Happy Halloween…

31 Oct

Or should I say un-happy Halloween?

As my first vegan Halloween I will not be trick-or-treaking this year and maybe because I’m 19 now and I’m happy about that. Trick or treating really discuss me when you think about it. Did anyone forget that childhood obesity is an epidemic in our nation? So let’s let them go out and get pounds and pounds of processed sugar filled treats to contribute to this epidemic!

According to the National Confectioners Association each Halloween $2 billion dollars are spent on candy and nearly 93% of children in the United States go trick-or-treating, thus fueling the fires of the childhood obesity epidemic that is currently an unfortunate and grave reality.

 Some parents have fun things the do instead of letting their children go into a diabetic coma like trading in their candy for cash. Better yet, some dentist offices even let the local children bring in their candy and gave them $1-$5 in cash per pound. A lot cities even have Halloween day runs for kids to whip them into shape before hand. What a great idea. Yes, btw I am going to be one of those houses that give out raisins or water bottles!

I hope everyone had a great night

5 Responses to “Happy Halloween…”

  1. lizlivingvegan November 1, 2010 at 3:08 pm #

    This was my first vegan halloween too! It was kind of sad not being able to eat little chocolate bars, but I think my body was happy about that 😉

    • vegansunshine November 1, 2010 at 6:35 pm #

      Mine too! I made up for it by eating chocolate covered pretzels, yum!

  2. Ayla November 2, 2010 at 10:19 pm #

    I’ve always loved Halloween but you’re right, it’s probably not the greatest idea considering how many overweight/obese people there now are. I still love the idea of dressing up and going door-to-door but healthier alternatives would definitely be a better option. Maybe healthier treats? I saw some healthy kiddie options at Whole Foods and think it would be great if they came out with more!

    • vegansunshine November 2, 2010 at 10:29 pm #

      Aww gotta love Whole Foods!

      It’s not like I’m against Halloween I am just worried when things like this get to be too much!

      Dressing up is pretty fun too, I dressed up as a hippie for work 🙂

  3. allieksmith November 3, 2010 at 6:56 pm #

    Vegan Halloween sounds tough! I miss dressing up too LOL

Leave a Reply

