The Human Population Crisis

25 Aug

hello everyone :)

I want to bring up an issue. As a vegan I guess I would consider myself an environmentalist. Now, I am not as extreme as some people when it comes to recycling and saving energy but I do try. It does really hurt me inside when I see people take one drink out of a plastic water bottle and throw it away, when people leave the lights on for no reason, or even when people like to just “drive around” like the oil supply will be around forever. Another issue that really bothers me is the growing human population. Humans literally are taking over the world by population. 

Each human on this planet is using more plastic, eating more animals, drinking more water, using more paper…ect. I strongly believe that if everyone would just chill out on having children for a minute (not to mention you can always adopt and save a child’s life), a lot of our environmental issue could be solved. Sometimes these feelings get in the way of relationships and everyday life. Sometimes I’m not really sure how to handle some situations. Do I want children someday? Of course I do. Do I think twice sometimes due to my environmental concerns? diffidently, not going to lie. Maybe sometimes it is ok to be a little selfish. Sometimes maybe I should put myself and other people I care about before saving the world.

  1. Make myself happy

  2. Make other people happy

  3. Save the world

Yup, that’s my new motto. Does anybody else ever feel like this? Like you really want to do other things but it kind of goes against what you believe in? Please share with me so I don’t feel so alone!

On to other news, Nori burritos’ are a hit. Well, at least I think so.

Edamame, avocado, carrots, cucumbers and rice all wrapped up in a toasted nori “shell”. Alicia Sliverstone puts crazy things like apples and plums in her’s! I might try that next time.

I went to the gym today for the first time since thursday…opps! That’s okay, I worked everything today pretty good so I’ll be prepared to get my butt kicked at power yoga tomorrow night. I had my new favorite post work-out snack:

Hempy Mango Crunch (minus the crunch today!)

I will be out-of-town for the next few days but I will be sure to post when I return! :) I’ll be on the other side of the state near Lake Michigan so expect lots of beautiful photos and new food reviews when I get back!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

