Healthy Eating Help

17 Apr

Hi guys,

Kind of a short (yet very important) post today…

(Source)

My best friend wants to experiment with healthy eating and might possibly take a “vegan for a week” challenge.

Sometimes when she asks me questions I think of my fellow bloggins because a lot of the time, I feel like it would be helpful for her to gain knowledge from you guys too, not just me. Everyone has their own opinions about healthy eating and losing weight, I would really appreciate it if you were all so kind to help my friend out and answer some of her health related questions!

  1. What made you want to eat healthier or become vegan?
  2. What are some ways of getting in the habit of eating healthier?
  3. What kinds of foods do you like eating the best that’s still healthy?
  4. What are some easy and helpful workouts I can do at home? 

Basically, I would like everyone to comment below and tell us WHY you eat the way you do. Does eating healthy make you feel so good you would never want to go back? Do you just really enjoy eating whole foods for the fresh flavor? Do you eat healthy for the good looks?

Athletes: You had to start somewhere! How did you start getting in shape? Were you always involved in sports? Any major success stories?

Thanks bloggins!

 Keep the advice coming!

21 Responses to “Healthy Eating Help”

  1. IHeartVegetables April 17, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

    1. I want to eat healthy so I have more energy, and, well, look better 😉 (Let’s be honest!)

    2. I’d say, look for healthy alternatives to foods you already love!

    3. Try butternut squash fries, instead of french fries. SUCH a good swap! Ohhh or banana soft serve ice cream!

    4. Jump rope, free weights, resistance bands!

    • vegansunshine April 17, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

      Banana soft serve represent! Thanks Liz! 😀

  2. katshealthcorner April 17, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

    1) I realized that I wasn’t feeling good. I wasn’t eating healthy, and I was EXAUSTED! Then, once I began eating better and healthy, I felt so much better!
    2) I would suggest doing a little at a time, to get into the hang of it. Like eating more fresh fruits and vegetables, etc.
    3) Haha, you can check out any of the recipes on my blog if you want some of my favorite recipes. 🙂
    4) You can try running around the block, riding your bike; Do you like workout videos? There are a ton of GREAT workouts that really get you toned! 😀

    I hope this helps! 😀

  3. kpsydney April 17, 2011 at 9:32 pm #

    1. For health and energy – my niece is trying to encourage me to become vegan, but I think that would be too much of a stretch; however eating less meat amd dairy is a goal.
    2. Keep only healthy foods at home – don’t keep fat and sugar-laden snacks in the cupboard/fridge.
    3. Fruit and nuts and low-calorie snacks like buckwheat crackers (and a bit of dark chocolate if you can limit yourself to 2 squares a day :-)).
    4. Chair squats while watching TV – do reps of sit, stand, sit stand without using your hands to push
    yourself up

    • vegansunshine April 17, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

      Number 2 is a big one for me ^
      Hey, if I don’t buy it, I wont eat it!

  4. Jess from Midwest Vegan April 17, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    1. I’ve been vegatarian most of my life and I was also lactose intolerant. Eating dairy make me feel like crap, but I did it anyway. One day, I decided that it is stupid to eat something that makes you physically feel terrible. As I got older I started to read more about veganism, and it just made sense. After going vegan, my health has never been better!

    2. I wanted to be a healthy vegan, so I just started branching out and trying new foods. I never realized eating healthy could taste so good!

    3. Eating healthy has also made me feel so good I could never go back to my old eating habits. I have no desire to feel crappy ever again.

    4. I like doing my part to reduce the suffering of animals and the Earth!

    • vegansunshine April 17, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

      AGREED on everything you just posted Jess! That pretty much sums it up.

  5. applesnoats April 17, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    1)I wanted to eat healthier at first to lose weight but then I realized that i enjoyed thetaste more and how it made me feel
    2)recipe sift try a bunch of foods and see what you like the best
    3)oatmeal , peanut butter, fruit, abd other blogger recipes!theres just so many delicious healthy things you can make
    4)try nike training club its awesome!

  6. vegansunshine April 17, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    Totally agree on your number one ^

    Thanks everyone! Love this.

  7. Ma Ma Megan April 17, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    What made you want to eat healthier or become vegan?
    I was sick of being unhealthy (ED), my body has never responded well to meat or dairy, and I had just watched Earthlings and could not bare to eat animal products anymore.

    What are some ways of getting in the habit of eating healthier?
    EXPERIMENT! Go in your produce aisle and get a new vegetable you’ve never tried. It’s fun! Once I started eating healthy foods I found my body never craved the not-so-healthy stuff.

    What kinds of foods do you like eating the best that’s still healthy?
    Peanut butter, and steamed/roasted brussel sprouts.

    What are some easy and helpful workouts I can do at home?
    I check out workout video’s from the library (because I’m cheap) there are some great I like doing pilates and yoga but Jillian Michaels 30 day shred kicks my butt 😉

    • vegansunshine April 17, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

      Wow I never thought to check out workout videos from the library! Great advice. And I think it’s so fun getting a new fruit/veggie every time you go to the store. So exciting!

      Thanks Megan!

  8. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) April 17, 2011 at 11:59 pm #

    1. I started eating healthy two years ago to lose weight, but once I realized how it made me feel, I can’t imagine eating the way I used to! I still have weight I want to lose, but even if I stay at my current weight, I feel so much better than I did when I was eating junk.
    2. Go grocery shopping at someplace new- I loved shopping at natural / health food stores. It’s so interesting to find so many new products.
    3. Any kind of nut butter, tons of fruit… and I love hiding healthy food in treats!
    4. I’ve been doing the 30 Day Shred- it’s hard, but it’s a good workout!

    • vegansunshine April 18, 2011 at 9:32 am #

      Man, I need to get the 30 Day Shred!Thanks, Kate!

  9. movesnmunchies April 18, 2011 at 2:38 am #

    What made you want to eat healthier or become vegan? to FEEEL better in myself and the choices i make for our world
    What are some ways of getting in the habit of eating healthier? stop eating packaged things…. stick to fruits veggies, beans, legumes– plant food but not packaged or processed very often
    What kinds of foods do you like eating the best that’s still healthy? beans, veg and fruit, nuts and nut butters!
    What are some easy and helpful workouts I can do at home? buy a workout DVD.. they are cheap and very effective!! Jillians are the best!

    • vegansunshine April 18, 2011 at 9:35 am #

      I need to stop eating packaged things… :X
      Thanks for the advice Carrie!

  10. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) April 18, 2011 at 8:34 am #

    1) I wanted to feel better and have more energy, and I read a TON of the health benefits before going vegan.
    2) Eat more whole foods and try new things, and as someone else mentioned, find healthier alternatives for things you already love. They’re usually easy to find and bake/cook!
    3) Fruit, kombucha, salads, beans, hummus, PB, chocolate
    4) Yoga DVDs (I let my friends borrow mine, so maybe someone you know has some good ones), 30 Day Shred, Exercise TV has a lot of free full length videos.

    Hope that helps! 🙂

    • vegansunshine April 18, 2011 at 9:37 am #

      Yoga DVDs make me fall asleep, no joke. :/
      Yoga just isn’t for me at all.
      I do love the advice though!
      Thanks, Jess!

  11. Rachel (tea and chocolate) April 18, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    1. My family has always eaten pretty healthy and we all like to try new foods, so I’ve been a fairly adventurous eater since I was little. Around 9th grade I was feeling exhausted and stressed out, and so I started making a conscious effort to eat more fruits and veggies, and a few years later became a vegetarian.

    2. Don’t think of eating healthy as removing foods from your diet, instead think of it as adding new foods (like fruits and veggies) into your diet. It takes a while for tastes to change, so don’t be afraid to try new recipes. If you don’t like a food prepared one way, you may love it another way.

    3. Low sugar muffins, hummus, fruits, veggies, oats, nut butters, tofu, beans

    4. Yogadownload.com has some great yoga and pilates classes, and ExerciseTV has a huge selection of workouts (cardio, strength, yoga, dancing, pilates).

    • vegansunshine April 18, 2011 at 11:34 am #

      I agree about how your taste changes! My taste buds spun a 360! Thanks, Rachel.

  12. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons April 18, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    I’m a sick puppy. and if I don’t nourish my body with healthy whole foods then I am ALWAYS SICK! and that’s just not acceptable for me! I feel awesome when I eat healthy foods and am happy to indulge when I want to b/c i know my normal eats are fantastic! ❤ plus now the scale is my friend!

    oh and a family history of cancer? lets go organic while i'm at it. and maybe i can save the world too? just a thought ❤ hehe

Leave a Reply

