PB Oatmeal Cookies & …Fingernails?

4 Feb

Happy Friday, Bloggins!

Ok, so maybe we didn’t end up getting 16 inches of snow, more like half that. It was still fun being trapped indoors all day Wednesday. We all need days like that sometimes!

For breakfast today I had an all-time favorite…

Smoothie in a Bowl

Strawberry Banana Style!

This SIAB was topped with homemade granola and dried apple slices.

And sorry for the ugly photo, natural lighting was not happening this morning.

And as promised…

Chocolate PB oatmeal cookies

 1 cup brown sugar
    1 cup granulated sugar
    3/4 cup crunchy peanut butter ( Heres where the chocolate comes in: use 1/2 chocolate PB!)
    3/4 cup oil
    1/2 cup vanilla non-dairy milk
    1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
    2 cups all-purpose flour
    2 cups rolled oats
    2 teaspoons baking powder
    1/2 teaspoon sea salt

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly grease 2 cookie sheets. In a bowl, mix together brown sugar, granulated sugar, peanut butter, oil, vanilla nondairy milk, and extract.

2. In a separate bowl, mix together flour, oats, baking powder, and salt. Add the dry ingredients to the wet. Mix well.

3. Bake for 10-13 minutes
4. Allow to cool about 10 minutes to firm up before moving off cookie sheet. 

Optional: drizzle with melted chocolate.
Makes: 20 to 25 cookies, Preparation time: 5 to 10 minutes, Cooking time: 45 minutes

Now, for the protein cookies…

Because there’s nothing better than eating cookies after you work-out! Okay, maybe that’s not a good idea because of all that sugar….

Use the recipe above and add 1 and a half cups of chocolate protein powder and 3/4 extra cup of soy milk!

These taste like no-bakes when you leave then in the freezer, Yum! Also, these babies pack about 10 grams of protein per cookie.

And speaking of protein I have some fascinating (and kind of obvious) news to share:

You might recall me talking about how long my nail are because they grow like weeds! And you know what? It seemed like a lot of you have this problem. OK, so it’s not really a “problem” but whatever! 🙂

Anyway, I did some research.

What make nails and hair grow so fast?

  • Protein
  • 

  • A wide v a r i e t y (<– key word) of vitamins (from veggies!)
  • 

So HAH to every old person who thinks vegan do not get enough protein and vitamins! As I was researching, I came across lots of people who “knew somebody” that was a vegetarian and their doctors said that they aren’t getting enough protein and that’s why their nails and hair and weak and not growing as fast as they should. Which, ok… I guess maybe some vegetarians do not understand nutrition or how to listen to their bodies so maybe those people were right but, I am still standing by what works for my body and I do know that my nails never used to grow like this before I was vegan. CASE CLOSED. 😉

Do you think long fingernails are a “problem”?

I’m not sure how I feel on this one. I like showing them off but they are kind of annoying… then again I’m not really the girly-girly type!

8 Responses to “PB Oatmeal Cookies & …Fingernails?”

  1. movesnmunchies February 4, 2011 at 10:33 am #

    delicious cookie recipe!!! and my nails are long too!! they grow SO FAST !

  2. purplebirdblog February 4, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

    My nails grow super fast too, but I have to keep them trimmed really short for being a massage therapist! 😀

  3. Jess of Midwest Vegan February 4, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    I always have people comment on my “long, pretty nails”! I usually keep them kind of long, but I make sure they look all pretty and even. If I break one (unless it’s a thumbnail, cause like, pfft, who notices a thumbnail?), they all get trimmed to match. They also grow real fast. I trim them constantly! Go veggies!

  4. Jess February 4, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    I love dried fruit–and those apple slices look SUPER good!!

  5. katshealthcorner February 4, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    That recipe is AMAZING! Can’t wait to try it! 🙂

    No, I think long fingernails are very pretty. 🙂

  6. snackgirlgoeshealthy February 5, 2011 at 1:39 am #

    My fingernails grow pretty fast too! I always keep them cut tho!

  7. Kayla February 5, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    I love SIAB! My family thinks it’s weird that I eat a smoothie from a bowl and top it with granola…what do they know?! 🙂

  8. Ma Ma Megan February 5, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

    I love smoothies in a bowl with granola, they go so well together 🙂

    My nails grow fast! I’m always trimming them because I cant stand having long finger nails.
    So I’m with you on the protein thing. 😀

Leave a Reply

