The One-Day Liquid Green Fast

12 Mar

Hi Bloggins!

Happy Saturday!

Yes you read the title correctly…

Today, I decided to try a fresh juice/green smoothie fast.

If you know anything about me, you know that I obviously LOVE food. I’m constantly eating or thinking about the next time I’m going to eat, it’s actually kind of sad. As much as I try to love raw foods and eat them daily, to me, nothing beats a big hearty bowl of soup and a nice, warm, soft piece of bread (0k, that sounds really good right about now!). I think this one-day fast is over-due.

Why? I’ve been wanted to try a juice fast for a while now. Even if it’s just for one day, the benefits are amazing! I’ve also came to the conclusion that juice alone with be extremely hard for this foodie. Plus, I really wanted to finally make a green smoothie.

So let’s get right down to it.

Breakfast 8:30AM: 12 ounces of green juice.

10-11AM: 20 ounces of water

Lunch 12:30PM: 20 ounces of this beast of a green smoothie:

Green Smoothies vs. Green Juice

Green Smoothies make a TON more drink compared to juicing. Sometimes the greens don’t blend as well so it’s a little plup-y.

Green Juice is easier for the body to degeist but you need a lot more veggie to make a good amount of juice. In my opinion, has more of a fresh taste like water.

All day at work until 9PM- sipped on green juice and the rest of my smoothie.

We were so slow at work that I had so much time to think about eating! I wanted so bad to eat some mashed up stuffed grape leaves, lentil salad, and hummus and dip some pita chips in my Mid-east mess. I also spent a lot of time thinking about making chocolate chip cookies and how I must have some.

Yeah, im crazy. The whole day I kept telling myself, “I’m heeling. I’m cleaning. I NEED THIS.” I guess that worked. It’s funny how your mind plays tricks on you. I wasn’t even hungry but my mind really wanted me to eat.

But I finally made it. Let’s just hope I don’t eat like a cow in the morning because I’ll be so hungry!

Have you ever tried a juice fast?

8 Responses to “The One-Day Liquid Green Fast”

  1. Tara March 12, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

    I think even one day of a juice fast takes a lot of willpower! I hope you reap the benefits. I don’t think I could ever do one, except when I get my wisdom teeth out this summer. I’ll pretty much be forced into it then!

  2. IHeartVegetables March 13, 2011 at 12:49 am #

    Haha I’m glad I’m not the only one who practically dreams of my next meal. I know that sounds so crazy but it’s true!!! I’ve never done a juice fast, but I bet it is a nice little cleanse!

  3. katshealthcorner March 13, 2011 at 1:14 am #

    I don’t think I could go a whole day without my Peanut Butter! 😉 Your Smoothie looks delicious though! 😀

    xoxox
    Kathleen

  4. movesnmunchies March 13, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    yikes! i could never do that! props to you!!! the juices look great though!.. send me your address for our swap! unless you dnt wnt to do it.. just let me know 😀

  5. Alicia@ eco friendly homemaking March 13, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

    I have done juice fasts before and I think they are great. I don’t think I have ever had a green smoothie like that before. It looks awesome!!

  6. Christin@purplebirdblog March 13, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

    I don’t think I could do it!! Props to you, girlfriend. 🙂

  7. Rachel (tea and chocolate) March 13, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    I’m not sure I could do a juice fast. But kudos to you for sticking with it! It must take a lot of willpower.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My 7 Links « - August 11, 2011

    […] my first One-Day Liquid Green Fast. Juice fasting has become one of my greatest health tools. Although I have never went longer than a […]

Leave a Reply

