Farmer’s Market week 1

23 May

Judging by the comments on my last post, I think we all need to take a vacation together!

Seriously, let’s do it one day. I think that will be lots of fun!

As some of you know, yesterday was…

The Big Day!

It was my first day as a vender for our local Farmer’s Market!

I was really thankful that the weather so beautiful unlike last week! When we got there I felt really out-of-place, not going to lie! All around me were venders with lots of tables, big tents, big signs, and everything they needed. I was a little intimidated. First, we were placed at a lot right next to the BBQ’d pork. Nice, a pig being roasted right next to the vegan stand. Real cool. Then we found out that we were actually in the wrong spot! We were right across from that spot, good thing! Now we were next to a hot dog stand (I can live with that) and a salsa company.  We starting setting up around 8am because the market opens at 10am. The table we brought was really small so my mom ended up driving home and getting a bigger table, thanks mom! She helped us set up cause she does Art Fairs all the time so this helped A LOT! We immediately made friends with a lot of the venders, they were so nice! The bf, Scott, will literally talk to anybody so he comes in handy because I tend to be a little shy. The other venders were giving us advice and tips for what to bring next week. The first thing we noticed right away was that we needed BIG signs. Nobody is interested in small sings that they actually have to read.

The Table

image

Sorry for the phone photo, I did not bring my camera because I there were a lot other things to worry about than quality photos so deal with this one kay? 🙂

As people began to fill the market, I was really stressing out that nobody stopped at our stand. Scott told me to calm down because apparently it was only 9:56am. I guess it’s okay for people to walk around the market early? That’s cool with me!

The Customers

Once a few people stopped by our stand it got really crazy! I was trying to wait on people one at a time but everybody had so many questions! One of our first customers spent $14.50 on some tapenade and my date bars. He was really excited to try them!

The Samples

As the day went on we got a lot of “Oh, this hummus is SO GOOD I’ll be right back to buy some…” people who never did come back. 😦 Also, a lot of people said that they diffidently will be back next week. This makes me really excited. As soon as we put out samples of the olive tapenade we sold out, it was crazy! This is the main reason why most people are coming back next week. (after the market closed Scott and I found a great deal on olives at our local GFS and spent $100 on more olives so they better be prepared!) We learned that samples are a really good choice. Okay, so I learned that samples are a really good choice. Scott tried to tell me but I didn’t believe him. Next week I am going to sample out my date bars for sure! Although, I sampled out my granola and everybody LOVED it bought only one person bought some. I’m selling it really cheap too! Hmm.

I was really happy to see that a lot of people came to visit us! It also helped that we both recognized a lot of people we knew, it was fun! I love how supportive everyone was being. Even some of the venders told us that our stand is going to be a hit.

As much as I love being outdoors, towards the end of the day, I was really hot and tired! I was so sweaty and gross I just wanted to go home, shower, and take a nap!

Overall

I thought the day went really well. Yeah, we didn’t make as much money as we thought we would but it was our first week. We are going to be in the hole for a while and that’s okay. I saw the excitement of people’s faces when they learned about our products and I know they will be back. Now we have a better idea of what people really want to buy. I am SO ready for next Sunday, bring it on!

10 Responses to “Farmer’s Market week 1”

  1. Allison @ Food For Healing May 23, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

    thats so exciting! samples are a very good idea forsure. I wish i was in your area to come stop by! But i think my drive from Saskatchewan to come to your farmers market is alittle much haha
    Good luck next week, you’ll do fantastic

  2. katshealthcorner May 23, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

    Ohhhh, YAY! I’m so excited for you! I wish I lived near the Farmer’s Market you are at! That way we could have a Bloggy Meet! 🙂 And I could buy some of your granola!

    Don’t sweat it. It sometimes takes a couple of days to get the word out, and then EVERYONE will be in line for your goodies. 🙂

    And yes, samples are definitely a must! 🙂

  3. Jess May 23, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

    YAY for a successful first day as a vendor!! I know your business will SURELY take off!!

  4. Tara May 23, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

    Reading this post had inspired me to spend more time at my local farmers market this summer. It sounds like you really put a lot of heart into it and appreciate when people enjoy your products. I want to get to know my local businesses better and support them! I totally wish I could sample your date bars, I’ve been meaning to make some myself.

  5. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons May 23, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

    It will get better! ❤ esp once peeps start to recognize ya from this past time! =) and good call with the samples! I think that will help tooons! yayy good luck girly!! so exciting!

  6. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) May 24, 2011 at 12:56 am #

    I would love to visit your stand 🙂 I definitely think samples are a good idea. As much as I would love to say I’m not influenced by samples, I totally am- especially at farmer’s markets!

  7. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) May 24, 2011 at 8:56 am #

    Congratulations!! That’s so exciting. 🙂 I definitely think samples are great – I’m always more likely to buy if I know that I love the product first. Sounds like you guys are doing great!

  8. Ma Ma Megan May 24, 2011 at 9:01 am #

    How exciting!
    I definitely think it will continue to grow each week. 🙂

  9. The Teenage Taste May 25, 2011 at 7:04 am #

    I think it is awesome that you having your own stand at your local Farmer’s Market. Congrats on a greaet first week! Samples are a must! 🙂

  10. Jessica @ Dishin' About Nutrition May 25, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    Fun, good for you! The more you do it I’m sure the more comfortable you will feel.

Leave a Reply

