Market Recap Monday {week 8}

11 Jul

So, it’s Monday again.

Usually the thought of Mondays sadden me but, now that I have been posting Market Recap Mondays (MRM) I can live with the thought of another Monday after a long yet eventful weekend.

Let’s get started!:

First came the rain. Literally right around 9AM (market starts at 10)! Do we set up? Do we wait in the car? Maybe it will blow over?

Thank God the sprinkles passed through quite peacefully, that would have been a disaster!

Moving on:

New! Roasted Butternut Squash HUMMUS! I thought the chef boyfriend was kidding when he texted, “I have a butternut squash here that we need to use. Sqummus?” I joke that this is part of our fall collection but I am dead serious. This turned out really nice.

Another thing the chef boyfriend wanted to make this week was our own vegetarian stuffed grape leaves.

I thought this would be incredibly time-consuming and not worth the effort.

Wrong again. Best grape leaves I have EVER had, no joke.  

I think I need to start listening to him more, what do you think?

Whoops. Did I drink all of this? Probably, it was hot! Unlike my dessert, definitely not so hot this week. The only people who bought desserts were my friends that came to visit. At first everyone LOVED my granola, so I made a new flavor this week (chocolate!) and nobody bought any. 😦 Except my best friend. Thanks heath! 🙂

Clear skies?

Market goers.

Not a lot of photos this week, what is up with that!? More next week, promise! I really wish I had a good photo of the grape leaves, I want to share them with all of you! They were so good.

But what do you think I should do about my desserts? My boyfriend tells me to make non vegan desserts because they will attract more people but he knows I am completely against that! That’s just stupid. Not only do my vegan desserts taste awesome, I am not the only vendor selling baked goods! Vegan and gluten-free desserts is what makes us unique and different from the other bakers (think 60+ vendors). Not to mention I use mainly natural sweeteners and organic flours.

Should I make bigger signs?

Should I stop making desserts?

Should I be more aggressive with my baking?

I think I like the last choice. Next week I want to do scones, muffins, and maybe sweet breads but these will only last a few days. Will it be worth it? I guess I’ll have to try it and find out.

15 Responses to “Market Recap Monday {week 8}”

  1. Molly July 11, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

    Soooooo wish you were in San Diego! I’d come visit AND buy from you! 🙂

  2. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) July 11, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    B-nut squash hummus sounds amazing! It seems like you’re doing everything right, it may just take some time to build up a following, but I’m sure you guys will – you have great ideas! 🙂

    • vegansunshine July 11, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

      Thanks Jess, it’s just really stressing me out! I want to give people want they want but I guess I just don’t know what that is.

  3. theflourishingfoodie July 11, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    Squash hummus sounds so good and I’d totally buy your chocolate granola 🙂
    To get more people to buy them, maybe you could give out samples and not tell people until after they try them (and realize how delicious they are) that they are vegan. Good luck!

  4. IHeartVegetables July 11, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    Maybe you can be more aggressive AND have bigger signs! People need to know that you’re making delicious baked goods without gross ingredients!

  5. Sweet Cheeks July 11, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

    good quality signs would be important, I would think! Good luck with it…too bad i wasn’t closer or I would buy you out in no time flat, haha!

  6. Tara July 11, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

    Sqummus sounds heavenly!!! What a good idea. I would also love to try homemade stuffed grape leaves. I love them!!
    I think pretty signs and packaging would make a big difference. I’m much more likely to go for something that looks attractive! Keep pushing, i know your baked goods are amazing and delicious and you will be successful!

  7. Natalie @Will Jog For Food July 11, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, glad i found you now! I want to go to your stand!!!

  8. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) July 11, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    Oh my gosh, sqummus?! That sounds amaaaaazing! If you’re ever in California you should set up a booth and I promise I will buy everything. I definitely think big signs help, although the ones you already have are cute 🙂 Good luck!

  9. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! July 11, 2011 at 11:24 pm #

    Okay butternut squash humus!?!?!?I need that NOW!!!

  10. Lauren July 12, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    Butternut squash hummus?! Yes please! Stay true to your food beliefs 🙂

  11. forgottenbeast July 12, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

    How ’bout make vegan desserts but don’t LABEL them vegan? Wait ’til people taste or ask about the ingredients! Or put “vegan” in smaller letters–I am vegan, but I know the term scares some people away even if stuff tastes the same. Or better. And squash hummus sounds amazing. Okay–all your food does. I would totally come buy your desserts! And probably a lot more.

  12. foodblogandthedog July 12, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    I made butternut hummus as part of my Thanksgiving mezze last year. It was the star! With regard to selling more cakes, have you tried going round with tasters for people. If they know how good they are they won’t be able to resist, hopefully!! 😀

  13. Stephanie July 14, 2011 at 10:06 am #

    I’m fascinated by the fact that you sell vegan desserts at a market. I would absolutely buy from you. An earlier comment suggested free samples. That’s a great idea! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

