Spring Cleaning & a RAW Review

15 May

Goals for this week:

  • Work on the core
  • Eat “cleaner” foods
  • Start my new Spring Cleaning program*

*I have noticed that heavy breads and meals that focus too much on processed carbs (which I shouldn’t be eating anyway) leave me feeling sluggish and weak. I want to try eliminating all foods that upset my body like wheat, sugar, caffeine, and processed anything(not like I haven’t said this before!) I guess I would consider this as somewhat as a detox, but not nearly as extreme. I’ve been talking about eating better for a while now but this time I have a plan.

So stay tuned for new healthy recipes!

!!!Review!!!

A few weeks ago I was sent a sample of ‘RAW protein powder’ from Garden of Life. I see this stuff everywhere but I was afraid to buy it because not only is it pretty expensive, I didn’t want to be stuck with a big tub of this protein powder if it didn’t even taste good.

The taste was pretty good compared to most protein powders. I really like the taste of raw protein powders. Very earthy without the chalky taste! Can’t beat that!

Not only did this stuff taste great, they sent me a $5 off coupon too! Thanks Garden of Life!

Last night, Scott and I went out for SUSHI!

I ordered my favorite roll…. SWEET POTATO!

image

Sides: fried fermented tofu and veggie tempura

image

Maybe I over-did the fried part? Whoops!

image

 Hi baby tomtom! How did that get in there?  Isn’t he cute? Hogging all the toys and what not.

How was your weekend?

13 Responses to “Spring Cleaning & a RAW Review”

  1. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! May 16, 2011 at 10:29 pm #

    SUSHI is the BEST!!! I have had a sweet potato roll before and they are amazing! Ahh now I really want some sushi!!!

  2. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) May 17, 2011 at 10:11 am #

    I think I need that detox too! haha. My husband really likes that Garden of Life protein powder too; maybe I should give it a try.

    That sweet potato roll looks so good – I’ve never seen one before!

  3. BrocStar May 17, 2011 at 10:42 am #

    Awww cute cat! I haven’t had sushi in so long.. but i have all of the ingrdients in my kitchen!

  4. Kelsey @ Clean Teen Kelsey May 17, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    Wow, that is so cool! I have never had a sweet potato roll like that. Sushi kinda scares me.. maybe I need to give it another try. 🙂

  5. Jenny May 17, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

    Omg that sweet potato sushi looks amazing!! I need to try it 😀

  6. Tara May 17, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

    I’ve always wanted to try sweet potato sushi, but I’ve never seen it around here. I should try to make it myself.
    I love your goals! I rely a lot on processed foods because they are good on the go. I can’t wait til summer when I have more time and freedom to have whole foods. I feel so much better!

  7. Allison @ Food For Healing May 17, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

    i love kitty pictures!
    we’ve been definitely cleaning up our diet around here, we were eating a lot of potatoes and breads for awhile, now we are eating lots of fresh vegetables and salads everyday!

  8. Jess May 17, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

    That sweet potato sushi looks SO good!!

  9. kate May 17, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

    Ahh sweet potato rolls sound amazing I wish my sushi place had them!!!

  10. Ginger&Rice May 17, 2011 at 11:59 pm #

    mmmm that sweet potato roll looks divine! I probably eat 2 or three sweet potatoes per week!

  11. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) May 18, 2011 at 1:14 am #

    I love your idea of ‘spring cleaning’ your diet! I want to focus on that after school ends.

    I am dying to try sweet potato sushi! I haven’t had sushi since I became a vegetarian. I miss it terribly!

  12. beatriceqq May 18, 2011 at 8:48 am #

    sweet potato good

  13. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons May 18, 2011 at 11:47 am #

    Yay i’m glad it tasted good! I’m not a fan of chalky either!

    Tomtom is sooooo cute! ❤

Leave a Reply

