New Year = New Goals

1 Jan

Welcome to 2011 everyone!

I loved reading your comments from my last post, I was cracking up!  The funny thing was that all of your personal fears are very similar to mine; car accidents, fire, open doors, ect. Thanks for reminding me of what I scardy cat I am guys, thanks a lot. 😛 

This new year marks my one-year anniversary of veganism (Jan. 4th to be exact…).
(I’m so excited! I have a lot more to share on this topic. I’ll probably do a post about it on Tuesday!)

Wow, so I finally followed a New Year’s Resolution? That’s great, I think this is the first time I did not give up!

Goals for 2011:

  • Drink more greens (I should do this daily!)
  • Try to not eat as much processed food (Chips, refined sugars, ingredients I cannot pronounce…)
  • Go to church regularly (Seriously, it’s one hour a week that I feel sooo good about)
  • Keep exercising regularly
  • Put education first (this semester is going to be crazy but don’t give up!)

Really what this all comes down to is… Learn How To Balance My Busy Schedule!

Easier said than done though right? Any tips on balancing a busy schedule?

My number one problem: Sometimes after a long day at work I like to relax. For a long time. Like maybe 3 hours on the couch. This needs to stop! I am going to have 8 hour school days and I know it’s not going to be fun. I need to keep balanced and busy to be my best.

How was your New Year’s Day?

Did you take part in any superstitious activities? I heard that lentil are supposed to bring you good fortune if you eat them on New Year’s Day.  I know I could use some good fortune so I made some lentil soup! How about some Lentil Soup with Lemon and Garlic?

 

What’s your New Year’s Resolution?

11 Responses to “New Year = New Goals”

  1. purplebirdblog January 1, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

    Happy new year!! Lentil soup with lemon and garlic sounds just lovely right about now!

  2. snackgirlgoeshealthy January 1, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

    I am actually trying Veganism!
    Can you tell me how it makes you feel at first?
    I am alwyas in need of protein. Besides beans and nut butters, where do you get your protein from!
    like as in quick protein like when I feel like grabbing a string cheese or a slice of turkey?

    • vegansunshine January 1, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

      First off, I’m so happy for you! I’ll do anything I can to help!

      A great source of quick energy is roasted soy nuts, I love them! In fact, I get a lot of my protein from soy. Some example of “good” soy products would include tofu(raw, baked, silken for desserts, fried…), soy nuts, and soy protein powder. I would try to stay away from the processed soy like tofurkey, soy cheese, soy dogs, etc.

      My local natural foods store sells baked tofu (I reviewed a few posts ago) that is fantastic. It has a great flavor and is loaded with protein and low in calories. Nuts however, are high in (mostly good) fat and calories so be careful not to over-due the nuts!

      There are a lot of different types of protein powder too like soy, rice, hemp, and even pea protein. I would suggest the most natural kind you can find that is affordable. More on that here: https://vegansunshine.wordpress.com/2010/11/07/protein-powder-power/

      I tend to make a lot of smoothies with protein powder as a quick fix!

      But besides access protein, most vegans with a well-rounded diet receive enough protein from different veggies. You should research where protein actually comes from naturally, its very interesting.
      http://www.getbig.com/articles/protein.htm

      And may I suggest some reading material for a vegan diet? 😛
      Skinny Bitch
      The kind Life
      Crazy Sexy Diet (new)
      The authors of these books are some intelligent ladies! I love them.

      You should also watch the movie Earthlings. There’s a link to your right —> —> —>

      Wow, hopes this helps! 😀

  3. Jess January 1, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    Awesome goals–you can do it 😀

  4. movesnmunchies January 2, 2011 at 2:16 am #

    oh i love that soup.. the best way I schedule everything is to make a big to-do and schedule for each day! i dont even have to write it down- i can keep it in my mind, but as long as I have an idea of times and everything, it works!

    • vegansunshine January 2, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

      Yes that really helps! I need to start doing that more. Thanks 🙂

  5. Kiki January 2, 2011 at 8:50 am #

    Happy new year and almost-bloggiversary! Your goals sound beneficial… and doable unlike some resolutions.

    That soup looks soooo good. It’s raining outside today, so I might just have to make it.

    • vegansunshine January 2, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

      You should it’s soo yummy, I could eat it everyday.

  6. Kelsey @ Clean Teen Kelsey January 3, 2011 at 3:23 am #

    I love your resolutions! Good luck with them all. I have some resolutions of my own that I’m looking forward to keeping.

  7. Jess from Midwest Vegan January 3, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

    Your goals for 2011 sound a lot like mine! I too, plan on continuing to exercise and go to church regularly. I also plan on trying my first green drink. Hopefully tomorrow. I just got some fresh spinach and I thinking it’s going to be a sort of spinach-blackberry-hemp seed-coconut butter smoothie. Or something. 🙂 I’m also going to plant my first garden this year and right now I’m thinking some melons and tomatoes. Anywho…

    Congrats on the one year veganniversary!

    • vegansunshine January 4, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

      I want to start a garden too! I’m so excited. We could teach each other 😛

      That smoothie sounds yummy!

Leave a Reply

