A little change in this week’s shopping cart

28 Oct

Hello everyone! Hope you are having a great FRIDAY.

My eats lately have been pretty sad. With no time to cook all I have been eating is beans and rice, bread, oatmeal, smoothies, veggies,  and soup. I can’t even remember the last great balanced  meal I had. I am so used to going to the store every few days and loading up on produce I forget that I have nothing else to cook with it!

I used to eat a lot of processed vegan food (the food below is pretty healthy compared to what I used to eat). Having no time to cook or prepare meals has really been bugging me. Some nights, I will literally eat bread and a pasta salad for dinner because I am starved and I have no food! Also, due to the lack of meals I have been eating, I have been snacking a lot, usually on hummus and pretzels. I have a strong feeling that this snacking and poor meals is effecting my weight loss.

So, today I did something that I thought I’ve never do:

image

I went to the store and when straight to the “natural living” aka, frozen vegan packaged food section. I bought organic vegan burgers, burritos, bars, frozen meals, and canned soup.

image

This is how I used to shop.

Do I think this is a bad way of eating? Not really. It’s going to be a lot better than bean salad for dinner every night.

Am I going to eat these packaged meals everyday? Not even. I am going to keep these bad boys in the freezer for days when I really need them!

image

If I had time to make veggie burgers I really would. They are so fun and simple! But right now, I don’t even have the time in the day to go to the store.

image

And you know what? I got just about everything on sale! :)

image

All in all, I think I did pretty good. Hopefully these hearty meals will stop my snacking and lame excuses of dinners.

 

Question of the day: Do you ever buy packaged meals?

10 Responses to “A little change in this week’s shopping cart”

  1. Tara October 28, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    confesion time: I have been living off of packaged meals! I just lost my desire to cook. When I have time during the summer I get so into it, but then when school starts and life picks up, it makes me so stressed out to cook! I just want to enjoy it again! That being said, I try to pick the best packaged meals like kashi and amy’s so that I’m not eating crap!

    • vegansunshine October 28, 2011 at 11:47 am #

      I totally agree! I am so thankful for brands like amys and kashi. :)

  2. IHeartVegetables October 28, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    I don’t buy a lot of packaged dinner, but that’s not because I eat elaborate meals! haha a lot of times I just have a smoothie, or yogurt for dinner. I typically buy my lunch at work, because honestly, that tends to be cheaper than buying the (pricey) healthy frozen lunches! (Our healthy items at work are partially subsidized, which is why it’s cheaper! yay!)

    I haven’t had much time to cook either, so I usually just keep meals SUPER Simple. Sweet potato + almond butter has been happening a lot! haha

  3. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody October 28, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

    I have nothing against packaged meals, but I don’t buy them very often because I find them so expensive. If they were on sale though….well thats a different story :) The ones you picked out look tasty, and definitely something I would eat myself :)

  4. Christin@purplebirdblog October 28, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

    I totally went the way of the awesome packaged foods at the end of school, and even though I’m back to incorporating more freshly cooked foods in, I still keep veggie burgers and an occasional gluten-free pot pie or pizza around for nights when I’m really crunched. I don’t feel bad about it in the slightest! ;)

  5. Rachel (tea and chocolate) October 29, 2011 at 10:22 am #

    I don’t buy packaged foods very often because of the price, but I don’t have anything against them. They make meals very quick and easy, and everything Amy’s that I’ve tried has been really good. Those California burgers are my favorite veggie burgers!

  6. Jesse @ Happy Go Lucky Vegan October 29, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    I go through stages whenI eat more packaged/processed foods. Usually it’s when I’m stressed out and booked solid. At least the packaged foods you eat look pretty healthy – and I’ve always wanted to try the Mayan Harvest Bake. yum! I hope you get some time for some home cooked goodness soon. :)

  7. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) October 30, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    I admit that I eat packaged food when times get really busy too. Like you, I don’t eat them everyday or anything, but maybe once a week when I have literally no time to cook! My faves lately have been Amy’s frozen spinach pizza and burritos and Sunshine Burger’s frozen falafel burgers. Please let us know how you like that Kashi harvest bake – it looks really yummy!!
    <3 <3

    p.s. Thank you so much for your super sweet comment on my blog. It means a lot to me! :)

  8. leelu201 October 31, 2011 at 2:01 am #

    Totally know where you’re coming from about having no time to cook. I don’t buy pre-packaged food simply because it’s WAY more expensive, particualrly if it actually has some nutritional value. But I am struggling with eating balanced and varied meals on the go. Right now I just cook a grain and bean protein source during the weekend and eat it all week long. But to be honest that’s getting a little boring, so I’m on a lookout for a better solution.

  9. Jess from Midwest Vegan October 31, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    I don’t when I have the time to cook, but right now I’ve just been super swamped so I’ve been eating them more than usual. Lately it’s been a lot of canned and frozen things. My sodium intake has skyrocketed, but as soon as the semester ends, I’ll be back to my regular eating habits. It’s been helpful for now, but its not the way I prefer to eat.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

