Terrrrific Tuesday

11 May

Rain, rain go AWAY

I cannot believe it is mid-May and it’s still below 50 degrees! Stupid Michigan weather.

Due to this heavy rain I am currently skipping school. Now, I don’t do this often, but you would have skipped school too if you had to walk almost a half mile to the school from your car. Yeah. It was that bad. My shoes were soaked, my jacket was drenched, and my blue  jeans turned about 100 shades darker. I was wet, freezing, and cranky. When I got into the school I try to use the hand dryers to dry off, that helped a little. I ended up throwing my socks away because they were so wet (they had a hole in them anyway) and going sockless European for my next hour. After that hour was over, I decided to go to lunch then go home.

I’m really glad I went to my third hour today though because I had a great vegan conversation with this girl who sits next to me. She saw that I had a vegan book and asked me what it was. I handed it to her and she began politely asking me a bunch of vegan questions. She kept saying, “Wow! That’s cool!….How cool!” I gave her lots of information because she said she wants to try going vegan. Score! It’s really nice to have somebody think you are actually “cool” for being vegan. I’m used to the “why would you do that to yourself” type responses.

So like I said, I went to lunch only because I had an extra-sweet lunch today:

Veggie sushi, edamame, and salad with Annie’s Natural Goddess salad dressing.

Has anyone tried Annie’s Natural Goddess? I’m not sure if I like it. I just bought it yesterday but I don’t want to waste it.

Once again at lunch this girl kept saying, “Oh my Goddd thats gross!” “I could not eat like that!” “You must be the healthiest person ever…”

It makes it a little hard to eat when someone is gagging over your food and talking about how gross it is. It’s vegetables. It’s not that weird. What’s weird is this girl doesn’t even EAT lunch. All she does is talk about how gross everybody’s food is.

I am extremely happy with my vegan-life and I would not change a thing about it. I feel very pleased with knowing what goes into my body. I love eating new exciting foods rather than eating a hot dog day after day. And what is in a hot dog or that glass of milk anyway? Exactly. Most importantly, I am confident that I am saving 100 non-human lives annually and boycotting animal cruelty. With every meatless bite, I am voting to use grain and water to stop world hunger.

Any questions?

 

I’m not sure where that came from. It probably has something to do with society.

2 Responses to “Terrrrific Tuesday”

  1. conradvisionquest May 11, 2010 at 7:32 pm #

    that lunch looks awesome! do you have a recipe for the veggie sushi?
    i can’t believe the girl who kept saying your lunch was gross! if people thought about what a hot dog is or a hamburger is, now THAT is super gross.
    i think i tried some of Amy’s salad dressing once and it had sort of a chalky after-taste to it. i ended up throwing it out. i usually make my own dressings or there’s this yummy ginger dressing i find in the produce section.
    way to stand your vegan ground, girl! i applaud you!
    xoxox wendy

    • vegansunshine May 12, 2010 at 12:51 am #

      I actually bought my sushi at Kroger. We have a little sushi stand and you can order whatever you want and he will make it.
      I have been looking for dressing recipes that are tahini based but I have been to lazy to make them! Ginger sounds good 🙂

Leave a Reply

