite recipe using almonds below!

 

8 Responses to “Feature Friday: Almonds”

  1. Allison @ Food for Healing August 26, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    i love date bars, half almonds half dates, can’t get any better than that!

  2. blossjoss August 26, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

    Almonds are awesome for us veggies because of their protein and calcium, but I’m pretty sure they don’t have B12. I wish though!

  3. Tara August 26, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    I have no idea what my favorite almond recipe is, but one of my favorite things made of almonds is marzipan! I wish there was a healthy version… perhaps there is, and but I never thought to look for it!

  4. The Teenage Taste August 26, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

    I LOVE ALMOND BUTTER! By far, my favorite “recipe” using almonds. 🙂

  5. Rachel (tea and chocolate) August 27, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

    Almonds! Love ’em. Almond encrusted french toast is quite tasty.

  6. Jess from Midwest Vegan August 27, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

    Almonds don’t have any B12. That’s why vegans need to take a B12 supplement – their diet is deficient in it. B12 is a very important nutrient for our nerves and our brains and it is absolutely necessary to make sure we get enough. I don’t want a dispute or anything, I just want you all to be healthy and know the facts. They’re still a good source of calcium and heart healthy fat though.

    I wouldn’t accept info from any other source, as it is the USDA’s job to ensure that their nutrient profile is accurate:
    http://www.ars.usda.gov/SP2UserFiles/Place/12354500/Data/SR22/nutrlist/sr22w418.pdf

    • vegansunshine August 27, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

      Hmm, I found two sources that said almonds contained b12…
      I guess they were just wrong? Silly internet.

Leave a Reply

