Egg Salad (minus the periods!)

24 Aug

…Chicken periods that is!

My 19th birthday is in one week…

I know what I want. I want a pig. A pig sponsored by me from SASHA farm.

Yes, it is an odd birthday wish but not from an animal advocate. I love farm animals (obviously?) and I love what farm animal sanctuaries such as SASHA is doing for animals like these. Why SASHA? Because that is the only farm sanctuary I am aware of in Michigan (and I feel for them in Michigan’s hard economic times right now!) These places are like animal shelters, they take in farm animals for whatever reason. Usually the animals are found dead from the cruel world of factory farms and are given a second chance and are places in these shelters.

It was hard to choose what animal I wanted (and my parents could afford for my bday) but I think the pot belly pigs look like a winner to me. Pigs are so cute and they are very intelligent, second to the primate family if I’m not mistaken.

Now how can you eat something that adorable???

I don’t think that anybody is really going to get this for me. But if I do get this much birthday money I’ll buy the pig my damn self. :0

So about that “Egg” Salad I made yesterday…

Here is how to make a weeks worth of “egg” salad (you can share too and still have plenty!)

  • 28 ounces of firm tofu
  • 1 large yellow onion, diced
  • 3 celery stalks, diced
  • 3 tbsp shoyu (or soy sauce)
  • 1 tbsp safflower oil
  • 2 tsp turmeric (for the eggy color)
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1-2 tbsp Vegenaise

Mash the ‘fu in a large bowl until chunky. Add the rest of the ingredients and refrigerate until ready to use. (Modified recipe from The Kind Diet) Serve this on some tasty bread and call it lunch….for the next week:

One Response to “Egg Salad (minus the periods!)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. West Side Story « Vegansunshine's Blog - August 30, 2010

    […] latest posts and sorting though some photo’s. I have no idea what I am going to do for my birthday tomorrow. I still need to make a […]

Leave a Reply

