WIAW week 25

13 Jul

Today will be a short and definitely sweet WIAW (details later in this post) but I promise you, with this solo breakfast edition of What I Ate Wednesday this may be just enough.

 Remember in this post how I said my favorite breakfast food is green smoothies and pancakes?

I may have said that I would eventually make green pancakes.

& you thought I was joking.

Green Blueberry Vanilla Pancakes

Serves 2

  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup vanilla protein powder (I used life time life basic plant protein)
  • 1 tablespoon spirulina
  • 2 tablespoons baking powder
  • 1 tablespoons stevia (or sweetener of choice)
  • 1 1/4 cup non dairy milk
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup blueberries
        1. Add dry ingredients into a medium size mixing bowl.
        2. In a separate bowl, mix together non dairy milk and oil.
        3. Add wet ingredients into dry.
        4. Fold in blueberries.

5.   Put those green pancakes on the griddle and get with it!

 I couldn’t believe how delicious these were!

You must try them.

So today, the boyfriend and I are off to A NEW FARMER’S MARKET! Cities all around Michigan (and probably the rest of the country) are becoming in love with Farmers Markets. One nearby city (about 20 minutes away from us) started a new local FM this year and really needs more vendors. Apparently they have less than 10 vendors and A LOT OF PEOPLE so this could be a great opportunity for us.

& By the way….

Thanks for the support on my last post about the market, it really means a lot to me that you love what I am doing and are still encouraging us to keep going strong!

Have you ever ate green pancakes?

19 Responses to “WIAW week 25”

  1. Tara July 13, 2011 at 6:04 am #

    I’ve never had green pancakes, but I would love to try! I’ve also always wanted to try green muffins. I think they are way more appealing than a green smoothie!
    Congrats on the new farmers market opportunity! I bet you guys are gonna sell a lot. Good luck!!

  2. Michelle {The Lively Kitchen} July 13, 2011 at 8:19 am #

    I love this idea! My kids would be all over it.

    Thanks for the recipe!

  3. kabochafashion July 13, 2011 at 9:34 am #

    I’ve made green pancakes! They’re on my blog hehe! And I’ve also made green cookies!

  4. Allison @ PickyEatingRD July 13, 2011 at 10:58 am #

    Wow I have neverrrr had green pancakes! I am a green smoothie virgin but it seems like pancakes may be a good start for me to jump on the green bandwagon. Great recipe girl!

  5. vegan aphrodite July 13, 2011 at 11:08 am #

    Wow, what a unique way to use spirulina! These sounds super yummi and like a perfect breakfast 😀

  6. Rachel (tea and chocolate) July 13, 2011 at 11:52 am #

    I’ve never had green pancakes, but I’d be willing to try. Good use for spirulina! I’ve also seen other bloggers blend spinach into the batter.

  7. Sweet Cheeks July 13, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    I ❤ green foods. those look so dang yummy!!!

  8. Andrea @ Vegvacious July 13, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

    Sounds and looks fantastic!! I ❤ greensAND PANCAKES 🙂

  9. Megan July 13, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    I love green food! Soo need to try this 😀

  10. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) July 13, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    I’m dying to make these! I think I’m going to make a batch tonight and save them for after my breakfast tomorrow!

    Good luck with the new farmer’s market! Hope it goes well 🙂

  11. Stephanie July 13, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

    I really need to get some spirulina. Either that or chlorella, so I can make SUUUUUPER awesome smoothies and pancakes. Maybe even some tahini-spirulina/chlorella dressing for my salads 😀

  12. Laura @Adventures In WIC July 13, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

    The green pancakes are frightening me just a wee bit, but I’ve gotta admit, now I want to try them!!! Those would be fun to make for St Patties day!

  13. Jess July 13, 2011 at 7:07 pm #

    I LOVE green pancakes!!!

  14. IHeartVegetables July 13, 2011 at 11:13 pm #

    I’ve never had green pancakes! But judging by how much I love green smoothies, I think I’d love this!

  15. Errign July 14, 2011 at 9:39 am #

    I’ve never done green pancakes but I have done carrot pancakes and green oats.

  16. thefitacademic July 14, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

    haha, looks kinda sketch, but I bet it tastes delicious! Am I a weirdo that I’ve never heard of green pancakes before!?

  17. Lauren @ What Lauren Likes July 15, 2011 at 8:22 am #

    sweetness! this is soo cool 🙂 looks weird but I am trying fo sure!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Feature Friday: Blueberries! « - July 15, 2011

    […] GREEN Blueberry Vanilla Pancakes […]

Leave a Reply

