To Zumba or Not To Zumba…

12 Feb

I just want to say THANK YOU to all my readers who left me with some support on my last post. This problem has been going on for 6 months now and I really hope that they find out what it is quick! I never thought I’d be discussing my health problems pubicly publicly but you guys made me feel so much better and now I feel silly for keeping it in for so long! It’s common stuff to have those issues!

I’ve been feeling a little better though. I’ve been staying away from the gym and staying away from sitting on hard surfaces, that’s for sure. It’s a good time to catch up on some studying anyway. But who wants to talk about school right now when we can talk about….

SMOOTHIES!

I’ve been digging smoothie lately!!! Yes, in this freezing weather. I know, I’m strange.

I don’t usually post smoothie recipes on the blog because everyone can make a smoothie.

Butttt, I think I might start posting them because I’ve been coming up with some pretty crazy stuff!

Remember my Hempy Mango Smoothies? Yum.

That’s what I’m talking about! What’s your favorite smoothie combo? Mine is raspberries & strawberries with  a n y t h i n g .

& I STILL HAVEN’T TOLD YOU ABOUT MY POSSIBLY LIFE CHANGING DECISION!

I’m sure you are all wondering what the big new is that I wanted to share with you. Well you see, I’m strongly considering becoming a Zumba instructor! I know I’ve only done a handful of classes since I started back up again, but I love it. It not really the dancing that I love, it how much fun and addictive it is! Honestly, I’m always looking forward to my next class.

What’s going on in my head:

PROS:

  • Fun job
  • New & exciting work environment
  • Getting paid to work out
  • Stop working so much at my stupid job!
  • A foot in the door as any future aerobic classes and health club in general 😉

CONS:

  • Certification fee + ZIN monthly membership (from what I understand is going to be like $600 in just the first year, correct me if I’m wrong.)
  • Not a huge pay out and would probably still need my current job
  • Never have been a dancer in my entire life (BUT, like I said, my classes would be more of a fun workout rather then a hardcore dance routine)
  • Not extremely out-going (but I’m getting there too)
  • I do not have a lot of experience
  • 

As you can see, I’m T  O  R  N  !

The next time to get certified in March 13th, 4 hours away. (Hotel fee, gas fee, ect…)

Or I could stop being inpatient and hope that something comes around in the summer that is closer? I’m seriously leaning toward this!

What do you think?

16 Responses to “To Zumba or Not To Zumba…”

  1. movesnmunchies February 12, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

    YES YEs YES!! i can tell you are so passionate about it and i think you would be GREAT!!

  2. katshealthcorner February 12, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    Zumba sounds like fun! Yeah, that is a really long drive….

  3. Jess February 12, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

    I say GO FOR IT!! It’d be so cool 🙂

  4. Rachel (tea and chocolate) February 12, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    I’d say yes! It’d be worth it in the end,

  5. Olivia February 12, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

    Love the idea!! I say totally go for it; I’m GOING to be a yoga instructor in college…just wait and see:) Enjoy it!!

    • vegansunshine February 13, 2011 at 9:47 am #

      That sounds like fun! You should teach power yoga too, that’s fun.

  6. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) February 13, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    That would be a really cool job! You should do it – I think the pros out weigh the cons! 🙂
    And my favorite smoothie combo is:
    1/2 cup frozen shredded carrot
    1/2 cup frozen mango chunks
    1/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
    3 tablespoons almond butter
    1 cup almond milk
    YUM!!! 🙂

  7. Ayla February 13, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

    I think you should go for it! Anytime you find something that you love and are passionate about you should try your hardest to make it a regular part of your life. Plus, this is a new dream for you and you should always follow your dreams. 🙂

  8. Christin@purplebirdblog February 13, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    This life is too short for second guessing… just do it girl!! xo

  9. Amanda @ Hungry Vegan Traveler February 13, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

    DO IT! It would be awesome! And if you have to keep your regular job for a few months or the first year, that’s fine, too. You can make your Zumba business be what you want it to be with time and hard work.

  10. Kelsey @ Snacking Squirrel February 14, 2011 at 9:36 am #

    DO IT!! even with Yoga teaching i debated it..and yes it doesnt pay much but i can always go back to school in the Fall. but right now yoga rocks and like zumba..u can potentially make good money if u are able to get a lot of classes and build up ur clientelle. plus its a great skill to have when in the future u dont want to work as much or take a little break. and u can get a job anywhere in the world which is great for travelling!!

    xoxo

    • vegansunshine February 14, 2011 at 9:41 am #

      I know! That’s what I was thinking. I could get multiple jobs at different places. That’s a plus.

  11. Allison @ Food For Healing February 14, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    DO IT. seriously, i plan to one day, and the nearest one for me is in the next province like 8 hours away. but it will be worth it!

    • vegansunshine February 14, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

      Yikes 8 hours?! Too bad we can’t do it together that would be fun! 🙂

  12. Callie February 15, 2011 at 10:52 am #

    If you can keep your current job, I say go for it, ya know! Plus, a couple of the cons that you listed, I actually felt were more pros; for example, not being that outgoing. Well, I normally see that as a pro, if the experience is going to force you a bit out of your comfort zone 🙂 Personally, besides money (ha), I don’t think have anything to lose at all!! If your passionate about it, DO IT!!

Leave a Reply

