Lentil soup with lemon and garlic

21 Aug

This is fantastic. Honestly this soup is not only the best I have ever made but also the best soup I have ever ate!

Scott and I got the recipe from this book I found at Borders for $6 called, “The Ultimate Book of Vegan Cooking”

We made some adjustments and it turned out so wonderful. You should really try it!

Lentil soup with lemon and garlic:

Serves 4

  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 celery sticks, chopped
  • 2 carrots, sliced
  • 4 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1 potato, peeled and diced
  • 2 cups red lentils, picked over and rinsed
  • 4 cups vegetable stock
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 lemons, halved
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • Tabasco sauce to taste
  • ground black pepper to taste
  • Sea salt to taste
  1. Heat the oil in a large pan. Add the onion and cook for 5 – 10 minutes. Stir in the celery, carrots, half the garlic and all the potato. Cook for a few minutes until beginning to soften.

  2. Add the lentils and stock to the pan and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat, cover and simmer for 30 minutes.

  3. Add the bay leaves, remaining garlic and half the lemons to the pan and cook the soup for a further 10 minutes, until lentils and vegetables are tender. Remove the bay leaves. Squeeze the juice from the remaining lemons, then stir into the soup, to taste.

  4. The recipe says to pour soup into a food processor or a blender and process. Scott and I thought it was mushy enough so we did not process the soup.

  5. Season to taste.

  6. Enjoy the best soup you’ve ever had.

Sorry no photo on this one! I did not have my camera with me 😦

2 Responses to “Lentil soup with lemon and garlic”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. New Year = New Goals « Vegansunshine's Blog - January 1, 2011

    […] Did you take part in any superstitious activities? I heard that lentil are supposed to bring you good fortune if you eat them on New Year’s Day.  I know I could use some good fortune so I made some lentil soup! How about some Lentil Soup with Lemon and Garlic? […]

  2. Winter Warm Foods « Vegansunshine's Blog - January 2, 2011

    […] That’s ok though, I’ve been keeping warm with my lentil soup […]

Leave a Reply

