The Perfect Date

13 Mar

So basically, I love dates.

They are so much fun to bake with because they are unique and full of health benefits such as Vitamin A, antioxidants, fiber, and they are a good source of natural sugar.

One way that I like to eat dates is though eating a Larabar. However, we all know Larabars can be quite costly.

But who needs Larabars anyway? Get some dates, get some nuts, and get some dried fruit then throw it in the food processor and roll them into pretty balls.

Seriously, try this. I will post recipes for my balls as soon as I perfect them! These were so much fun to make, I cannot wait to experiment with new flavors.

What’s your favorite Larabar flavor?

I hope everybody had a great weekend 🙂

18 Responses to “The Perfect Date”

  1. Tara March 13, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

    Maple pecan sounds soooo good. Two of my favorite flavors right there!
    My favorite larabar flavors are the lemon, key lime pie, coconut cream pie, and any flavor with peanut butter in it.

  2. Christin@purplebirdblog March 13, 2011 at 11:19 pm #

    I totally bought a huge tub of dates to do this exact thing, but I can’t stop eating the dates filled with peanut butter instead! 🙂

  3. katshealthcorner March 13, 2011 at 11:39 pm #

    Ohmygosh girl! You have to post these recipes!!! I’m going to die if you don’t!!!!

    I really need to get a smaller food processor, because when I tried to use my Blend-Tec, it was just too big to do the job. 🙂 What do you use?

    xoxox
    Kathleen

    • vegansunshine March 14, 2011 at 9:35 am #

      Honestly I have a $25 Black and Decker that works just fine. I’ve had it for over 2 years! I soaked the dates first because the blender sounded like it was going to break. 😦

  4. Ma Ma Megan March 13, 2011 at 11:48 pm #

    Maple pecan, man that sounds AWESOME!

    Your title totally had me confused I thought you meant like going out on dates, not the fruit. Then I read “full of health benefits such as Vitamin A…” and I was like ohhh. haha.

  5. tinkerbelle86 March 14, 2011 at 5:33 am #

    those all look delicious!!

  6. The Teenage Taste March 14, 2011 at 7:05 am #

    I LOVE making homemade Larabar-type balls. My favorites are my Cinnamon Roll Lara-balls.
    I really want to try those chocolate peanut butter ones though! 🙂

  7. thehealthyapron March 14, 2011 at 8:37 am #

    I love baking with dates!!

  8. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) March 14, 2011 at 9:28 am #

    OMG those look sooo good!!! I really want to try them ALL!!

    I tried my first larabar a few days ago and loved it! It was the Cashew Cookie version, so I guess that’s my favorite flavor! 😀

  9. IHeartVegetables March 14, 2011 at 10:55 am #

    Ummm feel free to send me some of those chocolate peanut butter ones 😉 hah those look SO good!

  10. movesnmunchies March 14, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    omg maple pecan sounds AWESOME!! dates make the perfect larabar! i like pecan pie!

  11. Rachel (tea and chocolate) March 14, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

    Maple Pecan sounds amazing! A strawberry walnut flavor sounds good to me, though I’m not sure where to get dried strawberries.

  12. theflourishingfoodie March 14, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    Your creations are way prettier than lara bars! Hmmm, I really like cherry pie lara bars.

  13. Ellie March 14, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

    Yummy! I like the apple, pb, and banana larabars the most. 🙂 oh, and cherry b/c it’s perfectly sweet/tart.

  14. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons March 16, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    yum! pb and dates are my fav combo! this all sounds amazing!!!!

Leave a Reply

