The First Bits of Spring

10 Apr

 Hello  H E A T W A V E !  How you doin’?  ♥   ♥   ♥

Totally diggin’ this random 80 degree weather!

iloveyou Michigan !

First day of warmness =

  • Outdoor grilling
  • Vegan chocolate peanut butter mousse pie (ok so maybe you could enjoy this anytime of year…)
  • First outdoor RUN

The boyfriend was not interested in any other activities today because all he wanted to do was grill. Works for me! Time to get my baking on! First I wanted to make a chocolate mousse pie. Then, it turned into this beast of a chocolate PEANUT BUTTER mousse pie!

image

image

image

image

Once again, random recipe then needs to be tested again (yum…) before posted! Pretty much if you know how to make chocolate mousse add some PB and sweeten with maple syrup. It held together perfect, I was impressed.

Five hours later:

image

Mexican food buffet? I think so! Refried black beans, grilled mushrooms, lots of grilled bell peppers, grilled Yukon gold potato and corn mixture, guac and salsa.

After this I went for my first RUN of the year, how exciting! I’m not a fan of outdoor running because I’m totally not a “runner”…yet. However I did run/jog/fast-walk almost 2 miles in a half hour. Times flies when you’re not on a treadmill, that’s for sure.

I’m also thinking about buying a fancy watch all you cool runners have. I really want a body bugg but they are pretty expensive.

Any watch suggestions?

This morning I made some pretty intense strawberry pancakes

And that’s my Monday :)

How was your weekend?

15 Responses to “The First Bits of Spring”

  1. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) April 11, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    Oh my gosh, that pie! I’m so hungry and it looks amazing. :) My husband and I did a kind of Mexican food buffet this weekend too.. so good! Glad you had a nice weekend! :)

  2. movesnmunchies April 11, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

    AHH i wnat your pie!!! i LOVE garmins… but they are quite expensive! worth it though if you want to become a serious runner!

  3. Allison @ Food For Healing April 11, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    mexican and buffet in the same sentence! I think i’d be in heaven haha

  4. Ma Ma Megan April 11, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

    You will fall in love with running as you improve! :)

    Can I have a slice of that pie please?

  5. megan @ the oatmeal diaries April 11, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

    The pie looks awesome! So do your pancakes… I wish berries weren’t so expensive! I would have blueberry pancakes or oatmeal every single day :)

  6. katshealthcorner April 11, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    YUM! I can’t wait for your recipe for your pie! :D It looks amazing! :D

  7. mindrunningwild April 11, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    gosh you just accomplished so much!! I’m lovin’ the strawberry pancakes they’re so cheerful!! I’m beginning running too, yay us!

  8. Jess April 11, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

    YAYYY for warmth! Grilling outdoors=da bombbbb!!

  9. Tara April 11, 2011 at 10:29 pm #

    If you want a good running watch, the Garmin is AMAZING. Before I was a runner, I just used a polar heart rate monitor watch which was great for gauging my workout intensity.
    I’m so excited for the peanut butter mousse pie!

  10. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) April 11, 2011 at 11:13 pm #

    Mexican food buffet?! Pretty sure you just combined a few of my favorite words, haha!

  11. carlee April 12, 2011 at 12:33 am #

    I am So excited spring is here! Cause that means summer is almost here! HOLLA!
    I’m jealous its that warm there! But we had really pretty sunshine and warmth here today!

    Oh and pAlease hand over those scrumptious lookin pancakes!

  12. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! April 12, 2011 at 6:10 am #

    Yum! All that food looks delicious! I love Mexican foods when the weather gets warm…it just remind me of Summer for some reason! And that spread you had looked delicious…all of my faves on one table! :)

  13. moveovercelery April 12, 2011 at 7:04 am #

    Yum! I definitely want to sink my teeth into that pie. Can’t wait for the recipe!

    My weekend went by WAY too fast! Haha, that’s usually how it always is!

  14. IHeartVegetables April 12, 2011 at 9:58 am #

    Wow, so many awesome things in one post!

    1. Peanut butter pie? Yes please!
    2. YAY for running and warm weather!
    3. Mexican food is my FAVORITE!

  15. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons April 12, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

    Feed. Me. Seymour.

    kthx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

