Apple Picking, Attempt 3

5 Oct

Success!!!

Finally an orchard that actually allows apple-picking. With acres and acres of fresh apples, what’s a vegan gunna do? Pick the hell outta them! I was so excited to pick apples I could not control myself…

Did I just pick one apple?

Not a chance…

A fair amount of apples?

Not hardly…

17 pounds of apples?

You guessed it! 17 mu fckin’ pounds of apples.

Ida red, jonathan, red delicious, I was in heaven. So what to do with 17 pounds of apples?

I could start out by making baked cinnamon apple oatmeal.

  • 1 1/2 cups oatmeal (instant works fine)
  • 1 3/4 cups almond milk
  • 3 apples of your choice, diced
  • 1/2 cup dried fruit (I used dates)
  • 2 tbs cinnamon

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl. Preheat over to 340 degrees. Spray a medium casserole dish and pour in mixture. Cook for 45 minutes.

& Bam!…that’s it. Baked Oats:

Lately I have been hearing a lot about Sweet n Sara’s smore’s and I really wanted to try them. Finally I came across a store that sells them!

You’ll have to excuse the poor quality cell phone photo but this little guy was so tasty I had to eat him ASAP!

This would have been 10x better in the oven, yum! It still taste great though. It was very creamy and crunchy. However, at $4 a smore, this may have to just be a special treat on occasion.

My nose is all stuffy so I may be coming down with a cold. Nooo! Usually I can feel when I am getting sick the day before (isn’t it great to be in touch with your body that you can just feel these things come on?) and I don’t really feel like that kind of sick. I have a ton of energy and a regular body temperature but we’ll see what happens. I guess I should stay home from the gym today because nobody probably wants to see me blowing my nose every 5 second while I’m using the gym equipment, gross! Hopefully I can make it to yoga!

3 Responses to “Apple Picking, Attempt 3”

  1. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan October 5, 2010 at 4:35 pm #

    17 pounds?! Damn, girl! Bet you got a workout just from lugging those around! 😛

    • vegansunshine October 6, 2010 at 9:51 pm #

      I sure did! I had to take a break and drop half the bag in the car; it was so heavy!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Gettin’ BAKED up in here! « Vegansunshine's Blog - March 24, 2011

    […] that time I had 17 pounds of apples and made this awesome cinnamon apple baked oatmeal? Well, I was going to make that same recipe but then I got a little […]

Leave a Reply

