VeganMoFo = Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s Adventure

11 Nov

Happppy VeganMoFo! November is the month of vegan food which means everyone must blog about their VeganMoFo as much as possible!

Monday was a wonderful day. I only had to go to one class! So what did I do with all of my spare time that afternoon?

If you guessed that I went to Whole Foods & Trader Joe’s and spent too much money you are correct!

Trader Joe’s The Goods:

Lets see…

I bought some tempeh because for some reason I stopped eating it. I guess I don’t really know how to cook it. I always burn it, kind of like tofu! How do you cook your tempeh? Any favorite tempeh recipes?

I also bought a huge bag of roasted soy nuts. I forgot how much I loved them and their high protein content 🙂

For lunch I bought some vegetable sushi and ate it in the car (It would be a bad idea if I went to Whole Foods hungary!)

This sushi roll was honestly one of the best I’ve ever had. Not that I doubt TJ, but I didn’t expect too much out of it. The roll was only $3.69 so I decided to get it a try. The nori was nice and soft and the rice was extra sticky; just how I like it. The roll had cooked tofu inside so it was nice and hearty for an early afternoon snack.

Whole Foods- The Goods:

Lots of Cheese! I have been craving pizza and baked mac n cheese, recipes soon to come!

I also got a huge salad from the salad bar which I have been eating with just about every meal. I have also been craving their vegan caesar dressing! It’s my favorite.

After my shopping adventure I was beat so I took a little nap and went for a nice two-mile nature walk as the sun was going down.

Lately for breakfast I have been mixing it up with some SIAB breakfast soup made with Coconut Kefier.

Kefier, cacao nibs, dried apple & sliced almonds

How are you celebrating VeganMoFo?

Stay tuned for how to make pumpkin seeds!
8 Responses to “VeganMoFo = Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s Adventure”

  1. Ayla November 11, 2010 at 11:15 am #

    So much vegan cheese! Have you tried any of it yet? Out of those brands I’ve only tried the Daiya but I love how melty it is. Have you ever tried Sheese? Or whatever the heck it’s called? I wasn’t a fan of that one.. at all.

    • vegansunshine November 11, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

      I’ve tried the rice vegan slices, they were okay. I don’t think any cheese compares to Daiya! I still have not tried Sheese yet though.

  2. lizlivingvegan November 11, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    Dude I ALWAYS spend too much $$ at Whole Foods and TJs!

    My fav way to make Tempeh is like super ridiculously easy… I like to just slice it, cover it in BBQ sauce and bake it. So easy, so tasty.

    • vegansunshine November 11, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

      That sounds simple enough for me! I don’t think I could burn it that way!

  3. cadryskitchen November 11, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    It’s so easy to spend too much at Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s. Too much temptation! My favorite ways of enjoying tempeh are by making the hot sauce glazed tempeh in Veganomicon or BLT’s with tempeh bacon from Vegan Table. You can check out the recipe on my blog: http://cadryskitchen.com/category/recipes-from-my-kitchen/satisfying-split-pea-soup/

  4. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan November 11, 2010 at 10:26 pm #

    I’m a fan of tempeh bolognese 🙂

  5. Rachel (tea and chocolate) November 12, 2010 at 9:09 am #

    Sounds like a fun afternoon! It’s way too easy to buy way a lot of food at Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods.

    I like crumbling tempeh into tomato sauce. If you’re going to make pizza, you can saute the tempeh with some oil and spices and use it as a topping. I actually eat tempeh raw a lot too.

    • vegansunshine November 12, 2010 at 9:27 am #

      Mm I’m gunna do that next time I make pizza…

Leave a Reply

