WIAW week 12

13 Apr

 

Breakfast

Pumpkin pancakes!

Lunch

Gardein chicken wrap with Annie’s Natural Goddess dressing and butternut squash!

Snacks

 Yogurt!

Dinner

This gooey wrap with cream “cheese”, tofurkey, mushrooms and spinach.

Yes, today’s meals were filled with lots of meat/cheese alternatives. Yummy yummy. :/

What I didn’t tell you-

The night after my run (Sunday night) I became extremely ill. I went to bed at 11, woke at 1, felt like throwing up, didn’t go back to sleep until 5:30. It was horrible. What was up with this? It is extremely rare for me to wake up in the middle of the night. What could have caused this?

  1. Food poisoning?

  2. Eating the left over pumpkin that was in the fridge for a few too many days?

     


  3. Taking a pain med before bed? (pain meds can sometimes make me ill)

     

  4. Going for a run after a large meal?

After slight research I came to the conclusion that running after a large meal is a major no no. First off, after eating your body is digesting. This takes a ton of energy! Adding exercise on top of all that work is overwhelming for the body, I was asking it to do too many things. Sorry bod! Love yew. Second, after researching more on GERD I found that my symptoms were identical. It did sort of feel like heartburn but way more intense. Still, three days later, I feel worse after eating. Last, I need to stop eating so fast, seriously.

Have any runner ever experienced this?

Hey, at least it wasn’t my knees this time!

20 Responses to “WIAW week 12”

  1. movesnmunchies April 13, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

    YES!! well ive never felt ill but its defs harder to run on a full stomach! eat something small high in carbs before then refuel after!! you arents supposed to eat big meal after a run either.. but its fine! YUMMy wraps!

    • vegansunshine April 13, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

      Thanks Carrie. 🙂 I wasn’t planning on running it was so nice out!

  2. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) April 13, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    I’m loving b-nut squash lately, and I never thought to make a wrap out of the gardein tenders..genius! Sorry to hear that you were sick 😦 Hope you’re doing better!

  3. Christin@purplebirdblog April 13, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

    Ack! Sorry to hear about your sickness!

  4. snackgirlgoeshealthy April 13, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    Hope you feel better!! 🙂

    Your pancakes look fab!

    Just wondering…what are your reasons for being vegan? FOR ME…I just find it weird to eat a ton of meat cheese subs. Unless its like veggie burgers. I mean don’t ya think the real stuff is better for you than the fake stuff since God made ut? Just wondering! NOT trying to put you on the spot at all! If I was vegan I would want subsitutes too! But jjjwwww!

    • vegansunshine April 13, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

      I like to have meat and cheese subs on hand just for quick meals, I usually don’t over do it like I did for this post! I would really prefer tofu but I suck at cooking it. 😦
      Plus, I really love animals and I think it’s weird to eat them.

  5. Allison @ Food For Healing April 13, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    the yogurt is my favourite in this post!
    I have a very sensitive stomach, so i eat hours before working out, and maybe a small snack before if i am starving. otherwise id be sick right there and then!

    • vegansunshine April 13, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

      Good advice, thank you! I’m new at this whole running thing…

  6. Tara April 13, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

    I have had some bad experiences with running after eating, but nothing this bad! That does not sound fun at all. I’m glad you brought this up, I wasn’t aware that it could turn out so miserably! I hope you feel better soon!

  7. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons April 13, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

    I totally have had that happen!!! ahh its the worst! sorry love!

    Hope you’re having a fabulous WIAW Whitney!!! ❤

    xoxo

    • vegansunshine April 13, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

      Well at least it’s not just me being crazy! I was waiting for somebody to tell me they have felt this before too!

  8. kaila@healthyhelper! April 13, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

    That b-nut looks yummaaaay! A lot of people stop eating winter squash when the weather gets warm but I love it all year round! Same with pumpkin…I am still eating pumpkin in the middle of july every year!

  9. Jess April 13, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

    Eeek, sorry about the tummy troubles!! hope you’re feeling better ASAP!!

  10. Erica D April 13, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    Ooh, I do remember a time where I ate stir-fry right before going to a field hockey pre-season workout. A horrible decision that has haunted me for years!

    • vegansunshine April 13, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

      Wow! I’m so glad I’m not the only one who went through this. I was so confused.

      Whitney

  11. littlehealthjunkie April 14, 2011 at 1:17 am #

    Totally know the feeling of having terrrrible tummy pains from running on a too-full stomach! I had that happen during an xc race even…it’s horrible! And nice eats, I love the veggie cheese and soy stuff (I eat so much of that!)

  12. Jessica @ Dishin' About Nutrition April 14, 2011 at 10:10 am #

    I did this when I was training for my half. I carbo loaded then went for a 12 miler and my body hated me! I woke up with the shakes, I felt nauseous, I was sweating, it was horrible!

  13. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) April 14, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

    Yikes! Sorry to hear you got sick 😦 I went out for dinner once and wanted to squeeze in a few miles… worst idea of my life. I was dry heaving on the side of the road half a mile into the run. NEVER again!!

Leave a Reply

