Fakin’…bacon?

8 Oct

So guess who got sick?

Yup, it was me, I’m not sure if I was really sick, but for the last two days I felt like I had a mini cold! I ate a ton of oranges and drank lots of water and I believe I may have cured myself. 🙂

So what’s new in the blogging world?

Tofu Scramble takes a trip to mexico:

I never thought to add black beans in my ‘fu scramble but this was delish.

What was not-so-good was the fake bacon on the side. I finally decided to try this stuff and it’s nasty! It was so gross that I threw the box away and I don’t even remember what brand it was! Honestly, the “bacon” was rubbery and tasted like poo. I normally don’t mind the texture of any food but this was bad. Have you ever tried fake “bacon”?

More Recent Eats:

My boyfriend must love me or something…

Because he made me stuffed peppers! Good thing because after Kelsey’s recipe I have been craving them! What a perfect time of year to eat delicious stuffed peppers. Yellow’s my favorite pepper, what’s yours?

For my “breakfast after breakfast” today I had this wonderful nutty ‘naner:

Banana smothered in almond butter, topped with coconut flakes

& NEW LARABARS?!?

Count me in.

This tasted just like chocolate espresso cake minus all the unnecessary sugar! The bar was very rich so I would probably consider it more of a dessert rather than an “energy bar”.  I like my snacks to fill me up and contain a good amount of protein and unfortunately this only had 4 grams.

I would buy more of the new larabars to have around for a quick chocolate fix but that’s about it. Have you tried the new larabar flavors? What do you think of them?

     Tonight I think I’m gunna get a head start on my next essay thats due in a few weeks and go get my fitness on! Hmm, is it a cardio and arms day? 😛

6 Responses to “Fakin’…bacon?”

  1. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan October 8, 2010 at 6:59 pm #

    Would you believe I’ve still never tried a single Larabar?! =X

    • vegansunshine October 9, 2010 at 10:24 am #

      Aww, it’s okay. 🙂

      They’re over-priced anyway!

  2. Kiki October 9, 2010 at 8:33 am #

    Blehhh I hate store-bought fake bacon. Tempeh bacon is good though, maybe because it doesn’t actually taste like bacon haha.

    • vegansunshine October 9, 2010 at 10:23 am #

      I’ve never made tempeh bacon yet but I do have a recipe! Even before I was vegetarian I didn’t really like bacon, it just tasted like crunchy grease!

  3. highonhealthy October 9, 2010 at 9:06 pm #

    I haven’t tried the new larabar flavors but that’s only because my grocery store only gets the same 2 flavors in. It looks good though!

    I’ve never made the fake bacon before but I don’t think I ever will. It doesn’t look too appetizing.

    • vegansunshine October 11, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

      Two flavors? That sucks 😦

      I could only find the new larabar’s at Whole Foods which is an hour away…

Leave a Reply

