Me Gusta VEGANMOFO

22 Nov

So sad it will come to an end shortly ūüė¶

Remember when I said I don’t trust mexican restaurants and I probably will never go to another one in my life? Well, I lied. I decided to give a new Tex-Mex restaurant a shot and it couldn’t have turned out better.

What is this magical place you ask?

(Source)

Don Pablo’s had a great menu with¬†lots of options for everyone, even vegans. The waitress was extremely helpful with answering all of our questions from if the beans were vegetarian¬†to what the rice was cooked in. We were so grateful to have such¬†a knowledgeable waitress! She told us about all of the vegan options because she gets asked these questions a lot. She recommend the portobello¬†mushroom fajitas and I said no more:

This dish was amazing. It came with all sorts of toppings and side dishes and filled me right up quickly. No seriously, I was so full I wanted to throw-up. Not fun. Diffidently worth it though! I already want to eat my left-overs.

& Now for dessert:

Chocolate Mousse

 

You’ll need 16¬†ounces of SILKEN tofu,¬†8 ounces of chocolate chips, and¬†3 T of agave (Don’t have agave? Use maple syrup or just leave this out and the mousse wont be as sweet)

  1. Blend the tofu until smooth
  2. Melt the chocolate chips using a microwave or a double boiler
  3. Add the agave to the melted chocolate
  4. Pour the chocolate mixture into the tofu and blend until smooth
  5. Chill the mixture for at least 20 minutes
  6. Serve with your favorite fruit or eat by the spoonful

I’m thinking about taking this to Thanksgiving because it’s so tasty and this recipe serves quite a few. I could make cute little dessert dishes using the mousse and pretend like they’re not made out of tofu. Have you ever noticed that tofu seems to scare everyone? Poor ‘fu. I also plan on feeding some to my momma when she comes home from FL today. She hatesss tofu! Although I don’t think she has ever tried tofu.

Why do people “hate” things they don’t try?
7 Responses to “Me Gusta VEGANMOFO”

  1. Amanda @ Hungry Vegan Traveler November 22, 2010 at 11:38 pm #

    I genuinely love tofu, mostly because of its versatility. A lot of non-veg*ns seem to hate it without trying it, though. I’m not sure what’s so scary about it. It’s definitely less intimidating than anything with “mechanically separated chicken parts” listed as an ingredient.

    • vegansunshine November 23, 2010 at 10:09 am #

      Well said, thank you. People wonder why the smell of meat makes me gag! It’s flesh. Tofu is made from a cute little bean. Awww.

  2. Tangy November 23, 2010 at 8:13 am #

    I think as a society we have been conditioned to think that tofu is weird. And its name doesn’t exactly add to its appeal. I have never tried it or seen it before…but I eat meat. I’m getting more open with my food choices and I’d give it a shot now but but as an omnivore, why eat something that tastes inferior to meat? At least that’s what we all assume, hehe.

    I do have a long list of things I “hate” that I’ve never tried. Sushi, various cow parts (ie tongue, heart, liver, etc) most seafood, deep fried Snickers…but I can see your frustration. When I make something new that is also healthy–as in, all-natural and not full of processed garbage–like a green smoothie, my husband is always quick to say he doesn’t like it without even trying it first.

    • vegansunshine November 23, 2010 at 10:07 am #

      Green smoothies do look pretty gross, but they taste so sweet and fruity…if you want them to anyway. ūüôā

  3. Ayla November 24, 2010 at 8:57 pm #

    Ugh, I hate how people instantly get weirded out when they learn that something contains tofu! Give it a chance people, it’s amazing! Now I usually don’t tell people what’s in their food until after they’re done because I know that if I tell them what’s in it, their opinion will be swayed. Silly people.

  4. movesnmunchies November 27, 2010 at 4:53 pm #

    i made the tofu pudding today! its AMAZING i love it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Recreation « Vegansunshine's Blog - April 3, 2011

    […] was craving Don Pablo’s¬†mushroom/veggie fajita so I decided to make my […]

Leave a Reply

