I’M PREGNANT.

16 Aug

So haven’t you heard the news?

I am totally pulling off the pregnant look.

What on Earth am I talking about?!?!

The story begins about 2 months ago when I was first asked that very awkward question. I was asked by a cashier at a local party store AKA total stranger. Apparently it was part of some joke he had going on with his buddy before I even walked in the store. Asking the next young girl that walks in if she’s pregnant might not be a very funny joke for some people. Needless to say, I let that one slide.

A few days after the party store incident, I was working at the market. I was extremely tired (just got out of work) and for some reason I was itching/hold my stomach while I was talking to a fellow vendor.

“Are you expecting?”

Doesn’t anybody know that you NEVER ask a girl if she is pregnant? That is the ultimate insult.

“Um, no? Just….itching?…”

Seriously, did I just get asked this again?

“Oh. (awkward silence) Welllll, I LOVE BABIES!”

Okay, twice in one week? This was just weird. I mean, maybe I have gained like 3-5 pounds, big deal! That still doesn’t give anyone the right to ask such daring questions.

FAST FORWARD TO SUNDAY

Waiting on two nice (slightly larger, no offence) ladies at the Farmer’s Market. While explaining the food, one of the ladies interrupted me in mid sentence and said something along the lines of,

“She’s pregnant.”

Thinking she is talking about her friend, I carry on. They were kind of talking to each other and I didn’t really understand what was being said. Like most people, I hate being interrupted, it’s just rude. I finished what I was explaining and then I started listening again.

“Well, you can tell. She is so small but you can just tell!”

I guess while I was talking they asked me if I was pregnant. Thinking she was talking about somebody else, I just nodded my head and continued on.

“Isn’t that funny, she always knows!”

As they walked away I realised what just happened. I agreed that I was pregnant, and he friend was so surprised because this friend “always knows”.

They were talking about me.

When the boyfriend returned, I told him what happened, he always gets a laugh out of it. Another fellow vendor over heard me talking about it and says,

“Oh my Gosh, I was going to ask the same thing!…”

Really? I am over here complaining and wondering why people are asking me if I am pregnant and you are going to just agree? I guess that’s cool.

It is just me, or is this weird? I don’t usually share random stories like this on the blog but, it is so funny strange that I couldn’t resist.

Seriously guys, I hate to break out the bikini pictures, but I must prove a point.

Now, I am 99.9% sure that I am NOT pregnant. If I wasn’t so sure, I would be probably be freaking out right now. I obviously had to over analyze this:

Reason why I might look pregnant:

  1. I have a pretty small butt. I realised this after analyzing myself in the mirror for a while figuring out why people might think I look pregnant.
  2. Having that small booty, really highlights the gut. Yes guys, I am totally aware of my food baby. I like to eat! But it really isn’t that bad.
  3. The clothes I wear could pass as maternity. I like loose-fitting tanks and yoga pants, what can I say.
  4. Every time I have been asked if I was preg-o, I was on my period. Bloated much?
  5. My final reason for pregnant look is my glow. I have been told before that I apparently “glow”. I don’t really see it but I guess it’s one of those things that come with the vegan life style.

Have you ever been asked if you were pregnant?

25 Responses to “I’M PREGNANT.”

  1. cleaneatingchelsey August 16, 2011 at 7:51 am #

    Oh my gosh – that is so not cool! You do NOT look like you’re pregnant at all! People seriously are just plain rude!

  2. movesnmunchies August 16, 2011 at 8:22 am #

    ahhaahah omg you do not look pregnant in the slightest!! u look HAWT

  3. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! August 16, 2011 at 8:32 am #

    OMG how rude are those people!?! I can;t believe other women asked you!! They should know that you never do that!!! WEIRD!!!! Well, you definitely don’t look pregnant girl….so no worries!

    • vegansunshine August 16, 2011 at 8:50 am #

      Thank you, I just dont understand. 3 times in one month?

  4. Life of a Happy Blonde August 16, 2011 at 9:18 am #

    Thats just ridiculous!!!! Unless a girl is like 8 months pregnant, i will never assume – its just plain awkward
    You look amazing, and they are crazy, the end 🙂

  5. Katie @ Nutrition in a peanut shell August 16, 2011 at 9:21 am #

    Blahh! So uncool.
    I didn’t think you looked pregnant…at all. Pregnant seems to be like, really stuck out.
    You don’t look like that.
    However, I would agree with the glow thing! 😉

  6. Allison @ Food For Healing August 16, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    oh dear lord, i was going to ask if there was something in the water!!! (story for another time, unless you saw my twitter lol)

    but that is kind of ridiculous to be asked that much and have people assume, its so not cool to ask a young lady if she is pregnant unless you know her haha
    My heart was racing the whole way through reading this.
    baby will come one day!

  7. Allison @ Food For Healing August 16, 2011 at 9:57 am #

    one more thing.. lol. i have to admit, i have a bit of a belly, and i could seriously look pregnant, but no ones made comments before. You must live in a weird place 😛

    • vegansunshine August 16, 2011 at 11:20 pm #

      Awww Allison! You are so sweet. It is sooo normal to have a little belly, what is the big deal!

  8. Rachel (tea and chocolate) August 16, 2011 at 10:09 am #

    Wha-what? Everyone knows you don’t ask a woman if she’s pregnant! How rude. I’m sorry you had to go through that. You do NOT look pregnant.

  9. Maria August 16, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    Yikes! I cannot believe the audacity of other people…

    You definitely don’t look pregnant – you look awesome!

  10. Healthy Hot and Happy August 16, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    I thought it was a well known fact not to ask a woman if they are pregnant…
    Well, you obviously don’t look pregnant, but i’ve had a “food baby” a few times and thought to myself “wow, people are going to assume i’m pregnant”. 😛

  11. Ma Ma Megan August 16, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

    Cannot believe this! TRust me girl, you do NOT look pregnant.

  12. IHeartVegetables August 16, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

    Oh my gosh that’s so RUDE! Well, obviously, you don’t look pregnant! A lady at work though I was pregnant once. We kind of turned it into a joke… but I was kind of like “What?!” (My manager at the time was pregnant, and she got use confused… *sigh*)

  13. Carrie August 17, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    I teach Pre-K, and that means I get asked if I am pregnant by my students on a weekly basis. Seriously. It’s always, “Is there a baby in your tummy??”

    Reasons:
    1. I drink a boatload of dietcoke bc the little munchkins wear me out. maybes I’m bloatie!
    2. Toddlers are obsessed with babies bc they’re the only humans smaller than them
    3. Lots of their mamas are still in babymaking mode, they’re used to people having babies in their tummies.

    At first, being a married lady, I worried that these little kids had some kind of 6th sense about these things. I mean, they were babies themselves only 4 years ago!! But, alas, I’m not with child. I must be with sandwich! 🙂

  14. Stephanie August 17, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    Ugh. Awkward. Why do people feel the need to say the stupid stuff that they think?!? You do NOT look pregnant. I once had a parent of one of my students run up to me in the hallway, GRAB my stomach and screech “When’s the baby due?!?” in front of about 30 other parents. I just kind of stared at her and said (really loudly) “No, I’m just fat”! I wasn’t, really, I just wanted to shame her a bit. Didn’t work…she just laughed and asked if I wanted to come to her house for supper one day. Ummmmm.no.

    • vegansunshine August 17, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

      What! That is crazy! I cannot believe she did that. Im going to start saying that, IM JUST FAT!

  15. Jess from Midwest Vegan August 19, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

    Oh wow! Congrats!!!

    I know I’m a little behind in the blogging world here lately, but I wanted to comment regardless!!

    • Jess from Midwest Vegan August 19, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

      Oh shit! My bad, I just read the title and I got excited!!!

      Then I read the post, now I feel bad and stupid and can’t delete it! Just ignore me!

  16. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) August 19, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

    You don’t look pregnant at all! I think I would punch someone in the face if they asked me that!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WIAW turns 30 « - August 16, 2011

    […] btw, I love all of the responses to my pregnancy post! You all are so sweet and I am glad you agree with me! Thanks for the support, as […]

Leave a Reply

