Feature Friday: Blueberries!

15 Jul

Because I went blueberry picking yesterday, I thought it would be completely necessary to do my first ever Feature Friday on BLUEBS!

Afterall, blueberries are one of my all-time favorites. I like the hard sour bluebs personally! We saw a lot of those on our blueberry picking aventure yesterday. I ended up picking 1.4 pounds of bluebs, and that’s not even accounting the ones I ate!

You would eat that many too if your were in this field!

The Good News:

  • Blueberries are ranked as one of the highest antioxidant capacities among all fruits, vegetables, spices and seasonings. (1)
  • Some studies show that blueberries have been proved to improve memory. (2)
  • Like most fruit, raw blueberries are considered low on the glycemic index.
  • One serving of blueberries contains over 30% of your daily value of vitamin C.
  • Blueberries are great for the nervous and cardiovascular system.

The Bad News:

  • Be aware when not chosing organic. Like most fruit, blueberries are heavily sprayed with pesticides.

What to do with blueberries:

  • Stir them into your oatmeal for a sweet breakfast
  • Use them in your favorite pancake recipe for something different and colorful

 

 

 

 

 

GREEN Blueberry Vanilla Pancakes

  • Toss them into a salad
  • Bake me a pie… (no really, I love pie…) 😉
  • Make these awesome blueberry bars for dessert!

Wait, did someone say pie?

 

Blueberry Pie Boatmeal Cake

(inspired by the chocolate covered queen 😉 )

  • 1/2 cup oatmeal
  • 1 small mashed very ripe banana
  • 1/4 cup blueberries
  • 3 tablespoons almond milk
  • 1 tablespoon oil (I used safflower)
  • 1/4 cup walnuts
  • dash of salt

Preheat oven to 380 degrees. In a blow, combine dry ingredients and then add in the wet. Pour in one ramekin. After 18 minutes of baking, turn the oven on broil for about 3 minutes, not longer than 5. When you pull out your super cute blueberry pie, add whatever toppings you want. Personally, I am on a blueberry + coconut kick, but that’s just me.

Have you ever gone blueberry picking?

15 Responses to “Feature Friday: Blueberries!”

  1. Tara July 15, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

    I’m not a big fan of raw blueberries, but I love the flavor and I love them in baked goods! I love blueberry ice cream too, so I like to blend them into banana soft serve. It’s been a few years since I’ve gone blueberry picking, but the last time we went we had so much fun. My best friend and I had a blueberry war and our hands were stained for weeks!

  2. Allison @ Food for Healing July 15, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    i have not gone blueberry picking before, I had gone strawberry picking, and i’ve picked wild saskatoon berries in the bush. Those are native to Canada, and only across 3 of the provinces.

  3. Megan July 15, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    I love blueberries! So jealous you got to go pick some 🙂 I would have a hard time not eating them all.

  4. katshealthcorner July 15, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    BLUEBERRIES!!!! You have no idea how many of those I had yesterday. 🙂 They were GOOD! 😀

    I love your Blueberry Boatmeal! Now, if only I had some blueberries…. Would other berries work? I have some frozen blackberries. 🙂

  5. Lindsay July 16, 2011 at 12:11 am #

    I loooooove fresh blueberries! And yes I’ve been blueberry picking too 🙂 Such a blast. Strawberry picking is hugely popular down here in FL but most of the blueberry crops are from further north. My fav blueberry dish is prob fresh blueberry muffins 🙂 Mmmmm

  6. Stephanie July 16, 2011 at 4:07 am #

    Omg, that blueberry boatmeal is SO pretty! I haven’t ever been blueberry picking unfortunately. Actually it’s really unfortunate because we’ve pretty much always got blueberries in our fridge when they’re in season in the summer, and even when they’re in season they still cost an arm and a leg.

    • vegansunshine July 16, 2011 at 7:59 am #

      You should really look into picking them then! Its actually super cheap, I was impressed.

  7. Lauren @ What Lauren Likes July 16, 2011 at 8:56 am #

    I love to go blueberry picking! my fam goes twice once the season is right! these recipes are amazing! I am so going to try them when I have mah hands on some blubes 😉

  8. Alexis - PumpedforPumpkin July 16, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    I love blueberries! we have a local place to go pick blueberries but I’ve never been. Blueberries in baked goods is definitely my favorite but I also love them in my cereal bowl 🙂

  9. IHeartVegetables July 16, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

    I LOVE blueberries! They’re my favorite berry 🙂 But I’ve never picked my own! I’ve just been eating LOTS of frozen ones 🙂

  10. Jess from Midwest Vegan July 16, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    Haha. I just put a mixed berry (with blueberries!) pie on my blog today!

    Anywho, I’ve never gone blueberry picking since blueberries aren’t native around here (although you can sometimes find one somebody has bought and planted in there yard). I have however, gone black raspberry and gooseberry picking. Black raspberries are awesome. People in Missouri go nuts for them. They’re a wild, native plant and they’re so juicy with great flavor. At Farmer’s markets, they sell for like $8 a pint!!

    • vegansunshine July 16, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

      Woah! I would like to try those 🙂 it is so interesting to find new foods in different areas of the world.

  11. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! July 16, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

    I like the hard tart blueberries too! They’re my favorite!

  12. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) July 17, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

    I’ve never been blueberry picking, but I really should because I LOVE them!! All the blueberry recipes look great! 🙂

    ❤ ❤

  13. Jess July 17, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

    Blueberries are like nature’s candy 😀

Leave a Reply

