Broke as a Joke

30 Oct
Long time no post, huh? It seems like with all of this free-time off work I would be posting everyday! I usually go on here and then get caught up in everybody else’s blogs that I no longer have the time to post on my own blog! How funny.

Food and random event recap:

Wednesday’s Lunch:

My lovely boyfriend made me the best sweet and sour tofu!

Thursday’s Breakfast:

Raspberry almond oats sprinkled with dark chocolate

Then I made… Trail Mix!!!

&Holycraplookatthisapple:

It’s huge! All the honey crisp apples with this big! Yes, this is apparently organic.

Yesterday, I went to Border’s…TWICE.

I went during my break at school with no money. I saw this workout journal I really wanted so I went back later with my friend to get it.

This journal is so cool. I hope that it will motivate me to work out more plus, it’s fun keeping track of things; that’s like my #1 hobby. Do you have anything you like to keep a journal of?

Broke as a joke:

Lately I have been doing a lot of bargain grocery shopping because well…. I’m freakin broke. My hours got cut at work (by like… an entire week) but I don’t feel like focusing on that right now. The point is, vegan food can be cheap. I’m sure you remember the whole $21 challenge, right? I’m not going that extreme this time but I need to start budgeting my food somehow. What better way to do it then to search for coupons? Seriously, google coupons for *enter your favorite vegan brand here* and see what comes up. Or even better, go to their website and they usually will have a coupon somewhere on the site. So forget giving up veggie burgers or vegan ice-cream for good (Or if not it’s usually a lot cheaper when you make your own veggies burgers, just sayin’…)

Ex: My new favorite; Gardein.

Gardein’s site offers a $1 dollar off coupon that you can print off twice then take that shit to Kroger.
originally $4.99 a bag, on sale at Kroger for $3.99, Kroger doubles coupons up to $1… one bag of crispy tenders for .99 cents!

 

What do you do to save money on groceries?

6 Responses to “Broke as a Joke”

  1. allieksmith October 30, 2010 at 10:08 am #

    Mmmm sweet and sour tofu sounds AMAZING. What a nice boyfriend you have 🙂
    I also like your idea of putting trail mix in a jar-smart!

    • vegansunshine October 30, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

      The jar was a pasta sauce jar a few days ago 🙂

  2. amanda @ Hungry Vegan Traveler October 30, 2010 at 10:23 am #

    I didn’t know ANY store did double coupons anymore! I’ve never lived within the vicinity of a Kroger, though. Shucks!

    I’ve been eating on a very tight budget for pretty much all year. I make a lot of things with beans and rice.

    • vegansunshine October 30, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

      You should ask the stores near you if they double! I think VG’s does too if you have one of those.

      I love beans and rice!

  3. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan November 1, 2010 at 7:37 pm #

    Your bf made you sweet & sour tofu?! AW! Hold onto that one! 🙂

  4. sarahnotsoplainandtall November 5, 2010 at 11:57 pm #

    I totally know how you feel about not keeping up with your blog! When ever I have free time I find myself thinking about writing something….but then I get caught up in reading everyone else’s postings!! So much interesting stuff to read and see!!
    If you get a free second i’d love for you to check out my site!

Leave a Reply

