Vegan & Gluten Free Donuts

5 Nov

Yes, I finally jumped on the baked donut band wagon.

I asked for the donuts pans for my birthday which was a little over 2 months ago. I was so excited to start baking my own donuts but because of the weight loss challenge and trying to form better eating habits I decided that I’d hold off for a few months.

Eating just one is such a challenge, I’ll have three :)

Then I realized making my own donuts would be a lot healthier than most dessert I allow myself to eat now.

Gluten free sprinkles!

I have been saving Mandiee’s vegan donut recipe this whole time! I made the donuts out of Bob’s Red Mill GF flour (plus a tablespoon of oat flour). When you think about it, this donuts aren’t really all that bad health-wise. Flour made out of grains and beans, lower sugar, and healthier topping options such as a melted dark chocolate bar.

My favorite part was frosting them

After I made these I left them out on a plate for my family to enjoy. Forgetting that my brother hates dark chocolate, I offer him one. He immediately spit it out and washed his mouth out, rude! Maybe next time I make them for other people I’ll add a little agave to sweeten them up?

So spongy and fluffy!

He did like the vanilla icing I made out of vanilla extract, powdered sugar, and hot water.

Do you have a donut pan yet?

18 Responses to “Vegan & Gluten Free Donuts”

  1. Allison November 5, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

    i think a donut pan would be dangerous for me! i like cookies more anyways :)

  2. Mandiee November 5, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

    Ahh I’m so excited you tried my donut recipe! This seriously made my day :). I’m sorry your brother didn’t like the chocolate, though. Honestly, I don’t understand how anyone wouldn’t like chocolate, haha. And I’ve tried the recipe with lots of different flours, too. Next I want to try a GF vegan donut made with oat flour & buckwheat flour. I’ll keep you posted! (BTW agave sounds lovely. Made even some maple syrup for a pancake/donut fusion? YUM!)

    • vegansunshine November 5, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

      Ohh yum. I am so in love with your recipe! Thank you so much! I am having so much fun with them!

  3. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) November 5, 2011 at 9:53 pm #

    Ahhh I want a donut pan SO bad!! I saw one at the store today, but it was to expensive. :( Definitely going on the Christmas list!
    <3 <3

    • vegansunshine November 6, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

      I think mine was only $7 check online at bed bath and beyond!

  4. Amy @ Turtle-speed runner November 5, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

    Yeah I find it difficult to get my family to like my “healthy” baked goods. I’ve given up and just bake them for myself, keep leftovers in the freezer!!

    • vegansunshine November 6, 2011 at 7:39 am #

      Mine don’t make it to the freezer! I try though.

  5. Scott November 6, 2011 at 8:01 am #

    They were delicious. And beautiful.

  6. Rachel (tea and chocolate) November 6, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    I don’t have a donut pan, but now I want one. It seems like donuts have been popping up all over the blogosphere lately. Can’t say I mind this trend. :)
    I can’t believe your brother doesn’t like dark chocolate. So sad!

  7. A Tablespoon of Liz November 6, 2011 at 9:50 am #

    These look so good! I used to have a donut pan, but must have gotten rid of it when I moved a while back because I can’t find it anywhere. So sad.

  8. Tara November 6, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    I LOVE MY DONUT PAN!!! It’s way more fun than making muffins. Yours look so pretty, I’m definitely going to have to check out that recipe!

    • vegansunshine November 6, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

      I seriously can’t wait to make again! So much fun. I want to try pumpkin and cinnamon sugar!

  9. Jess from Midwest Vegan November 6, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

    Yes! I have a donut pan! I need to get one or two more though, because I always have more batter than what one pan will hold and I’m too impatient to bake them one at a time…

    I like to use it to make muffins as well. :)

  10. teabagginit November 7, 2011 at 11:26 pm #

    i’m actually proud of myself for not owning a donut pan. you see, i constantly impulse buy kitchen supplies (my retain therapy involves williams & sonoma, not macy’s!). but i’ve resisted purchasing the donut pan because i know i won’t use it enough to justify the price & shelf space!

  11. lactosefreelizzie November 8, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    you had me at donuts!

  12. Margot Boissoneault November 24, 2011 at 2:39 am #

    I’ll be sure to check out your blog again in the future if you keep posting stuff like this. Thanks for the good read!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

