Tofu Spinach Lasagna

6 Dec

Happy Monday!

Well, it’s a happy Monday for me anyway because my last class was canceled so I got to leave super early today. This is the 3rd or 4th time this class has been called this semester, not accounting all of our days we don’t have class he gives us in advance, and I’m not complaining but lots of other people are. Some students get so mad that our class gets canceled and I can’t figure out why. It doesn’t really create more work for us but then again, I guess we are paying to go to those classes, right? Other students: what is your take on this? Do you get excited when class is cancelled? 

Sunday was an awesome day filled with awesome food.

First off, Scott and I made this awesome Tofu Spinach lasagna we found in The Vegan Table recipe book:

Like the rest of The Vegan Table recipes, this turned out wonderful. We added Daiya shreds to the dish and I’m so glad we did, amazing! I would type out the whole recipe for you to use but I just really think you should do yourself a favor and go out and buy The Vegan Table.

It took about 2 hours to make but we had fun doing it.

Meanwhile, we enjoyed drinking a new Silk flavor: Mint Chocolate

!!!REVIEW!!!

I love the new holiday Silk flavors! I bought a few of them so far. This flavor was nice, smooth, and chocolatly. Scott said he cannot imagine somebody noticing this was dairy-free,”it taste like drinking a chocolate mint!” I agree. This is a sweet treat served hot or cold, perfect for this crazy Michigan weather!

Would I buy it again? This and every other flavor!!!

With the leftover lasagna mixture (we purposely made extra) we made stuffed baby Portobellos:

I have been craving mushrooms lately so this was a perfect idea. Plus, mushrooms are always on sale! Scott says that he is glad people are so afraid of mushrooms, more for us! Are you afraid of mushrooms?

The finished product:

Leftovers anyone?

Psst: Don’t forget to turn in for the 100th post surprise either on Tuesday or Wednesday!
10 Responses to “Tofu Spinach Lasagna”

  1. Amanda @ Hungry Vegan Traveler December 6, 2010 at 11:31 am #

    I love mushrooms, but I know a lot of people who hate them.

  2. IHeartVegetables December 6, 2010 at 11:35 am #

    that looks so good! I really like tofu, but for some reason, I’m like, scared to actually cook with it. (I eat it at restaurants, I’ve just never prepared it myself!) This looks really good though, and simple enough that mayyyybe I could tackle it 😉

  3. purplebirdblog December 6, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    I am a huge mushroom fan! And I am hopefully going to make my first lasagna this week! 🙂

  4. movesnmunchies December 6, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

    this looks amazing! i love lasagna and i just discovered tofu..! yummy!

  5. Heather (Where's the Beach) December 6, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

    Lasagna looks fantastic. I haven’t made lasagna in a while. Love stuffed portobellos too.

  6. Nicole (Picky Nicky) December 6, 2010 at 4:53 pm #

    That lasagna looks amazing 😀 Oddly enough, I’m also afraid of mushrooms 😛 I just feel like theyre always dirty no matter how much I clean them, glad to know I’m not alone here!

  7. purplebirdblog December 7, 2010 at 5:01 pm #

    Psst… head’s up that you are one of the two winners of my PB&Co coupon contest! I’ll be blogging about it shortly. 😉

  8. Kayla December 8, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

    Yum, the spinach lasagna sounds really good! Maybe I’ll ask for the cookbook for Christmas?

    I’m taking 2 college classes right now and sometimes I get annoyed when my teacher lets us out really early. I have a class that’s supposed to go for two and a half hours and she always lets us out after just 1 hour, and it’s kind of annoying because I came all the way to class and we didn’t really do anything! Know what I mean? But I guess it’s not HORRIBLE getting out early!

Leave a Reply

