Books, Bistro’s and Blueberry Bars.

24 Jul

Good morning bloggers.

Power yoga sure did make me sore, I really needed it though. The class was really small for some reason so I got to get some one on one help from the instructor which is always nice ūüôā

When I checked my e-mail yesterday morning I found a Border’s rewards 40% off any one item coupon in my inbox so you know I had to head over there and get me a book! …or two. I wanted all of these by I only ended up getting two.

Sorry cupcake book, you were no match for Jonathan Safran Foer.

I was very pleased to see this display in Border’s:

A vegan section!

¬†This made me smile. After Border’s Scott and I went out to grab some lunch. We can always both agree on Sushi.

Sushi is my new favorite. Especially¬†if it’s from Fuji, a new Japanese restaurant in Flint. They have over 150 different items on their menu and five of them are vegan sushi! They also have a lot of vegan appetizers too like vegetable tempura (veganize this by dipping the veggies in soy sauce, NOT the tempura sauce, it has fish in it) my other favorite!

The food was pretty reasonably priced too! I ordered the Sweet Potato Roll and the Vegetable Roll (seaweed, cucumber and avocado) both were very good but I liked the Sweet Potato Roll a little more just because it was different.

I diffidently will be visiting this place a lot more in the future.

So about my Blueberry Bars

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups white sugar

1 tsp baking powder

3 cups flour

1 cup shortening

1 egg replacer for 1 egg

1/4 tsp salt

1 pinch cinnamon

4 cups blueberries

3 tsp cornstarch

  1. Preheat over to 375 degrees F
  2. Grease a 9×13 pan, or something similar
  3. In a medium bowl, stir together 1 cup sugar, 3 cups flour and baking powder. Mix in Salt and Cinnamon. Blend in the shortening and egg replacer. Pat half of dough into pan.
  4. In another bowl, stir together remaining sugar and cornstarch. Mix in the blueberries.
  5. Spread the blueberry mixture on top of the crust and sprinkle remaining crust over the blueberry mixture.
  6. Bake for 45 minutes or until top is slightly brown.
  7. Share with non-vegan family members to show them how wonderful vegan desserts are.

Smoothie Pops

This is an easy one.

  1. Blend together your favorite smoothie combo using soy yogurt. I like using all my frozen fruit I have available.
  2. Pour smoothie into popsicle molds.
  3. Freeze over night

Eight days until my big vegan open house!

 

One Response to “Books, Bistro’s and Blueberry Bars.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Feature Friday: Blueberries! « - July 15, 2011

    […] these awesome blueberry bars for […]

Leave a Reply

