Healthy is here to STAY.

1 Apr

First: My posts are still being posted on different days that I actually post them on. My last post was only pushed back by a day so it’s not completely lost. Is anyone else having this problem?

Second: Let’s forget my Sugar-Free challenge. Overall, I would say I’m a pretty healthy eater. However, I do agree that I have been eating too much sugar lately and it has been effecting me. I have actually been baking with white sugar… GASP! That stuff is no good. Why have I been doing this? Lately I have been obsessed with making vegan desserts taste “good” (you know, like, “normal” as some people would say because they think vegan/healthy food is gross…) so I been putting in white flour, white sugar, and all the members of that nasty un-nutritional family. But you know what? I love healthy food! Why waste my time proving to people who vegan food taste “good” when healthy vegan food just as good and doesn’t leave you with nasty sugar hangovers? Am I right??? So yes, I will be going back to my normal baking style (mostly whole wheat or gluten-free flours with natural sweeteners like agave and stevia) but I will occasionally enjoy my coconut yogurt with a little added sugar, that’s okay. I don’t want to get sugar-free obsessed right now but I do plan on a challenge in the near future! Plus, I have a lot of food that needs to be eaten up this week! 😛

Third: Holy cow. I just found a new obsession.

Speaking of wheat flour and stevia….

Kat’s Chocolate Chip Pumpkin cookies

These cookies are awesome Kat! They are so soft, almost like a muffin. They actually remind me of those Pumpkin Pancakes I was obsessed with this last fall. And guess what? I ate one with my breakfast. IN YO FACE WHITE SUGA! (White sugar in the AM gives me long-lasting head aches…)

Fourth: I forgot how much I LOVE carrot apple juice. Ohhh my. Can I have this everyday?

& My first Zumba Training session is today, I’m super excited. Remember how I told you that I was taking over one class? Well, I lied. IT’S TWO CLASSES. 🙂

I hope everybody has a great weekend!

16 Responses to “Healthy is here to STAY.”

  1. movesnmunchies April 1, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    i def think healthy baking CAN taste great too! i use natural sweetneers instead of sugar and cannot taste the difference!! ok will chk those cookies out!

  2. Allison @ Food For Healing April 1, 2011 at 11:22 am #

    2 classes, thats wicked awesome! it will be a blast.
    that cookie looks to die for! yummm

  3. katshealthcorner April 1, 2011 at 11:22 am #

    Awwweee! I am so glad that you like The Pumpkin Cookies! They are definitely one of my absolute favorites! 😀

    No way! TWO classes?! Congrats girl! 😀

    • vegansunshine April 1, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

      I cannot stop eating them! Thank you so much for that wonderful recipe. 🙂

  4. Ellie April 1, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    Have fun at zumba girl! my sis is wanting to start that soon too. I think it’ll take my being there with her to motivate her 🙂 and you preach it! (on #2) 😀 sometimes, I feel like healthy desserts are more satisfying in every way

  5. Ryan @ Aloha Appetite April 1, 2011 at 4:03 pm #

    Congrats on the two Zumba classes!

  6. Tara April 1, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

    Those cookies are on my list! I definitely prefer healthy baking. I love eating my baked goods whenever I feel like without have to care about whether it will make me feel sick or not! Plus I do enjoy the taste more. As decadent and delicious as the “real stuff” is, I swear I can taste the tummy ache which automatically turns me off.

  7. Carlee April 1, 2011 at 5:56 pm #

    Aww! You go girl! I totally agree! Don’t bother wasting time if they just think it will be nasty! Healthy eating is delicious! Do what you and your body wants! I know what you mean about people terrorizing you about your food choices. “Eww that looks nasty!” “eww whats that”. Its FOOD people! I don’t make fun of you soifjdlksjdalksj stuffed twinkie do I? haha.

    There is my little rant haha…

    • vegansunshine April 1, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

      I totally agree! People always ask me about what’s in my food. Umm fooood? What the f is your “food?” 😛

      Whitney

  8. Ma Ma Megan April 1, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

    I enjoy healthy baking way more. It makes you feel good! 🙂

  9. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons April 1, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

    ahhhh TWO CLASSES?! go Whitney!!!! =) That pumpkin cookie looks fantaaaastic! =)

  10. Jess From Midwest Vegan April 1, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

    Oh yes, carrot juice is always a win! I hate raw carrots, but I love me some juice!!

    Congrats, future Zumba teacher!!

    • vegansunshine April 1, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

      Same here with the carrots! I never know what to do with them raw, they’re just boring..

  11. IHeartVegetables April 1, 2011 at 11:13 pm #

    Congrats on the zumba teaching!!! I wish I could take your class. I love zumba! 🙂

Leave a Reply

