Z is for ZUMBA

1 Oct

So I think I’ve left you in suspense long enough. 😀

! I tried Zumba for the first time !

How was it? Not good at all. The class I joined was extremely fast-paced and everybody had the routine down and I could not get into it! It was hard! First of all, I’m not coordinated. My feet were going one way, my arms were going another… it was a mess. But hey, it was my first time and I’m sure people could tell because I was trying so hard to catch up. There were point when I was actually facing the wrong way too! I’m pretty proud of myself for staying the whole hour though.

Will I try it again? Probably not unless it was a beginners class. I’m sure it burns a lot of calories, but the moves we were doing were really awkward for me. It was like we were jumping around and shaking our butts. What benefits from that anyway? All it did for me was get my feet all sweaty which caused major blisters. SO not only am I sore from my two classes on Tuesday, now I have blisters on my feet! Come on.

Eating Clean?

I finally bought the Eat-Clean Diet Cookbook because I hear so many good things about it. I feel weird buying recipe books with tons of meat dishes; it just doesn’t feel right. Although the book has some vegan recipes, it almost felt like a waste of money. Good thing I had a coupon! 😛

In fact, I don’t even agree with most of the stuff she says. She suggests using low-fat or fat-free dairy. Didn’t we already  come to the conclusion that the “fat-free” diet is making America fat??? And she talks about how wonderful egg whites are… give me a break! We all know that eggs are horrible for your health and are extremely dangerous to your health as well! Can somebody remind me why I bought this book again? 😉

Japan

Another book I bought is called, “Japanese Women Don’t Get Old or Fat”. The Author of this book was on the Dr. Oz show Wednesday. It sounded pretty interesting. The book compares the western diet to the japanese diet and tells why the japanese diet has so many benefits.

After watching Dr. Oz I wanted some Miso soup! So I made some yesterday…

I like Miso once in a while, I couldn’t eat it multiple times a day like the Japanese though!

For mine I used:

  • Water
  • White miso
  • Tofu
  • Green onion
  • Carrots
  • Yellow onion
  • Nori

There are millions of different ways to make miso but this was my first time so I kept it simple.

So what to do today…

Today I plan on spending my day off finishing up some homework and enjoying the beautiful weather outside. If I’m feeling real adventurous I might finally finish my “Eating Animals” book! It’s been awhile.

Ohh, and you can’t forget eating cinnamon apple oatmeal…

Have a wonderful first day of October!!!

How will you spend yours?

6 Responses to “Z is for ZUMBA”

  1. spoonfulofsugarfree October 1, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

    Hey! Too bad you had a bad experience with zumba 😦 I’ve never tried it before, but I thought it looked fun…but maybe it isn’t…

    Quick question: Why do you think eggs are bad for you?

    • vegansunshine October 1, 2010 at 5:58 pm #

      Well, I’m not sure why anybody would want to eat eggs after they have been recalled so many times. I get grossed out working around eggs at my job because it’s not uncommon to brake one open and find it full of blood!

  2. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan October 1, 2010 at 9:49 pm #

    I tried Zumba once and I felt the SAME way! Totally out of my element! There was virtually no instruction whatsoever, they just turned on the music and off they went. I don’t think it’s my cup of tea. =/

    • vegansunshine October 2, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

      Hahaha, I guess Zumba is not for everyone…

  3. highonhealthy October 2, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

    Haha.. I think you’re the first person I’ve seen that hasn’t liked Zumba. I still have to try it but I have a feeling my first class will end up being a lot like yours.

    I spent my first day of October working. All day. BUT, I did have a pretty good workout in the morning so that kicked things off nicely. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Trying New Things « Vegansunshine's Blog - January 26, 2011

    […] remember how I hated Zumba because it was so awful and confusing? Guess what? My favorite instructor at my gym is now […]

Leave a Reply

