DOs & DON’Ts of the Market

13 Jun

What I’ve learned in my month of being a FM vendor

Do take customer advice and make gluten-free desserts.

Don’t over do it, some people are afraid of flour-less baking.

Don’t ever make mini muffins again, they are a pain to make and most people walk up and eat them because they think they are samples.

Do pre-wrap all desserts so they KNOW they aren’t just samples.

Do let people try tofu mousse samples before you tell them it’s made with tofu.

Don’t let the kids try it, they usually prefer milk chocolate.

Do make more granola.

Don’t forget to make one to sample.

Do make ingredient cards!

Do make the perfect amount of brownies, 7 was just enough.

Don’t make signs that say, “made with Spirulina” it’s gets annoying to explain it after the 100th time.

Don’t get offended when people think the prices are too high, you know the time and money spent on the food.

Do tell them that speciality foods cost a little more, but are totally worth it.

Don’t be afraid to make “too much”  hummus, running out of food is no fun.

Do put out as many samples as you can because once they try it, they are HOOKED!

Oh, and

Do eat the leftovers for lunch.

Have a great week! ❤
15 Responses to “DOs & DON’Ts of the Market”

  1. Jess June 13, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

    Loved this post!! Your business is gonna grow & grow!!

  2. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) June 13, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

    This post is too cute! I’m loving how that vegan chocolate mousse looks… yum. Looks like you guys had another great week – congrats! 🙂

    • vegansunshine June 13, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

      Yes it is so much fun! Even though were not really making any money (we put it all back into more food…) I think one day it will all be worth it!

  3. Kaila @ healthyhelperblog! June 13, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

    I wish I could have some of those leftovers!!! I would pay any price for all that good stuff!

  4. Allison @ Food For Healing June 13, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

    love it! I would walk by your table a hundred times, dressed up as various people just to have all of your samples! lol

    • vegansunshine June 13, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

      Haha I’d let you eat all the sample you wanted to!

  5. runyogarepeat June 13, 2011 at 10:30 pm #

    Everything looks so yummy! I would think people would be more willing to pay a little more for specialty treats since it’s a farmer’s market. I always let people try something before telling them what was in it. Or I just don’t tell them at all!

  6. IHeartVegetables June 13, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

    Wow! Looks like you’re rocking the farmers market! I wish you were near by so I could come buy your stuff!!! Looks like so much amazing goodies 🙂

  7. Stephanie June 14, 2011 at 12:36 am #

    Oh my peas the MOUSSE. It looks soooo good! 🙂

  8. movesnmunchies June 14, 2011 at 7:18 am #

    ahahah i love how ppl thot they wre free samples!! i wish i cud buy from u!

  9. Tara June 14, 2011 at 9:11 am #

    Definitely eat the leftovers for lunch! I love all your farmers market posts. It’s something I would love to be a part of one day, and I’ll keep all this in mind! I wish I could try your stuff… it all looks delicious.

  10. Rachel (tea and chocolate) June 14, 2011 at 10:14 am #

    How funny that people thought the muffins were free samples. I hope your business keeps growing! It sounds like a lot of fun.

  11. Anastasia June 14, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    Everything looks amazing! I could have eaten all seven brownies myself, I believe :]

  12. Angie June 15, 2011 at 10:11 am #

    Everything looks so good! Im so with ya on eating the leftovers!

Leave a Reply

