Feature Friday: Vegan on Vacation

29 Jul

Hi guys! Happy FRIDAY! The weekend usually doesn’t excite me because it usually means being extra busy! However, I am totally excited for this weekend because I will finally be on VACATION! The boyfriend and I are taking our annual camping trip and we will be gone for 6 days! I am so excited to just relax on the lake for an entire week.

I thought it would be interesting to do this week’s Friday Feature on….

VEGAN ON VACATION!

For the past year and a half of following a vegan diet I found that I’ve had the hardest time when traveling.

Vegan eating on the road: Most people think that fast food is the only food to eat when traveling. Sure, it is convenient, but it is definitely not the only choice! If I am not prepared and need to eat something right away, I feel the best way to grab something to eat fast is at a grocery store. Pick up an apple, banana, carrots, berries, snack bars, soy yogurt, or a bottled smoothie. I also find it fun to stop at new local markets for fresher produce!

Packing a lunch isn’t just for children: I pack lunch like it’s nobody’s business. Remember last semester when I had to pack a lunch and dinner all in one day? Yeah, I’m not joking. For longer trips, pack a mini cooler! For my vacation I am packing days worth of overnight oats, potato salad, maybe some faux tuna or egg salad, bread, premade vegan desserts, chocolate, fruit, lots of veggies, tofu, cereal, and non dairy milk.

The perfect tools for a great packed lunch:

  • Ice-pack
  • Thermos
  • Reusable bags
  • Cloth
  • Spoons

Salad bars are your best friend: What a great way to chow down on good food! It can be a challenge to find a good salad bar but definitely take advantage of it!

Prepare, Prepare, Prepare: In my opinion, preparation is the key to any healthy diet. Things like packing a lunch, meal planning, and bring along the right tools you need to stay on diet is very important. For me, this means packing dessert, I cannot live without chocolate! I would just be super cranky without it. Cravings are no fun to deal with on vacation.

 I am thinking about taking the Vitamix camping. I could make green smoothies out of the local produce! I think that will be fun. What do you think?

Any other great vegan/healthy tips for travel? Leave them below!

13 Responses to “Feature Friday: Vegan on Vacation”

  1. blossjoss July 29, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    *waves* I’m a new reader. And I definitely would support you taking the
    Vitamix camping. 🙂

    • vegansunshine July 30, 2011 at 8:08 am #

      Hi! Thanks for stopping by my blog! That’s for the support 😉

  2. Allison @ Food for Healing July 29, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

    lol vitamix, gees, you should be roughing it!! that’s what i will be doing, all i’ll have with me when we go backpacking is my pack on my back and everything i need in there! lol
    but if its an option, then why not! lol

  3. Kelsey @ Snacking Squirrel July 29, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    the big plus is that there are some great portable vegan options out there…some actually better than non-vegan options. i like that you mentioned overnight oats..i never really thought about it but it makes so much sense! it’s not always available to cook them up, so soaking them totally works! ❤

    xoxo

  4. Kaila @ healthyhelperblog! July 29, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

    Haha I can’t believe you’re taking the vita mix!!! But I probably wouldn’t let it out of my sight if I had one so I don’t blame you!

  5. thequirkykitchen July 30, 2011 at 2:31 am #

    are you enjoying your foodie swap items?

    • vegansunshine July 30, 2011 at 8:10 am #

      I am! 🙂 Yummy yum. Can’t wait till you get yours.

  6. Stephanie July 30, 2011 at 10:42 am #

    I love packing lunches! It actually makes me a bit sad that my husband doesn’t want me to pack him anything fancy. All he wants is 2 peanut butter sandwiches. Boring!

  7. Presley July 30, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    I’m not even vegan and these are still great tips for anyone traveling. I hate fast food!

    And I vote yes on the Vitamix!

  8. Tara July 30, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

    my best travel tip is to keep salt and pepper packets on hand at all times. Sometimes I’ll accidently underseason what I bring or get bland vegan road food.. sometimes they save the meal!!

Leave a Reply

