Money Talks

13 Aug

TGIF

(Not really because I hate Saturdays…)

Today felt good. I got all my college stuff straightened around (kind of) and  I am taking one class this semester because that’s all I can afford right now. People ask me why I don’t get student loans. The answer to that question is because I don’t want to be in debt, I’m 18. I know it sounds stupid and it’s really not in “debt” I just have a little problem with spending money I don’t have. Is that too hard to understand? Excuse me for being responible!

Speaking of money, I stumbled upon a blog the other day that gave me an idea. This blogger is doing a $21 a week challenge. You can only spend $21 a week on food at the most. That’s $3 a day or $1 a meal! I’ve been wanting to do something like this but I have been pushing it off. I think it’s a neat idea because some people say to me, “I couldn’t be vegan it’s too expensive…” or “You must have to spend a lot of money on food…” This is not true! I certainly don’t have to spend as much as I do on food (which isn’t a whole lot) because a vegan diet can be ridiculously cheap. Sometimes I talk myself into buying unnessesary food items and I say to myself, “Hey, I can spend money on nice food because I’m not one of those girls who buys $1000 purses!”

Lets compare steak and tofu. Steak per pound:  around $10 Tofu per pound: less than $3. 

Dairy and meat are luxuries

I will start the challenge Sunday (pay day!) and I will try it out for about 5 weeks or so. This should be interesting because late summer is my favorite food season because of all the produce but on the other hand will this make it easier because my favorite produce will be in-season and cheap? We will have to wait to see what the future holds. Good thing I did my major grociery shopping last tuesday!

Some meals I plan on making:

Breakfast:

  • Oatmeal with either fresh fruit, dried fruit, PB, nuts or the conbination of them all.
  • Cereal with the Greastest Granola
  • Yogurt with granola
  • Smoothies (frozen fruit!)

Lunch

  • Pastapasta&morepasta
  • PB&J’s
  • Hummus wraps

Dinner

  • Loads of ideas

I still do plan on making sushi sometime, maybe Sunday night? Good thing I already bought Nori (wait is that cheating…?) and rice.

Now, whose up for some bean and rice burrito’s???

2 Responses to “Money Talks”

  1. Jesse August 18, 2010 at 4:32 pm #

    I hear ya. School is such a catch-22. You can work hard and get scholarships but if you don’t take a minimum number of credit hours (which the scholarships will never cover) then they’ll take them all away and you’re once again paying for everything out-of-pocket even though you worked hard to earn them. College is a hassle, but you’re being smart. You have all the time in the world to get a degree so why not go slow and get it all paid for as you go? 🙂

    In other news, I’m trying to use this challenge as a way to use up all the loose stuff in my pantry. I have a lot of bulgur and rice and nuts and stuff, so I’m gonna start mixing things up a little and get creative. It’s time to start putting all my cookbooks to work!

  2. vegansunshine August 19, 2010 at 1:20 am #

    College has been the biggest pain in my ass and I haven’t even started yet! But your right, what’s the rush anyway? I have all the time in the world. 🙂

    After this week that’s what I am going to do. I could probably live off pasta for a month at this point because I have so many different types of noodles and other handy staples. Honestly my $21 will probably all go toward fresh produce!

    Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

Leave a Reply

