Greatest Granola & Hempy Mango Crunch

12 Aug

 I’m over that little break down I had this morning. I am going to the college tomorrow morning to straighten everything out. I did make good use out of all that negative energy though and turned it into this:

Vegan Sunshine’s Greatest Granola:

This recipe is very flexible. I do not add nuts or dried fruit because I like making a big batch then spicing it up with whatever I like later on.

  • 2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup wheat germ
  • 1/3 cup coconut flakes
  • 1/4 cup ground flax meal
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 cup agave nectar (or maple syrup or even a combo of them both)
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon pure vanilla

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees F.
  2. In a large bowl combine oats, wheat germ, coconut flakes, flax, and salt. Mix well.
  3. In a small sauce pan, heat agave, oil, water, cinnamon, and vanilla until it starts to boil. Remove from heat and add to oat mixture. Mix well.
  4. Place mixture in a 9″ x 13″ pan.
  5. Bake for one hour and stir every 15 minutes.
  6. Remove from oven and let cool.

For me this makes about a weeks worth of granola if you use it as cereal every morning like I do (and recommend!) if not, it keeps for weeks anyway if stored in an air tight container.

Once I finally got around to the gym today (umm 3pm?…) I made another wonderful post workout snack. You better believe I used my Greatest Granola in this!

Hempy Mango Crunch:

  • 1/2 cup vanilla soy yogurt

  • 1 cup frozen mangoes

  • 2 tablespoons hemp protein powder

  • 1/3 cup almond milk

Blend until smooth. Layer the smoothie with Vegan Sunshine’s Greatest Granola and you have yourself a winner.

See? Even Maggie-bear loves it.

After I got home from a long day of work last night I practically drove right into one of these:

Two Boca” Chicken” patties between an everything bagel. Man, was I stravin’! Was this the least healthiest thing I could choose to eat at 9pm? Perhaps. It was so late but I forgot to bring a lunch with me and I sure didn’t feel like buying anything to eat. Have you ever had a job working around food that it grosses you out so much you eat there as little as possible? That’s where I am now. In need of a new job!

I did not attend power yoga this evening. Why? Because I didn’t feel like it. (Hint: my taking it easy post) Instead I went on the treadmill and walked to the last half hour of The Doctor’s and worked my arms. It was wayy too hot out for a nature walk!

Wow two posts in one day? You can tell this must be my day off.

Tomorrow is a new day.

3 Responses to “Greatest Granola & Hempy Mango Crunch”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Money Talks « Vegansunshine's Blog - August 13, 2010

    […] Cereal with the Greastest Granola […]

  2. The Human Population Crisis « Vegansunshine's Blog - August 25, 2010

    […] Hempy Mango Crunch (minus the crunch today!) […]

  3. To Zumba or Not To Zumba… « Vegansunshine's Blog - February 12, 2011

    […] my Hempy Mango Smoothies? […]

Leave a Reply

