Basic Pancakes & Anythingbutchalkforbreakfastplease

14 Apr

Hi friends! Thank you all for your “get-well-soons” on my last post. I think it’s working, I’m feeling better! 🙂

I’m so ready for spring! I hate this food rut that I’m in! I’ve been eating so much crap, it’s terrible. My body is craving fresh foods. Hurry up and get in season! It is sad that I eat so much crap in the late winter. It’s my worst time of year for everything. I would like to think of my blog as a “health food blog” but lately I’ve felt like that is a lie! :X

So, although I have been trying to eat better, I’ve really been digging pancakes lately.

My basic pancake recipe:

Serves two

I use this pancake recipe on my “chill” days when I feel that it is okay to eat a not so nutritious meal for breakfast.

Remember breakfast = the day’s fuel!

  1 cup flour, sifted (I use half white, half whole wheat)
    1 tablespoon vegan sugar
    3 teaspoons baking powder
    1 teaspoon cinnamon 
    1 teaspoon salt
    1 cup nondairy milk 
    1 egg replacer, prepared
    2 tablespoons vegetable oil
    1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract (optional)

You know what to do.

This mix can be used for just about any type of pancake: blueberry, strawberry, chocolate chip, you name it.

Just add in whatever you like!


But speaking of a nutritious breakfast…

!!!REVIEW!!!

Vega’s Shake & Go Tropical Smoothie

Literally, you mix it with water, shake & go.

I really like how simple this was! You just add it to 1/2 to 1 cup of water, that’s it! The taste was actually pretty impressive. Not too chalky at all! Finally! I didn’t feel like I was forced to chug down a nasty chalky vitamin drink, I could totally taste the pineapple.

Would I buy it? Maybe for a treat. I think these run about $2-3 at Whole Foods, I don’t think I would pay that much for this. But I guess once you think about it, $3 can’t really but you a very nutritious meal anywhere else.

Check out all of that iron, 30% in that little drink! Not to mention 11 grams of protein. I think I might start buying Vega products online once I start running this summer.

Have you tried any Vega products?

16 Responses to “Basic Pancakes & Anythingbutchalkforbreakfastplease”

  1. Allison @ Food For Healing April 14, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

    i haven’t tried any vega products, its all so expensive so i’m not sure if i ever will or not!
    i know what you mean about being in a food rut and just eating junk, it happens to the best of us, just gotta get up, dust yourself off and move on, dont dwell on it.

  2. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) April 15, 2011 at 12:57 am #

    I’ve never tried any Vega products, but I’ve heard a lot about them!

    Those pancakes look AMAZING. I haven’t had a good stack in so long!

  3. megan @ the oatmeal diaries April 15, 2011 at 1:10 am #

    I’ve been wanting to try Vega products forever! And your pancakes look yummy 🙂

  4. Tara April 15, 2011 at 6:46 am #

    I’m so ready for spring to come too! Our weather is wishy-washy, one day it’s beautiful and the next is horrendous. It’s really hard to predict so there are lots of wardrobe malfunctions!
    I’ve never seen or tried Vega Shake n Go products, but they sound really good. The flavors are really cool!

  5. movesnmunchies April 15, 2011 at 7:11 am #

    AHH love pancakes!! and i so wish i could try vega!! they just dont sell it over here 😦

  6. Rachel (tea and chocolate) April 15, 2011 at 8:55 am #

    Those pancakes look excellent! Love all the strawberries on top. I haven’t tried Vega before because the price is so high. Maybe I’ll try a single serve packet at some point.

  7. Ma Ma Megan April 15, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    I want to try that! I’m always looking for protein powders that don’t taste like chalk!

    • vegansunshine April 17, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

      I like hemp, not a fan of the dark color though…

  8. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) April 15, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    Mmmm… yummy looking pancakes!! And the Vega smoothie packet looks SO good!! I’ve never tried any of their products, but I really want to 🙂

  9. Christin@purplebirdblog April 17, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    I have really wanted to try those Shake & Go packets because I love the other Vega products so much! 🙂

  10. Recipe Chefs April 17, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    Excellent post thanks for sharing. Food is something I can enjoy all around. If I’m not eating it. I’m reading and looking at pictures about it.

    Rise n Shine Eggs – Breakfast Recipe

  11. katshealthcorner April 17, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

    I’ve never tried any of their products, but I really want to! 😀

    I love your pancake recipe! 🙂

Leave a Reply

