Spring Fever

18 Feb

When I got out of bed today I was extremely happy. I just felt really cheery and joyful! I heard the birds chirping away and I felt the morning sun peaking through my window, I could have sworn it was spring.

But no, it’s still February in Michigan and we were blessed to have sunshine and above freezing weather the last few days.

& It was awesome.

I am a strong believer in the ways seasons can affect a person’s mood. For as long as I can remember, my mood has always changed with the seasons. For example, my best season is early fall. I am always happy and I seem to  have so much energy that time of year. I eat better, I work out like a mad dog (for fun!), I am organized, and I just feel great. However, when late winter comes around, I am the complete opposite. I “give up”, I get stressed out, I feel under pressure, I don’t have any energy, and I just don’t feel like myself. Will I be like this forever? Probably. Is it really going to effect my life? Not so much. I guess I’m just used to it. I know I’m not the only one who gets these feelings. I’m not sure if it’s considered seasonal depression because I’m never really depressed… just different. Know what I mean? I hope this mini spring break helps me get back in my groove!

I was so in the mood to start a mini garden or go to the Farmer’s Market and buy fresh spring produce BUT, like I said… It’s still February!

And February did not stop me from making a delicious spring-time-wanna-be lunch:

Three slices of vegan cheese*, hummus, grape tomatoes, grilled onions, grilled asparagus and sprouts all wrapped up and grilled on a Flat Out wrap

*At first I was attempting to make a grilled cheese with veggies but, this hummus wrap idea really would not leave my head! So if you want to make this you don’t really need the cheese.

On the side:

A kiwi and a plum.

I’ve noticed that most of you bloggers eat your kiwi with the skin on. That’s awesome! I don’t know why I ever even cut the fuzzy skin off, it taste really good plus you save a lot more kiwi. Usually when I peel my kiwi I end up losing half the dang fruit just from trying to remove the skin! So don’t be afraid of the fuzzy! I will diffidently be eating more kiwi because of this. 🙂

Some interesting facts on KIWI:

  • Contains more vitamin C than an orange
  • High in fiber (eat the skin!)
  • One kiwi contains almost 10% of your daily potassium
  • Rich in minerals

I was loving this kiwi so much that I even packed some with my din-din at work:

This went very well with some homemade strawberry yogurt 🙂

Are you a kiwi skin-eater?

 

21 Responses to “Spring Fever”

  1. katshealthcorner February 18, 2011 at 11:42 pm #

    I’ve seen people eat the kiwi skins, but I think it is a little too fuzzy for me. 🙂 I love that kiwis have like 100% of your totaly value of Vitamin C in just one little fruit. 🙂

    • vegansunshine February 21, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

      That’s good because I love kiwi a lot more than I love oranges!

  2. Christin@purplebirdblog February 19, 2011 at 12:52 am #

    I am loving our spring weather here too! It’s glorious! 🙂

  3. Ma Ma Megan February 19, 2011 at 1:11 am #

    I tried to eat a kiwi with the skin on but it was too fuzzy.
    Maybe i’ll have to give it a second chance, but I don’t think it’s for me.

    I’m dying for spring to come!! 🙂

    • vegansunshine February 21, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

      You should try slicing them thinner then you don’t even notice the fuzz!

  4. movesnmunchies February 19, 2011 at 3:06 am #

    the seasons totally affect my mood too! in the winter i get so so down!! and YES i LOVE the skins on kiwi!!

  5. Ellie February 19, 2011 at 3:24 am #

    So interesting! I should assess my ‘weather-ness’. Actually, someone today said to me, “I believe it’s a wise thing to date/court someone through all the seasons and then get married” haha I thought that was pretty cool actually. 🙂 Mmmmm I have kiwis and I shall try the skin tomorrow! B/c honestly, I had NO idea you could do that! Thanks Whitney~ Man I luv your name so unique.

  6. Rachel (tea and chocolate) February 19, 2011 at 9:38 am #

    “Kiwi skin-eater” – somehow this sounds creepy to me, ha. But yes, I do eat kiwi skins. 🙂

    I’m the same as you when it comes to weather. I love early fall, but late winter makes feel stressed and tired. Spring could not come soon enough!

  7. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) February 19, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    I completely agree about the season affecting moods. I’m always a lot happier when it’s warm and sunny outside! 🙂

    I actually didn’t know you could eat the skins of kiwis! I’m definitely trying it!

  8. Allison @ Food For Healing February 19, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    im not sure if i could make myself eat the skin, such a weird fuzzy texture!

  9. Tara February 19, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    Hey, I just found your blog! I agree with you about the seasons. I have felt AMAZING the past few days since the sun decided to come out!

    I eat kiwis with the skin on. I love eating skins of fruits so whenever my mom makes apple pie she gives me all the skins to munch on.

  10. Psyckoprincess February 19, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    Oh my gosh! I LOVE kiwi! But in all my life I’ve never heard of anyone eating the SKINS?!?! I admit, I’m intimidated by the fuzzy. Isn’t it weird to eat? Oh… Ok, I’m gonna try to get some nerve up for the next time I buy some and eat the skin – Ack!! 🙂

  11. Sarah (Flavoropolis) February 19, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

    I’m definitely with you on the season mood thing. In the winter I just want to hole up and hibernate until summer. For me it’s definitely all about the length of the days; even living in Southern Cali where it’s been fairly warm and sunny all winter, I can’t wait for the days to get longer.
    Kiwi skin makes my mouth itch, mild allergy I guess, but it’s still way better than trying to peel the kiwi for sure.

  12. Olivia February 19, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    I seem to be the only blogger that hates kiwi skins!! The furr just bugs me SO much! 🙂 haha but my mood totally changes with the seasons too…so happy in the summer and a bit more grumpy in the winter:)

  13. Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots February 20, 2011 at 3:12 am #

    Mmm kiwi! I had some yesterday 🙂
    I’m totally with you, I love spring/summer/earlyfall but I get sort of blah in the winter :/ especially when I’m at home in Seattle and it’s kind of gray and dreary all year… Hence why I came to school in California 😉

  14. IHeartVegetables February 20, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

    Hahaha I think the kiwi skin is like my favorite part!!! Is that super weird/gross?? I love it!!

  15. runyogarepeat February 21, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

    I definitely eat the kiwi skin, it doesn’t bother me! Hummus + veggie wraps are seriously one of my favorite sandwiches, and you can add so many veggies to them.

  16. Mandi February 22, 2011 at 12:16 am #

    That wrap looks delicious! And I am so jealous of those kiwis- I love them but haven’t had them in forever. Although I’ve never eaten the skins before- I didn’t know you could! I’ll have to try it next time. 🙂

    • vegansunshine February 22, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

      I didn’t think you could either! But hey, why not? 🙂

Leave a Reply

