Recovery

12 Aug

Hi friends!

No Feature Friday this week due to tons of craziness.

This week I made sure to get out and active as much as I needed to. As I’ve mentioned, I have been feeling like crap lately without my daily exercises! Getting back in the swing of things really hasn’t been an issue at all.

Monday: Biked, ran, and Zumba-d

Tuesday: Tried a new class…. Turbokick! This was really fun.

Wednesday: Worked too much/rest

Thursday: More turbokick

Friday: Worked too much/cooked for the market

I’m really proud of myself for trying a challenging class. I had a co-worker  join my gym so we will be trying new classes and encouraging each other to go to the gym more!

I also have been experimenting with different food choices. Currently, I am focusing on eating a lot more calories for energy. I plan on doing a post of this in the near future! 🙂

Smoothies are a great way to get more good calories after a workout:

 

Blueberries, green apple, dates, vanilla protein powder, Spirulina and banana.
Perfect for recovery after all of that turbokicking!

Do you prefer to go to the gym alone or with a partner?

12 Responses to “Recovery”

  1. Alexis - PumpedforPumpkin August 12, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    oooh I can’t wait for the future post! I prefer working out alone but I also enjoy some quality time lifting weights and the occasional jog with the boyfriend… he slows down his pace considerably 🙂

  2. movesnmunchies August 12, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    great workouts!! i prefer to go alone!

  3. Kaila @ healthyhelperblog! August 12, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

    I like hittin’ up the gym solo! I get a better workout in that way!

  4. IHeartVegetables August 12, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

    I usually go to the gym with Eric, my gym buddy and regular life bff, haha. He’s the best and it keeps me motivated, having someone to push me!

  5. katshealthcorner August 12, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    YAY for smoothies! 🙂 I love those things after a hard workout — they really help me recover faster. I really like going WITH someone to the gym — it makes it more fun that way. 🙂

  6. Allison @ Food for Healing August 12, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

    i would love to go to the gym with someone, but i currently go alone since i have no one to go with. i dont stick to a schedule when i go, so it kind of works when i dont have someone with me too.

  7. Steph August 12, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

    I just work out in my home gym (which sounds a lot fancier than it is. A yoga mat and mini trampoline/rebounder are all I use, though I guess we also have a treadmill/dreadmill, elliptical and BodyVibe) and I’d rather do it alone, but if I do a workout DVD or video then I like doing to with my mom.

  8. Tara August 13, 2011 at 12:08 am #

    I like to workout alone, except during speed workouts. I like to have people pushing me to run harder!!

  9. Stephanie August 13, 2011 at 8:10 am #

    I like to exercise with a partner. I don’t like the gym very much, though, if I’m completely honest.

  10. Heather August 14, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    turbokick does sound fun!! i’d love to try that.
    i like going to the gym alone. the fewer interruptions/distractions the better. 🙂 i am a beast when i get interrupted no matter what i’m doing!! lol !

  11. Ma Ma Megan August 14, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

    Nice workouts 🙂 I enjoy going alone more, I go to the gym to focus on myself but going to classes is usually more fun with a friend.

  12. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) August 14, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    I always prefer a partner! I almost always work out alone, so it’s great to have someone with me to pass the time. I’ve started dragging my sister with me on my long runs (she rides her bike next to me) and it’s much more manageable!

Leave a Reply

